Update/ Bug Confirmed for Brawl

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Prizesinferno, Jan 29, 2008.

Jan 29, 2008
  1. Prizesinferno
    OP

    Newcomer Prizesinferno Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    If any of you guys read Kotaku they have pretty good proof that brawl has an update and it has a problem.

    They first mentioned it HERE

    "Japanese game site ORE-N0-WEB 3rd floats the rumor that Super Smash Bros. Brawl is shipping with a showstopping bug. Before we dive in, a bit about that site: It's run by someone who claims to be a gaming insider (perhaps a game shop owner). The site mentions that Japanese retailers are getting notices that SSBB is shipping with a minor bug that displays an error message that the game cannot be booted. This bug is triggered by a SSBB software update. This bug doesn't actually affect the game, which can still be played normally if the bug is ignored. ORE-NO-WEB 3rd stated that such a bug might frighten many customers — even if they are given notice regarding it. This bug wasn't mentioned on the 2ch game store clerk's thread, so it could very well be bogus. Stay tuned!"

    Then they apparently have a confirmation Here

    "Earlier, we brought news of a minor Super Smash Bros. Brawl bug. The screen goes black and displays an error message that the game cannot be booted. However, the bug doesn't actually effect the game and can be ignored. Another retail-minded site Game no Urabanashi confirms this rumor, point out that the error message occurs when the game is first started up. Game no Urabanashi doesn't see the bug as a huge problem, but does point out that it could be an issue if not all customers are aware of it. The Nintendo flier that stores will apparently be giving out has popped up online. This looks like pretty good confirmation, but we're still going to call this a rumor until we're able to verify for ourselves when SSBB drops this Thursday in Japan. For a game that's been delayed repeatedly, this seems, well, pretty shitty. If this is true, why is Nintendo, known for its impeccable quality, willing to ship its biggest title with a bug? Then again, Paper Mario had a bug and the DS Lite had hinge cracks, so. One thing you can bet, Nintendo would've never shipped Wii Fit with a bug. No way in hell. "


    Looks like we are gonna have to wait even after it gets dumped
     
  2. INTERNETS

    Member INTERNETS GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    270
    Country:
    United States
    From what it sounds like, this bug only happens when the game is first started?

    I don't see how this necessarily says it's unplayable for people with modchips.
     
  3. Son of Science

    Member Son of Science GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Location:
    Sand Iego
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo fixing a bug?!?

    LIEZ!!!!!!!!!!
     
  4. Omnigamer

    Newcomer Omnigamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Center of Everywhere
    Country:
    United States
    It might be just an inherent flaw with the current Wii Firmware. Some rumors claim that it's a dual-layer disc, and I'm pretty sure that the Wii does not support DL natively (with modchips is another thing). So maybe it loads for the first time, updates a small piece of the firmware, and then gives the error because the firmware needs a reset in order to properly read the rest of the disc? I might be reaching, but it makes sense to me.
     
  5. Prizesinferno
    OP

    Newcomer Prizesinferno Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think the bug is a big problem, but the fact that they said the bug is from a system update that is on the disc
     
  6. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I thought that some Wiis needed physical tweaking of a fuse on the laser of the DVD drive to properly read DL disks. That might just be for burnt disks, but still, makes me wonder...
     
  7. Dylaan

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well with all the features etc crammed in it could well be a dual layers. Would this make it difficult to back up or anything?
     
  8. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    If your theory is true, then we don't need that update because the modchip forces the wii to read dl dvds as well.
     
  9. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Using Bootme V1.0 you can bypass updates by having the game boot before it gets into the Wii's menu. This could bypass updates completely.
     
  10. Prizesinferno
    OP

    Newcomer Prizesinferno Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States

    Could you pm me some info on this?
     
  11. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Well we see it thursday, hopefully.
     
  12. Dylaan

    Member Dylaan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Nope it doesn't bypass the updates, OzModChips tried it with Mario Galaxy PAL.
     
  13. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    No one could try it yet. I assume everyone has all updates and stuff.
     

Share This Page