1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    1. The only advantage to using Caffeine is that it doesn't require a jig and USB cable. On the flip side, using a jig and USB cable does not require an Internet connection which Caffeine requires. The only other notable difference is that a jig and USB cable can be used on any firmware as long as the console is not patched while Caffeine requires a specific firmware (and not having the supernag)
    2. First, you cannot set NNIDs on the Switch. It uses Nintendo Accounts and yes there is difference between an NNID and a Nintendo Account. Secondly, even if you do the initial setup, you cannot link a Nintendo Account unless you are on the latest firmware. That being said, I don't recommend updating to the latest firmware to setup a Nintendo Account then setting up CFW. I'd recommend setting up CFW then updating the firmware
    3. You will only get banned if you go online after using CFW and/or homebrew
     
    Codify likes this.
  2. Nokocchi52

    Nokocchi52 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    How do I edit this file? When I opened it it looked more like a text guide than anything editable. What line do I change?

    Addionally, I have this problem
    -Used PKHex on a Sword Save (have the new patch, but play on 8.0.1)
    -After I booted up the switch, I restored the edited save with Checkpoint
    -In an attempt to boot the game it fails
    -try again, instead of cart symbol(physical game) is shows a box with an exclaimation point
    -says "Corrupted Data has been detected. Please run a check for corrupt data"
    -finds it ("The SD card data is corrupted)", wants a redownload
    -Game is on cart, it is offline only even so I got the recent patch from the internet instead of the shop(Patch is on the Mirco SD card), and thus nothing is redownloadable that I know of
    -Check save, still works perfectly on PKhex
    -Had used the game post-patch before, worked just fine, caught the Galarian Slowpoke and everything.

    What is corrupted and what do I need to do to fix this issue?

    EDIT:
    -the game cart isn't the problem, neither is the save data since even deleting that from the switch didn't fix the issue. Is there something wrong with the patch file or something else?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  3. Benja81

    Benja81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    583
    Country:
    United States
    I tracked down a switch seller on Amazon and while they cannot provide the serial, because amazon has the actual switch, they state that it is definitely a "V1" switch. Even though I know serial # is preferable, how would my chances be at an unpatched V1 switch, or are they all unpatched (prob not)?
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    While its not impossible, the chances are low. If it is a used console, the chances go up.
     
  5. Benja81

    Benja81 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    583
    Country:
    United States
    There are plenty of used ones I could try and take my chances maybe, I have an amazon gift card, or otherwise would just use ebay; which seems to be much easier to see the unpatched ones..
    If no luck I will just wait and do it on ebay when I can. Thank you!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  6. Crumblebee

    Crumblebee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Never used Pkhex so wouldn't know the problems it can cause the only thing I can think of is that your sd card is on exfat
    backup all the things on your sd to your pc then format the sd to fat32 and see if that fixes it
     
  7. Nokocchi52

    Nokocchi52 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    How can I tell if the SD card is exfat or fat32 and how do I change that? Additionally I noticed that when using Choi it asks if I want that version or the exfat version, I've been chooing the non-exfat and would that tie into everything?
     
  8. Crumblebee

    Crumblebee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    Since your ability to boot the non exfat version that means your sd card is on fat32 reinstall the base game alone with no saves and see if you can play the game like that. When updating too you usually want to get the exfat version even if your on fat32
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
  9. Nokocchi52

    Nokocchi52 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    It would let me open the game without the update, saying it needs to be updated, I have to switch to 9.1.0 to install the patch(since Awoo installer won't let me do so on 8.0.1), change it back, and try to play it, in which case it then says "this game cannot be opened" and then makes me scan for corrupt data, and finds it, and repeats this loop repeatedly.

    I had previously gotten Sword post-patch to work on the system, and now it won't anymore

    EDIT: Got it to work dumped the game from the cart to the switch itself using gamecard installer, changed to 9.1.0, it works again. Even got my save back with checkpoint and it still works
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
  10. galneon

    galneon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    Restored my 4.1.0 backup from 8.1.0. Fuses still intact, GC slot works on 4.1.0 sysNAND and now I'm on eMMC with 9.1.0.

    I used the newb guide site with the great SEO as my antiquated setup was beyond migrating or adapting my knowledge from. This guide has 'homebrew' as an ultimate goal, so it leaves out mention of e.g. sigpatches. I've since manually added the KOSMOS sigpatches and updated my hekate.ipl and everything is working great.

    What I'm wondering is if there's anything else I'm obviously missing which the kosher guide wouldn't mention? I've added Awoo with NS-USBLoader on the PC side.
     
  11. Joe9411

    Joe9411 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Italy
    Hello. I have a question regarding Bans and old clean SysNand but first i want to explain what i have and what i do with my switch (and apologize me if my english is not properly good, in any case i'll try to be more clear if you don't understand what i mean).

    I have Atmosphere 9.1.0 running on emunand which comes from a clean sysnand with no internet settings and airplane mode (the sysnand has only few games installed).

    What I do with this console is:

    1) Play legit online games only on OFW;
    2) Play "other games" only on CFW, totally offline, internet settings erased (incognito is installed too, to prevent any mistakes, even is almost useless at this point)
    I'm not interested to modify or transfer save data of any game, game modding etc. Maybe only some Homebrews but i'm still not sure about it.


    Now, let's pretend that there is a new system update and that I bought other games to install and play on OFW sysNand. If for some reason I brick my console and I use an OLD clean sysNand, can i still be banned, considering that i played online, bought new games, new system update etc? What i mean is Nintendo can see that i'm running an old backup, due to different logs that i've sent to their servers before the console was bricked? In that case I have to backup everytime (like once a week) the sysnand in order to prevent possible bans for incorrect logs?

    Thanks.
     
  12. Shiiouri

    Shiiouri Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, does anyone here know how to find your Nintendo Switch Console's IP Address in order to use FTP Features?
     
  13. Crumblebee

    Crumblebee Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2020
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United States
    System settings then internet and under connection status, you should see your ip this is something that can be easily looked up on google I don't even know why you asked
     
  14. Shiiouri

    Shiiouri Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, TY so much for the Info~
     
  15. CharlesHoy

    CharlesHoy Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With my hacked switch it’s not been connected to the internet at all and will not be either, if I wanted to put it back to standard (factory reset in settings) and connect to the internet, could that flag a ban?
     
  16. maraxion
    This message by maraxion has been removed from public view by Joe88, Feb 13, 2020, Reason: Do not ask for warez.
    Feb 12, 2020 Show
  17. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    Yes because a factory reset does not remove all traces of hacking. Only a clean NAND dump made before running CFW & homebrew can prevent the ban.
     
    CharlesHoy likes this.
  18. galneon

    galneon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    I have a mysterious orphaned title on the Switch menu. It has a placeholder icon and takes up 0.5 MB in Manage Software. This isn't anything associated with a virgin Atmosphere setup on 9.1.0, is it? I'm guessing it's orphaned DLC (Switch labels it DLC under where it lists mSD free space), but have not experienced this before and don't want to delete homebrew/CFW-related data. "Check for Corrupt Data" comes back okay. I didn't notice if it was there directly after setting up eMMC as I quickly went to installing packages.

    I have many modded consoles and at least one I can think of (PS2) has 'corrupt data' on the memory card which is actually vital, hence my paranoia.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2020
  19. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    It could be an orphaned DLC or game update.
     
    galneon likes this.
  20. galneon

    galneon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Country:
    United States
    You're not familiar with any homebrew functionality that would install itself as game data, are you? It doesn't seem there would be a point in doing that on the Switch.
     
  21. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    10,881
    Country:
    United States
    There is none whatsoever like that.
     
    galneon likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH