Gaming Update/ Bug Confirmed for Brawl

Prizesinferno

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
97
Country
United States
If any of you guys read Kotaku they have pretty good proof that brawl has an update and it has a problem.

They first mentioned it HERE

"Japanese game site ORE-N0-WEB 3rd floats the rumor that Super Smash Bros. Brawl is shipping with a showstopping bug. Before we dive in, a bit about that site: It's run by someone who claims to be a gaming insider (perhaps a game shop owner). The site mentions that Japanese retailers are getting notices that SSBB is shipping with a minor bug that displays an error message that the game cannot be booted. This bug is triggered by a SSBB software update. This bug doesn't actually affect the game, which can still be played normally if the bug is ignored. ORE-NO-WEB 3rd stated that such a bug might frighten many customers — even if they are given notice regarding it. This bug wasn't mentioned on the 2ch game store clerk's thread, so it could very well be bogus. Stay tuned!"

Then they apparently have a confirmation Here

"Earlier, we brought news of a minor Super Smash Bros. Brawl bug. The screen goes black and displays an error message that the game cannot be booted. However, the bug doesn't actually effect the game and can be ignored. Another retail-minded site Game no Urabanashi confirms this rumor, point out that the error message occurs when the game is first started up. Game no Urabanashi doesn't see the bug as a huge problem, but does point out that it could be an issue if not all customers are aware of it. The Nintendo flier that stores will apparently be giving out has popped up online. This looks like pretty good confirmation, but we're still going to call this a rumor until we're able to verify for ourselves when SSBB drops this Thursday in Japan. For a game that's been delayed repeatedly, this seems, well, pretty shitty. If this is true, why is Nintendo, known for its impeccable quality, willing to ship its biggest title with a bug? Then again, Paper Mario had a bug and the DS Lite had hinge cracks, so. One thing you can bet, Nintendo would've never shipped Wii Fit with a bug. No way in hell. "


Looks like we are gonna have to wait even after it gets dumped
 

INTERNETS

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
270
Trophies
0
XP
69
Country
United States
From what it sounds like, this bug only happens when the game is first started?

I don't see how this necessarily says it's unplayable for people with modchips.
 

Omnigamer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
55
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Center of Everywhere
Website
www.smashboards.com
XP
311
Country
United States
It might be just an inherent flaw with the current Wii Firmware. Some rumors claim that it's a dual-layer disc, and I'm pretty sure that the Wii does not support DL natively (with modchips is another thing). So maybe it loads for the first time, updates a small piece of the firmware, and then gives the error because the firmware needs a reset in order to properly read the rest of the disc? I might be reaching, but it makes sense to me.
 

Hooya

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
1,878
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Central Illinois
Website
Visit site
XP
327
Country
United States
It might be just an inherent flaw with the current Wii Firmware. Some rumors claim that it's a dual-layer disc, and I'm pretty sure that the Wii does not support DL natively (with modchips is another thing). So maybe it loads for the first time, updates a small piece of the firmware, and then gives the error because the firmware needs a reset in order to properly run? I might be reaching, but it makes sense to me.

I thought that some Wiis needed physical tweaking of a fuse on the laser of the DVD drive to properly read DL disks. That might just be for burnt disks, but still, makes me wonder...
 

Dylaan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
384
Trophies
0
XP
307
Country
Well with all the features etc crammed in it could well be a dual layers. Would this make it difficult to back up or anything?
 

triassic911

Burst Mode
Member
Joined
May 9, 2007
Messages
2,747
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
NYC, USA
Website
google.com
XP
854
Country
United States
It might be just an inherent flaw with the current Wii Firmware. Some rumors claim that it's a dual-layer disc, and I'm pretty sure that the Wii does not support DL natively (with modchips is another thing). So maybe it loads for the first time, updates a small piece of the firmware, and then gives the error because the firmware needs a reset in order to properly read the rest of the disc? I might be reaching, but it makes sense to me.
If your theory is true, then we don't need that update because the modchip forces the wii to read dl dvds as well.
 

Tomobobo

Champion.
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2005
Messages
1,310
Trophies
1
XP
2,178
Country
United States
Using Bootme V1.0 you can bypass updates by having the game boot before it gets into the Wii's menu. This could bypass updates completely.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Not gonna get psycho anal about his state of mind because I don't give a fuck.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But like come up with some new material, you did this in the 90s.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He claims it's a concept album but I don't really get how it all lined up just what you'd expect
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Maybe it's just that, death of Slim Shady, birth of the new adult mature Marshall Mathers Whatever. Very concept, much
    meta.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Yeah the media stand point we miss his old material but shit on new songs so much it was just pretty mid
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Few good singles kamikaze was still better imo
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    He will wind up like Ice Cube selling depends and rolaids lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    "I wear depends because my bladder leaks sending me off the deep end!!!"
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Better than ending up like Kid Rock who should be called Senile Grampa Cuntry now.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "I'm still edgy!" Yeah yeah, time for your prune juice and pills.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Kid rock ft jelly roll I'm not old!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My dentures are fake my joints ache my feet are cold I'm not old! Lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Hold my budweiser
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Nursing home nursery rhyme, Eminem is running out of time!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's hard to rap when your dentures flap, make sure you use poly grip and don't confuse your preparation H with the gel that grips!
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Owe my hip
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    This is why Eminem got clean and shady didn't
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    He said mean awful things to me I need a new record
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't he just make a dis track about Drake, that's popular these days.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Drake Paul?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I think Drake took out Hailey so he has his blessing
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    So Intel is gonna be in trouble for a while lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Stock is gonna nose dive, time to buy lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Stock is gonna nose dive, time to buy lol