Touch Screen Not Responsive

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by drkshinigami, Mar 21, 2008.

Mar 21, 2008
  1. drkshinigami
    OP

    Newcomer drkshinigami Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all, I seem to have a problem with my touch screen. Its not responsive. In general the touch function of the touch screen is disabled. I don't recall messing around with it. Everything is plugged in. I'm beginning to think that it was short circuited probably because a few parts were not connected at the time when i turned it on such as 1 speaker and the microphone and the wifi. In the case where i have to get a new touch screen can someone tell me a good fast place to buy from? Pictures: (taken with cell phone)
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24860754@N07/2348275507/ (shows the small ribbon)
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/24860754@N07/2348275399/ (shows the touch screen)

    Thanks
     
  2. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Have you tried configuring it through the DS's menu?
     
  3. drkshinigami
    OP

    Newcomer drkshinigami Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    well... i found out what the problem may be...There is a tiny tear on the tip of the ribbon where it connects to the board....I still don't know if that happened right now or if it was there before...well it seems i need to get a new touch screen. Anyone got a good site to buy one that has fast delivery?
     
  4. drkshinigami
    OP

    Newcomer drkshinigami Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Country:
    United States
    also does not having a touch screen connected affect the nintendo wifi connection? Cause for some reason when i am connected to wifi i am disconnected from the system when im searching for people to connect with.
     
  5. krazykirk

    Member krazykirk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    A tear in the ribbon cable would probably cause the touch screen to stop working.

    I'm pretty sure that not having the touch screen connected will not affect your wi-fi connection, but I'm not 100% sure.

    A good place to get a replacement touch screen would be ebay! [​IMG]
     
  6. santorix10

    Member santorix10 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Rochester, NY - USA
    Country:
    United States
    Check this out: http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.3245

    Also, WiFi has nothing to do with the touchscreen. You need to have the antenna plugged into the board to get good reception. [​IMG] The antenna should look be a wire with a little teardrop-ish shaped thing at the end, and you need to re-connect it to the mainboard. I'm sure there's a tutorial for this somewhere.
     

Share This Page