Unmodded, factory stock launch day Wii - System Files Corrupted

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by GilmourD, Mar 5, 2017.

1. GilmourD
    OP

GilmourD Member

Newcomer
    Mar 5, 2017
    United States
    Rutherford, NJ
    So I've got this poor little Wii that doesn't want to work.

I haven't used it in a while but my son wanted to play Mario Kart the other day, so I went to set it up for him. Wii boots up, hit A on the health and safety screen, and boom.

[​IMG]
    (that's not my TV, just an image I grabbed of the 'Net)

I bought this Wii on launch day. I haven't modded it in any way shape or form. All I've done is perform the prescribed system updates. It's up to the latest, greatest, and ultimately last official 4.3U.

Now, I spent last night researching stuff but got nowhere. I'm a computer tech by trade so I figured I could get something working. I tried the Gamecube controller trick (I have my controller apart on my desk still) but apparently I don't haven't purchased any games recently enough to have 4.3U on them to reload the system files.

I've tried searching for how to reformat the system or replace system files after booting off an SD card but I don't seem to find anything.

What do?

Remember, this is unmodded, so I can't do anything with Priiloader or HBC. I can't get anywhere with it beyond that screen and displaying the firmware version using the Gamecube controller.

2. mechagouki

mechagouki Kill 'em all...

Nov 20, 2008
    Canada
    Toronto, ON
    That looks like a $30 fix:

1. Toss Wii in garbage.
    2. Visit local hock shop/used VG store/Value Village and purchase Wii for $25 ($5 is for gas).
    3. Fixed!

fenixcumber and Classicgamer like this.
  3. DinohScene

DinohScene Dino May Fire

GBAtemp Patron
    DinohScene is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Oct 11, 2011
    Antarctica
    В небо
    Scrap your old Wii for parts, Ebay or like mecha said, local gamestores.