The honest to God truth about the 970 fiasco.

RevPokemon

GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2014
Messages
4,840
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
Fort Gay, West Virginia
XP
2,269
Country
United States
This was never the way I planned, not my intention.
I got so brave, drink in hand, lost my discretion
It's not what I'm used to, just wanna try you on.
I'm curious for you, caught my attention.
 

Tom Bombadildo

Dick, With Balls
Editorial Team
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
14,438
Trophies
2
Age
28
Location
I forgot
Website
POCKET.LIKEITS
XP
18,228
Country
United States
Why are people so stuck on this thing? It's 3.5GB vs 4GB, who cares.

OMG OF COURSE YOU WOULDN'T CARE FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT IT'S ABOUT .5GB OF FUCKING VRAM IT'S SUPER IMPORTANT GAMES NEED LIKE 8GB OF VRAM NOW FOR MY 8K GAMING FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT YOU WOULDN'T KNOW WHAT IT'S LIKE TO LIVE IN THE 1080P 60FPS MASTER RACE FUCKING CONSOLE PEASANT
 
  • Like
Reactions: raulpica

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
Why are people so stuck on this thing? It's 3.5GB vs 4GB, who cares.
Well you may or may not know this but when the usage goes above 3.5 gb the FPS tends to drop quite drastically. If you buy a car with 200 bhp you expect it to have that much because you paid for it, nothing less and nothing more!
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,430
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,436
Country
Poland
Well you may or may not know this but when the usage goes above 3.5 gb the FPS tends to drop quite drastically. If you buy a car with 200 bhp you expect it to have that much because you paid for it, nothing less and nothing more!
There's always some residual space that's never accessible for whatever reason (often times it's occupied by system critical files). When you buy a 500GB hard drive, you don't actually have 500GB of space to use - some of it is used as backup sectors in the event of sector failure, some is occupied by the filesystem etc. - the drive itself has a total of 500GB, it's just that not all of it is usable. Same applies to RAM and, in this case, VRAM. That said, the missing 500MB is a sign of really poor optimization or a software bug, it is a bit much. As for the framerate, VRAM capacity has nothing to do with it - throughput might, but that's relatively fast. I'm betting on shoddy drivers here, as it is often the case these days.
 
  • Like
Reactions: raulpica

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
There's always some residual space that's never accessible for whatever reason (often times it's occupied by system critical files). When you buy a 500GB hard drive, you don't actually have 500GB of space to use - some of it is used as backup sectors in the event of sector failure, some is occupied by the filesystem etc. - the drive itself has a total of 500GB, it's just that not all of it is usable. Same applies to RAM and, in this case, VRAM. That said, the missing 500MB is a sign of really poor optimization or a software bug, it is a bit much. As for the framerate, VRAM capacity has nothing to do with it - throughput might, but that's relatively fast. I'm betting on shoddy drivers here, as it is often the case these days.

I get that but VRAM is not the same as a HDD. When you go and buy a 4 gb RAM for your PC you get 4 gb - nothing less and nothing more. And believe me when I say that the FPS indeed drops if the VRAM goes above 3.5 gb since the other 0.5 gb is a slower variation of it. I myself own a R9 290 with 4gb of VRAM and Im able to use all of it without any issues compared to the 970 where anything above 3.5 gb is just not playable. The fact is Nvidia lied when they advertised that they have 4 gb of usable VRAM when in fact they have 3.5. The card is awesome dont get me wrong, but the false advertisement is just wrong and thats why their stock is dropping. The EU is very strict regarding this kind of things and this kind of thing will not stand. If youre by any chance from the EU you can ask for a refund due to false advertising.

Heres some sauce in case youre thinking Im making things up. ;)
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,430
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,436
Country
Poland
I get that but VRAM is not the same as a HDD. When you go and buy a 4 gb RAM for your PC you get 4 gb - nothing less and nothing more. And believe me when I say that the FPS indeed drops if the VRAM goes above 3.5 gb since the other 0.5 gb is a slower variation of it. I myself own a R9 290 with 4gb of VRAM and Im able to use all of it without any issues compared to the 970 where anything above 3.5 gb is just not playable. The fact is Nvidia lied when they advertised that they have 4 gb of usable VRAM when in fact they have 3.5. The card is awesome dont get me wrong, but the false advertisement is just wrong and thats why their stock is dropping. The EU is very strict regarding this kind of things and this kind of thing will not stand. If youre by any chance from the EU you can ask for a refund due to false advertising.

Heres some sauce in case youre thinking Im making things up. ;)
You don't get the exact amount of RAM/VRAM that's on the box because that's impossible to accurately achieve, you get an estimated value. If the last 500MB's are a slower variant of memory then that's a problem, but it's still a 4GB card. Once again, it barely affects framerate unless you're streaming from VRAM for whatever reason. You don't have 3.5GB VRAM, you have 4GB, they're just not of the same type according to what you're saying.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
35,810
Trophies
3
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
26,103
Country
United Kingdom
So I just read up on this (I was completely oblivious to it all). Now I am going to have to see if I can trick someone doing the storm in a teacup thing into selling me one cheap, much like the time various kids declared flashed 360s worthless when they had been banned from Xbox Live.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
Actually you do get it and you are able to use all of it with no problems. HDDs, USBs, SSDs are a whole different story. You dont have to take my word for it just google "970 fps drop" and youll get more than enough to convince you. The card is "4 gb" but it can effectively only use 3.5 gb and when it goes above that, the other 0.5 gb is used which is slower hence dropping the FPS drastically.

Here ypu go, I cant really explain this better than this.



So I just read up on this (I was completely oblivious to it all). Now I am going to have to see if I can trick someone doing the storm in a teacup thing into selling me one cheap, much like the time various kids declared flashed 360s worthless when they had been banned from Xbox Live.
You know that might just work, better keep an eye out on Craigslist or whatnot, you never know what you might find.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,430
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,436
Country
Poland
Actually you do get it and you are able to use all of it with no problems. HDDs, USBs, SSDs are a whole different story. You dont have to take my word for it just google "970 fps drop" and youll get more than enough to convince you. The card is "4 gb" but it can effectively only use 3.5 gb and when it goes above that, the other 0.5 gb is used which is slower hence dropping the FPS drastically.
"It's there but it's slow so it's not there" - okay. I can also give you evidence that you don't have an exact amount of RAM - boot your PC, note down the memory test result and calculate how much it should actually be. If you have good sticks, it should be slightly more than the declared capacity, it could also be less, but I bet it's not EXACTLY the right amount because again, that's impossible. I'm not saying what NVidia's doing is right, I'm saying that you're demonstratively wrong.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
"It's there but it's slow so it's not there" - okay. I can also give you evidence that you don't have an exact amount of RAM - boot your PC, note down the memory test result and calculate how much it should actually be. If you have good sticks, it should be slightly more than the declared capacity, it could also be less, but I bet it's not EXACTLY the right amount because again, that's impossible. I'm not saying what NVidia's doing is right, I'm saying that you're demonstratively wrong.
You're correct, but a 512 mb difference is over the top for any kind of RAM especially for a "4 gb" high end graphics card.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,430
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,436
Country
Poland
You're correct, but a 512 mb difference is over the top for any kind of RAM especially for a "4 gb" high end graphics card.
I think we've already established that there is no 512MB difference, the last bit is just slower. Here's a thought - don't buy Nvidia cards from NVidia - leave the chip design to them and actual card manufacturing to the seasoned professionals that were in this business since the dawn of time and you'll have less problems like this.
 

guitarheroknight

1.6180339887
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2014
Messages
2,818
Trophies
1
Age
31
Location
Grand Line
XP
4,026
Country
Norway
I think we've already established that there is no 512MB difference, the last bit is just slower. Here's a thought - don't buy Nvidia cards from NVidia - leave the chip design to them and actual card manufacturing to the seasoned professionals that were in this business since the dawn of time and you'll have less problems like this.

But you do realize the problem is the actual chip right? It was designed that way. All the 970s regardless the model are plagued by this issue, thats why people are pissed.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It has been discussed for quite a long time now.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's about time for the upgrade
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm fine with everything USB wise.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    USB is fine, but shouldn't it be replaced with bulky, hard to use cables and all sorts of proprietary male-female connector port shapes?
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    It's so frustrating to have one simple cable that you can plug in upside down for everything!!!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    USB4 can do up to 40gbps I'd welcome it
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    From a Linus video it's essentially just a type c with an advanced chip
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    40Gbps is just going to result in even more more lazy developers writing sub-optimal, lazy code.
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    How? That transfer speed is insane
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's like saying fast transfers is going to be the downfall of gaming
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Then when devs that actually do take their time makes people cry over them taking their time and having to wait even longer
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Very astute observations, but you failed to take into account people like me who prefer devs to take their time despite longer waits and really, really dislike the suboptimal approaches many studios are taking with game development in this day and age. Catering to the customers with impatient impulses for instant-gratification is a super-profitable business strategy in the short term, sure, but it is an untenable business strategy in the longer term simply because you cannot guarantee you can produce a quality game in that timespan repeatedly. Therefore, you will have to abuse your workforce or partake in other inethical practices in order to compete in the marketplace and remain profitable.
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Not really a fail the general public just doesn't know how to wait I don't see what faster transfer speeds have to do with that
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That's why GTA games are so great because they have that 5-10 year wait and most new sports games are updated roasters they can't really do much improvement with them because not much their is to improve but on the other hand you get a new cod game every year and it makes millions per year so why stop the cash flow if people are dumb enough to buy every new game peryear
    +2
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Awh that's sad
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    So... we got another Nintendo related Salt mine.
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    (which KiwiFarms had documented days before GBATemp lel)
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Is this about the Smash tournament that got cancelled?
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    saw the thread and it's mostly "Fuck Nintendo", as per usual when Nintendo does a Nintendo Thing
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Yes, the usual typical response for such a disgusting company.
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    eh, could be far worse than it is now, especially if you know anything about Disney in recent times
    .
    +1
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    but if you want to hear the Kiwifarms perspective about this latest saltmine...

    https://kiwifarms.net/threads/super-smash-bros-community.35026/post-13572258
  • BlusterBong @ BlusterBong:
    Spoilers: it isn't 99% "FuckNintendo" posts
    +1
    BlusterBong @ BlusterBong: Spoilers: it isn't 99% "FuckNintendo" posts +1