1. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: Problem solved, installed an old RXtools build then reinstalled the newer one and it magically worked, so that's a thing.

    Hey guys, as the title says, I've just unlinked my sysnand and emunand by removing the micro SD card from my N3DS and formatting system memory then popping my SD back in, as I read around here, and as expected none of my digital games etc appear in sysnand now because the NNID was unlinked, but they do appear in emunand (I assume it's because my emunand still has my NNID linked?), I decided to see what happened if I tried to select one in emunand, and when moving my selection on the home menu my system immediately freezes, no matter what I hover over, should it be a game not on my sysnand, could be a default system app, could even be the button to change themes, no matter what I hover over, emunand freezes.

    What can I do to fix this? Google isn't providing me with anything.
     
    Last edited by Mesonoxian, Jan 18, 2016
  2. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow this is definitely not normal.

    This SHOULDN'T happen under normal circonstances :(
     
  3. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    It's especially strange because RXtools is (was) working perfectly fine, only issue I was having was launching the FBI CIA on my home menu while in emunand would freeze the system, but at least I could look at everything else.

    Edit: Found the only thing I can do in emunand without freezing, and that's change the icon layout with the two buttons top right.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Should I just try to format my emunand and make a fresh one and unlink the two after making a fresh emunand? I don't mind relinking my NNID to access the digital games from my emunand after updating it, as long as formatting the emunand will still allow me to play the games on my SD without having to wipe my SD and redownload my digital games, hoping it'd just recognize the files on the SD when I re-link my NNID.

    Worst case scenario, I'm probably looking at a full Micro SD wipe, formatting sysnand and emunand, unlinking the two, and then starting from scratch, right?
     
    Last edited by Mesonoxian, Jan 5, 2016
  4. Syphurith

    Syphurith Beginner
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Can't boot into emunand : emunand support inside CFW sucks or your CFW isn't updated to a proper version.
    Can boot but freeze : support sucks.
    Can move cursor but not launch any game : You've accidentially removed some important system modules.
    That's what i know - after remove an old ac for my own modified ac.
     
  5. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, maybe starting over would fix it. I just hope that you wouldn't lose anything though.
     
  6. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    So since I boot but freeze, I should look into seeing if there's any updates for my CFW? I'm using RXtools nightly from December 5th, so I think it should be good.
     
  7. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    If it's missing something, maybe (when you are in emunand) installing the current version .cia files would fix it?
     
  8. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Worst thing I would lose is my digital games and saves, though saves are unimportant because I played my digital games very little, besides MH4U, but a fresh start in that would be a nice change of pace anyway. I can't imagine I'd lose anything else, it'll just be a long and painful process.
     
  9. Syphurith

    Syphurith Beginner
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    Switzerland
    This issue may be NNID related. You might want to remove the Games via System Setting and try install something.
    And i suggest you to use FuncyCIA to dump your games before your doing this.
     
  10. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    There's .cia files for RXTools? You're probably right if that's the case. What would I be looking to install?
     
  11. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    Look for a full package of the current version you are on in emunand. Let's say, try to get the full 9.5 U N3DS cia package.

    Make sure that you at least have FBI or Devmenu in your homescreen (assuming that you could actually launch anything, that is)

    The way I did was: Installed Devmenu on my emunand, loaded it, and installed the full 9.5 .cia folder. Rebooted the 3ds, reloaded emunand, was on 9.5 just fine.
     
  12. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    My emunand should be 9.2 I think, same as my sysnand, right? Though I can't do anything in the emunand, there's no way I could open a CIA installer in there even if I wanted to, since changing what I'm looking at freezes the system, so I guess I'm just looking at formatting everything.
     
  13. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    Well, at this point, that seems to be a dead end.

    Although, may I ask, have you tried a different CFW? Like Cakes FW or Reinand?
     
  14. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I have not, since I've just gotten things set up after downgrading and staying up all night long getting things to even boot up properly, and have heard so many good things about RXtools it seemed the way to go.
     
  15. VinsCool

    VinsCool Persona Secretiva Felineus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    14,259
    Country:
    Canada
    RX-Tools is indeed pretty good.

    But better be safe than sorry, try to give a shot to Cakes FW or Reinand, we never know.
     
  16. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, I'll look into them shortly and see if I can get either set up.
     
  17. Mesonoxian

    OP Mesonoxian Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yeah, may be working on this into the night sort of on and off, so if I don't find some sort of solution I'll try to get a hold of you sometime tomorrow.
     
  18. Angely

    Angely GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did you manage to fix this? I have exactly the same problem. Emunand suddenly quit working for me while it was working just fine. I thought I might've accidentally updated my emunand to 10.3, but now I can't even check that, since even with GW, Reinand & Cakes with 10.3 support the same thing happens.

    Home menu boots, all my installed .cia icons won't appear only blank icons & when I try to launch anything it's just freezes.This is totally driving me nuts, since it happebed right when I was about to backup my emunand!:( I tried other emunands I had but they worked fine, so it's not the SD card.

    Btw the freeze happened while I was using rxTools. I also tried other nightlies, but it didn't fix anything
     
    Last edited by Angely, Jan 18, 2016
  19. MsMidnight

    MsMidnight part time fe modder
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,753
    Country:
    You shouldn't take out the SD card while formatting. That's what most likely fucked up you emunand
     
  20. Angely

    Angely GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Did you even read & I'm most people aren't crazy enough to do such a thing! Also it's taken out before formatting to prevent your SD data to be wiped. This way only the nand gets wiped, this is unlinking. After that you can just use your data that's on your SD in emunand without having to copying them over from your pc if you backed them up. If you're using a backup of the nand before you formatted. A lot of people do this without problem. Though I remove sd card before turning on the system.
     
    Last edited by Angely, Jan 18, 2016 - Reason: fixed errors
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - selection, cartridge, Unlinked