The honest to God truth about the 970 fiasco.

RevPokemon

GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
4,839
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Fort Gay, West Virginia
XP
2,300
Country
United States
This was never the way I planned, not my intention.
I got so brave, drink in hand, lost my discretion
It's not what I'm used to, just wanna try you on.
I'm curious for you, caught my attention.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,580
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
19,267
Country
United States
Why are people so stuck on this thing? It's 3.5GB vs 4GB, who cares.

OMG OF COURSE YOU WOULDN'T CARE FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT IT'S ABOUT .5GB OF FUCKING VRAM IT'S SUPER IMPORTANT GAMES NEED LIKE 8GB OF VRAM NOW FOR MY 8K GAMING FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT YOU WOULDN'T KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO LIVE IN THE 1080P 60FPS MASTER RACE FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT
 
  • Like
Reactions: raulpica

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,822
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,418
Country
Norway
Why are people so stuck on this thing? It's 3.5GB vs 4GB, who cares.
Well you may or may not know this but when the usage goes above 3.5 gb the FPS tends to drop quite drastically. If you buy a car with 200 bhp you expect it to have that much because you paid for it, nothing less and nothing more!
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,830
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,872
Country
Poland
Well you may or may not know this but when the usage goes above 3.5 gb the FPS tends to drop quite drastically. If you buy a car with 200 bhp you expect it to have that much because you paid for it, nothing less and nothing more!
There's always some residual space that's never accessible for whatever reason (often times it's occupied by system critical files). When you buy a 500GB hard drive, you don't actually have 500GB of space to use - some of it is used as backup sectors in the event of sector failure, some is occupied by the filesystem etc. - the drive itself has a total of 500GB, it's just that not all of it is usable. Same applies to RAM and, in this case, VRAM. That said, the missing 500MB is a sign of really poor optimization or a software bug, it is a bit much. As for the framerate, VRAM capacity has nothing to do with it - throughput might, but that's relatively fast. I'm betting on shoddy drivers here, as it is often the case these days.
 
  • Like
Reactions: raulpica

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,822
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,418
Country
Norway
There's always some residual space that's never accessible for whatever reason (often times it's occupied by system critical files). When you buy a 500GB hard drive, you don't actually have 500GB of space to use - some of it is used as backup sectors in the event of sector failure, some is occupied by the filesystem etc. - the drive itself has a total of 500GB, it's just that not all of it is usable. Same applies to RAM and, in this case, VRAM. That said, the missing 500MB is a sign of really poor optimization or a software bug, it is a bit much. As for the framerate, VRAM capacity has nothing to do with it - throughput might, but that's relatively fast. I'm betting on shoddy drivers here, as it is often the case these days.

I get that but VRAM is not the same as a HDD. When you go and buy a 4 gb RAM for your PC you get 4 gb - nothing less and nothing more. And believe me when I say that the FPS indeed drops if the VRAM goes above 3.5 gb since the other 0.5 gb is a slower variation of it. I myself own a R9 290 with 4gb of VRAM and Im able to use all of it without any issues compared to the 970 where anything above 3.5 gb is just not playable. The fact is Nvidia lied when they advertised that they have 4 gb of usable VRAM when in fact they have 3.5. The card is awesome dont get me wrong, but the false advertisement is just wrong and thats why their stock is dropping. The EU is very strict regarding this kind of things and this kind of thing will not stand. If youre by any chance from the EU you can ask for a refund due to false advertising.

Heres some sauce in case youre thinking Im making things up. ;)
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,830
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,872
Country
Poland
I get that but VRAM is not the same as a HDD. When you go and buy a 4 gb RAM for your PC you get 4 gb - nothing less and nothing more. And believe me when I say that the FPS indeed drops if the VRAM goes above 3.5 gb since the other 0.5 gb is a slower variation of it. I myself own a R9 290 with 4gb of VRAM and Im able to use all of it without any issues compared to the 970 where anything above 3.5 gb is just not playable. The fact is Nvidia lied when they advertised that they have 4 gb of usable VRAM when in fact they have 3.5. The card is awesome dont get me wrong, but the false advertisement is just wrong and thats why their stock is dropping. The EU is very strict regarding this kind of things and this kind of thing will not stand. If youre by any chance from the EU you can ask for a refund due to false advertising.

Heres some sauce in case youre thinking Im making things up. ;)
You don't get the exact amount of RAM/VRAM that's on the box because that's impossible to accurately achieve, you get an estimated value. If the last 500MB's are a slower variant of memory then that's a problem, but it's still a 4GB card. Once again, it barely affects framerate unless you're streaming from VRAM for whatever reason. You don't have 3.5GB VRAM, you have 4GB, they're just not of the same type according to what you're saying.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
So I just read up on this (I was completely oblivious to it all). Now I am going to have to see if I can trick someone doing the storm in a teacup thing into selling me one cheap, much like the time various kids declared flashed 360s worthless when they had been banned from Xbox Live.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,822
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,418
Country
Norway
Actually you do get it and you are able to use all of it with no problems. HDDs, USBs, SSDs are a whole different story. You dont have to take my word for it just google "970 fps drop" and youll get more than enough to convince you. The card is "4 gb" but it can effectively only use 3.5 gb and when it goes above that, the other 0.5 gb is used which is slower hence dropping the FPS drastically.

Here ypu go, I cant really explain this better than this.



So I just read up on this (I was completely oblivious to it all). Now I am going to have to see if I can trick someone doing the storm in a teacup thing into selling me one cheap, much like the time various kids declared flashed 360s worthless when they had been banned from Xbox Live.
You know that might just work, better keep an eye out on Craigslist or whatnot, you never know what you might find.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,830
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,872
Country
Poland
Actually you do get it and you are able to use all of it with no problems. HDDs, USBs, SSDs are a whole different story. You dont have to take my word for it just google "970 fps drop" and youll get more than enough to convince you. The card is "4 gb" but it can effectively only use 3.5 gb and when it goes above that, the other 0.5 gb is used which is slower hence dropping the FPS drastically.
"It's there but it's slow so it's not there" - okay. I can also give you evidence that you don't have an exact amount of RAM - boot your PC, note down the memory test result and calculate how much it should actually be. If you have good sticks, it should be slightly more than the declared capacity, it could also be less, but I bet it's not EXACTLY the right amount because again, that's impossible. I'm not saying what NVidia's doing is right, I'm saying that you're demonstratively wrong.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,822
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,418
Country
Norway
"It's there but it's slow so it's not there" - okay. I can also give you evidence that you don't have an exact amount of RAM - boot your PC, note down the memory test result and calculate how much it should actually be. If you have good sticks, it should be slightly more than the declared capacity, it could also be less, but I bet it's not EXACTLY the right amount because again, that's impossible. I'm not saying what NVidia's doing is right, I'm saying that you're demonstratively wrong.
You're correct, but a 512 mb difference is over the top for any kind of RAM especially for a "4 gb" high end graphics card.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,830
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,872
Country
Poland
You're correct, but a 512 mb difference is over the top for any kind of RAM especially for a "4 gb" high end graphics card.
I think we've already established that there is no 512MB difference, the last bit is just slower. Here's a thought - don't buy Nvidia cards from NVidia - leave the chip design to them and actual card manufacturing to the seasoned professionals that were in this business since the dawn of time and you'll have less problems like this.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,822
Trophies
1
Age
33
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,418
Country
Norway
I think we've already established that there is no 512MB difference, the last bit is just slower. Here's a thought - don't buy Nvidia cards from NVidia - leave the chip design to them and actual card manufacturing to the seasoned professionals that were in this business since the dawn of time and you'll have less problems like this.

But you do realize the problem is the actual chip right? It was designed that way. All the 970s regardless the model are plagued by this issue, thats why people are pissed.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Double dickhead chinballs is still better than double dickhead eyeballs.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    As in, the balls will grow in your eye sockets.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I paid 5 grand to get them moved to my chin
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This you?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    My hair can't be that cool
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Ah, yes, portrait mode, surely the best way to film a row of people. If only there were some way to fit a wider shot, at the expense of height... if only...
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    4k portrait mode?
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Diddy - "I never touched her, that bitch is crazy." Video is released. Diddy - " Ok I did it, i am remorseful for my actions during my darkest times." Lol
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @BigOnYa, Glad that the Diddler got caught once again.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Iran ran out of options
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Thought I saw my ex on that new kingdom of the Apes poster
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I thought I saw a puttie snatch...
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'm so pumped, NCAA football video game is back after a 10 year hiatus, coming to SeriesS/X, PS5 in July.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wish they would let us play the NCAA football 14 on newer xbox, its one of the only games I love and own on disc still, that is not back compatible, bs.
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @BigOnYa My dad recently bought a spare Series X off of me, got game pass, and saw Madden '24 on Game Pass, decided to try it out.

    ...He was a bit taken aback by the 60GB download size. Poor guy's still living in the 90s!
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @AdenTheThird, Bro's still in the PS2 age.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Lol charging your dad's classic unless he's the type that doesn't like taking things like that
  • AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird:
    @K3Nv2 He was looking into consoles for his house anyway (for my younger siblings and himself) and I had a spare XSX and Switch I ended up selling him at pretty steep cuts. I would just give them to him, but I did buy them with the intent to sell them... and college is super expensive.
    AdenTheThird @ AdenTheThird: @K3Nv2 He was looking into consoles for his house anyway (for my younger siblings and himself)...