1. DARK777

    OP DARK777 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hi, first of all, sorry for my English. I come from Brazil.

    I dowloaded TwilightMenu and installed it on my old3ds but as soon as I load a game on TwilightMenu++ Rocketrobz, there is a black screen and I don't know why, no matter how many time I go there.

    It's with Luma. There is no linker. I have the latest luma's version

    Can you help me ?

    PS: I have two old 3ds and one of them works all fine and another doesnt no matter how i tried. I have searching for answers but no sucess!
     
    Idrolitina likes this.
  2. Robz8

    Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,670
    Country:
    United States
    What game are you trying?
     
  3. DARK777

    OP DARK777 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Pokemon Heart Gold and Soul Silver.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I made this video to show you guys my problem
     
  4. r0achtheunsavory

    r0achtheunsavory GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    This seems normal to me. I did a completely fresh CFW install in mid-August on a New 2ds XL and was getting issues like this where starting Twilight Menu would occasionally hang on a white screen. Sometimes it loads normally, sometimes it takes longer, etc. I'm not positive, but this phenomenon might be happening due to loading up large SD cards with tons of stuff.

    I use a 128G card myself with like 90 gigs used. The more stuff I put on the card, the more strange loading issues, pauses, and hiccups I seem to have. I currently formatted my card to 64k clusters. Might switch back to 32k clusters, but pretty sure the issue was there too.

    As of right now with 64k clusters, just about everything I launch with Homebrew launcher fails most of the time too for some unknown reason, but emulators and everything else works fine. Not sure if that phenomenon is due to cluster size or SD card size or what. It's a 128G high quality Samsung card.
     
    Last edited by r0achtheunsavory, Sep 14, 2020
    Idrolitina likes this.
  5. DARK777

    OP DARK777 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well, This really makes sense. My SD that works is 8gb and the other that the game is not load is 16gb. But, I had wait for like 10 minutes and not working
     
  6. r0achtheunsavory

    r0achtheunsavory GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2020
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
    United States
    You shouldn't have any problems with a 16 GB card. I think the sluggish loading problem might only manifest due to FAT32 file system on cards higher than 64 GB, but some random SD card scientist lunatic feel free to correct me.

    I think quality varies a lot between different cards too, though. People seem to claim that SD cards are more prone to defects and bad sectors for some reason than buying say, a new solid state hard drive for your PC. All I know is, the more I load up this 128 GB card (90 gigs currently - lots of PS1 games), the more lag I get on the home screen and various other loading problems (only have about 70 icons maybe)
     
    Last edited by r0achtheunsavory, Sep 14, 2020
  7. DARK777

    OP DARK777 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    If I switch the SD card for another, Do I have to do all stuffs on the new SD or just copy and paste the files from old SD to new one?
     
    Idrolitina likes this.
  8. Idrolitina

    Idrolitina Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Country:
    Japan
    @DARK777 I will add my two cents to the discussion.

    There are several reasons for this behavior. One might be connected to date(s) registered in emu and 3ds, other to sd firmware other to sd in general for what I read around. A rapid fix (independently from the size of your sd) might be to overwrite the _nds folder in the root of your sd with the one from the version of TM++ you installed (probably download from github i supposed). This will generate a new ram dump when you re-open a title in TM++. It would probably happen again but you should not lose saves in the long run. Annoying I know, but considering what the TM++ allows you to do, is not a big deal I guess.

    In the meanwhile, you might want to look into buying a flashcard of some kind to fix your issues. They are very cheap (4-10$) from Chinese sellers.

    Keep us posted and stay safe.
     
    Last edited by Idrolitina, Sep 15, 2020
  9. Nemix77

    Nemix77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Canada
    If this happens, the white screen during NDS-Bootstrap; just press 'HOME' and then 'B'.

    Otherwise I agree this does happen from time to time, I did some testing to find out why it does that...

    My early assessments:

    - Seems to happen whenever you write or delete something from the SD card, example: transfer cia files, themes files, music files, etc..from computer to SD card or delete files or change ini setting files (which requires writing).

    - Seems to happen after using FBI to install or delete stuff from the SD card, this again involves writing or removing files from the SD card.

    - Seems to happen more often when using 'Most Played', 'Recent' and 'Custom' sort method in TwilightMenu settings because it needs to overwrite the SD:\_nds\TWiLightMenu\extras\recentlyplayed.ini or timesplayed.ini. Alphabetically is usually problem free given you've not written to the SD card using anything mentioned above.

    In short whenever there's writing or deleting to the SD involved, TwilightMenu will most likely take longer to load and 'sometimes' hang. This can resolved by the above mentioned "HOME' then 'B' method on the hand screen.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Just copy paste from old SD to new SD, make sure you get all the hidden files if you have any.

    I just did a transfer last night, using this method to format the SD card:

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/help-with-3ds-slow-sysnand-boot.528070/#post-8459538

    I also left about 10% of space unallocated and used 64KB cluster instead of 32KB since I have a 128GB SD and have unused space to spare.
     
    Last edited by Nemix77, Sep 15, 2020
    Idrolitina likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - TWiLight, Menu++, screen