Tesla - The Nintendo Switch Overlay Menu

fhwyjbd.png

Hey all.
I'd like to introduce to you, Tesla: My answer to the growing need for proper ingame front ends for sysmodules.


What is this?

  • Tesla consists of three individual parts. nx-ovlloader, the Tesla menu and libtesla.
    • nx-ovlloader is basically nx-hbloader ported to run as a sysmodule. It runs in the background and loads overlay NROs (.ovl files) given to it.
    • Tesla Menu is the equivalent to the hbmenu. It's the initial thing loaded by nx-ovlloader and acts as a hub for you to select all other overlays.
    • libtesla is where it becomes interesting for developers. It's an easy to use library that handles layer creation, UI drawing and all the overlay UX. It makes it very easy to create a new overlay for anything
  • A frontend for sysmodules that before required either a homebrew or a config file to change settings or used sounds or the LED to give the user feedback.

What is this not?

  • A tool that lets you create overlays that are always visible. Overlays can get unloaded way to easily for this.
  • An excuse to port absolutely everything to a overlay. Nobody's going to need a title manager overlay. If you consider making a overlay, keep it simple. You don't have a whole lot of memory to work with.


How do I use this?

First of all, download the latest release of nx-ovlloader and the Tesla Menu from the GitHub Release page and extract it onto your SD card.
After a reboot, hold down L and DPad Down and push on the right joy stick to bring up Tesla at any time. Navigation works as you imagine it.
Similar to normal homebrews, you place your .ovl files in the /switch/.overlays folder on your SD card.


Screenshots

W8yN2M6.jpg

fdfWAXw.jpg


Notice

Make sure to use the latest Atmosphere release when trying this as older versions ( as the one SX OS uses too ) probably won't have enough memory available for this to run. Overlays do take a lot of space so nx-ovlloader reserves 6MB. 2MB for framebuffers and around 4MB for overlay developers to use in their overlays.


GitHub

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader
Tesla Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu


For Developers

libtesla: https://github.com/WerWolv/libtesla
Tesla build template: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Template


Download

nx-ovlloader: https://github.com/WerWolv/nx-ovlloader/releases/latest
Tesla-Menu: https://github.com/WerWolv/Tesla-Menu/releases/latest
EdiZon Overlay: http://werwolv.net/downloads/EdiZonOverlay.zip ( As a little preview for what this is capable of and what EdiZon 4.0.0 will have even more of soon :) )

Special thank especially to averne without him, this would not have been possible!


Obligatory Donation links

GitHub Sponsors https://github.com/sponsors/WerWolv
PayPal https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=KP7XRJAND9KWU&source=url
Patreon https://www.patreon.com/werwolv



Thanks a lot and have fun using and extending it :)
 
Last edited by WerWolv,

uzimakiuchiha

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 17, 2009
Messages
879
Trophies
2
XP
2,409
Country
United States
Yes, I confirm the system error. Checked on Mario Odyssey. Launch Tesla overlay, select Edizon, select Cheat, Error. Experimentally, I found out that the system gives an error if the cheat code in the txt file is too large. Removing a large cheat code in txt file, leaving only one cheat in a txt file, it worked. Sorry for my bad English)

I dunno exactly how many lines it can handle, but big codes I break into 2 plus separate codes, no more than 60 lines to be sure
Example:
[Long code (part 1,60 lines)]

[Long code (part 2, 60 lines)]

[Repeat until done]

And enable all at once when I want to use that code
 

Bacer

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
92
Country
Russia
Since I updated my switch to 10.0.1 I can open the Tesla menu in the menu, but not if a game is launched, someone has the same issue or an idea how to fix it?
HookedBehemoth from github said:
This is an issue that started happening in 10.0.0. Go under Settings -> TV Output and make sure that the display scaling is set to 100%. Anything else will cause the menu to not appear anymore in games.
 
Last edited by Bacer,

Starhatred

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
81
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
1,325
Country
Vietnam
What files did you use? I downloaded the latest releases of the three and overwrote what was on the SD and the overlay doesn't appear even on the home screen :(
Same for me :/
Uhm, make sure to delete atmosphere/contents/010000000007E51A folder when you updating. Hope it helps. :)
 

haruka-cantabile

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2018
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
311
Country
Philippines

Chainiy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
41
Country
Russia
I dunno exactly how many lines it can handle, but big codes I break into 2 plus separate codes, no more than 60 lines to be sure
Example:
[Long code (part 1,60 lines)]

[Long code (part 2, 60 lines)]

[Repeat until done]

And enable all at once when I want to use that code

I have error with this code:

[9999 Coins Save 1]
02100000 619ED858 0000270f

[Infinite Health Save 1]
01100000 61B30CD4 00000006

[Max Purple Coins Save 1]
02100000 61C77360 00000032
02100000 61C77364 00000032
02100000 61C77368 00000064
02100000 61C7736C 00000064
02100000 61C77370 00000032
02100000 61C77378 00000032
02100000 61C7737C 00000064
02100000 61C77380 00000064
02100000 61C77384 00000032
02100000 61C77388 00000064
02100000 61C77390 00000064
02100000 61C77394 00000032
02100000 61C77398 00000064

the overlay freezes, but the system works same time, then after error appears
 

uzimakiuchiha

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 17, 2009
Messages
879
Trophies
2
XP
2,409
Country
United States
I have error with this code:

[9999 Coins Save 1]
02100000 619ED858 0000270f

[Infinite Health Save 1]
01100000 61B30CD4 00000006

[Max Purple Coins Save 1]
02100000 61C77360 00000032
02100000 61C77364 00000032
02100000 61C77368 00000064
02100000 61C7736C 00000064
02100000 61C77370 00000032
02100000 61C77378 00000032
02100000 61C7737C 00000064
02100000 61C77380 00000064
02100000 61C77384 00000032
02100000 61C77388 00000064
02100000 61C77390 00000064
02100000 61C77394 00000032
02100000 61C77398 00000064

the overlay freezes, but the system works same time, then after error appears

1) what game?
2) try loading game, hitting home button (but don't quit!)
3) load overlay and enable cheats from home screen
4) exit overlay completely and go back into game

Give that a try
 

Chainiy

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
41
Country
Russia
1) what game?
2) try loading game, hitting home button (but don't quit!)
3) load overlay and enable cheats from home screen
4) exit overlay completely and go back into game

Give that a try
Game is Mario Odyssey. I tried to do everything as you advised. And still the error at step 3. When I try to open cheat list overlay is freeze.
 

uzimakiuchiha

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
May 17, 2009
Messages
879
Trophies
2
XP
2,409
Country
United States
@Chainiy
try this
[Max Purple Coins Save 1]
02100000 61C792E0 00000032
02100000 61C792E4 00000032
02100000 61C792E8 00000064
02100000 61C792EC 00000064
02100000 61C792F0 00000032
02100000 61C792F8 00000032
02100000 61C792FC 00000064
02100000 61C79300 00000064
02100000 61C79304 00000032
02100000 61C79308 00000064
02100000 61C79310 00000064
02100000 61C79314 00000032
02100000 61C79318 00000064
 
Last edited by uzimakiuchiha,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2: Well start walking towards them +1