Trucha Bug And Other Questions

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MemoryDash, Mar 7, 2012.

Mar 7, 2012
  1. MemoryDash
    OP

    Newcomer MemoryDash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    So I did the trucha bug patch I followed the steps from the CompleteSoftmodGuide, so I was confused cause it seemed like nothing changed how do I know it worked can I redo it to make sure?

    I also have some other questions I want to use USB Loader can I use a USB Flash Drive (ex. Sandisk Cruzer)?

    I also would like a good guide in doing that don't want to risk bricking Wii(I don't need bricks).
     


  2. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    you followed an old guide!
     
  3. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    use modmii it will make a propoer guide.
     
  4. MemoryDash
    OP

    Newcomer MemoryDash Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    So the IOS236 Thing didn't work?
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Is that a question?

    If you expect help, you should provide enough information for someone to actually help you without having to start a game of 20 questions.
     
  6. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    These days d2x installer uses AHB provided by HBC.
    You can have 236 as an rescue against Nintendo update which never see daylight.
     
  7. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Err...the IOS236 "thing" worked probably, but you need to use Homebrew that USES IOS236.

    For example, instead of a cIOS, you can use IOS236 to use Wad Manager.

    And for the USB Loader question, yeah if the flash drive is compatible, most should be. However its dumb to use them because modern games are at least 2-3 GB. I know this because I've tried (successfully, doh) to rip them myself.
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. That is just sad. What do you think 236 is if not a cIOS? Of course it's not as bad as the nonsense in mike333's signature.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, i thought IOS236 was just IOS36 with ES_IDENTIFY, version check, etc patches built in.
     
  10. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It is. That makes it a cIOS. "c" is short for "custom".
     
  11. Anon10W1z

    Member Anon10W1z GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Country:
    United States
    Oh!!! I guess I am a noob.
     
  12. Oxalis

    Newcomer Oxalis Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    1) You don't need to install a trucha bug, installing IOS236 in a hack wii guide is all you need, as you can install wiiware/vc/etc with it, don't need trucha bug.

    2) Yes, you can, you just need to format it like a usb hard disk or sd card to wbfs and you're good to go.

    3) Install priiloader which will save you from banner bricks (most common brick I'd say,) it's not that easy to brick your Wii if you have any idea what you're doing and bad wads are the most common way which cause banner brick which priiloader can help you with. Also install bootmii as boot2 if possible, if not install it anyway as an IOS(254), and backup your nand for nand bricks. I'm pretty sure you can use priiloader if you brick to send you to an IOS installed bootmii if it's not boot2; if you need to redo your flash/NAND.
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, thank you for your contribution to the nonsense in this thread. Do you even know what the trucha bug is? :rofl2:
     
  14. Oxalis

    Newcomer Oxalis Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada

    What I mean is you don't need to put the trucha bug in an official IOS, as you can just use cIOS 236. Why does everyone in this forum have to be a troll?
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I wasn't trolling, your post didn't make any sense. You were saying that you "install a trucha bug".

    There are several IOS's that you want patched, mainly the System Menu IOS's. Despite what mike333's signature says, patching them offers both brick protection and brick recovery. There would be far more Wii's that were bricked (003 brick) if everybody used the official IOS. It also doesn't have any downside to them being patched, as long as it's done correctly.
     
  16. JohnBotkin

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    yeahhh putting trucha bug on official ioses increases brick protection
    then says to use cios236 after doing it
    you don't need to put it on official ios
    can just use 236
    fuckin dumbass
    trucha bugging ioses is dated
     
  17. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,850
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to check if Trucha is in effect, try playing the uncensored version on Manhunt 2. :D
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, why do you think ModMii (and pretty much every up to date guide) does it? The trucha bug allows you to run fakesigned recovery discs, the patched dip module allows running recovery discs without a modchip, patching IOS60 into all the slots protects against 003 bricks from updating and full bricks from downgrading.

    Of course you use 236 for installing things because IOS36 can be patched in more ways.
     
  19. JohnBotkin

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Wtf is that supposed to mean? You clearly have no idea what you are talking about.
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page