1. gavinfriday69

    gavinfriday69 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    Belgium
    I've tried the conversion from nsp to xci with the nsc builder
    "https://github.com/julesontheroad/NSC_BUILDER/releases"

    it gives me error messages... on another time it gave a len() error
    another file returned converted to xci in the log

    don't know why the errors are different for several files

    please help because I would like to try the nsp to xci conversion

    File "Fs\Nsp.py", line 240, in open
    File "Fs\Pfs0.py", line 61, in open
    File "Fs\File.py", line 206, in open
    OSError: [Errno 22] Invalid argument: 'G:\\SWITCH GAMES\\switch NSP games\\Color Zen Kids [0100DDA00C0BC000].nsp""G:\\SWITCH GAMES\\switch NSP games\\Color Zen Kids [0100DDA00C0BC000].nsp'
    [8636] Failed to execute script squirrel
    DONE
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    No, not unless you copy your /Nintendo/ folder from the old SD card to the proper location on the new SD card.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    An untethered coldboot exploit may be possible on system versions 3.x and lower, but it will probably be a very long time (if ever) before something like that is released. Everything else will probably always require a.) fusee gelee, or b.) a warmboot browser exploit.
    1. Fusee gelee requires an unpatched system, a jig (at least the first time), and a way to push a payload over USB.
    2. A warmboot browser exploit currently requires 1.0.0, 2.0.0-3.0.0, or 4.0.1-4.1.0.
    3. A warmboot browser exploit might be released for 5.0.0-7.0.1 someday in the distant future.
    4. 8.0.0 and higher might never be hackable on patched systems that don't have access to fusee gelee.
    After booting CFW, if you leave your Switch in sleep mode when you're not using it, you're unlikely to need to power off your Switch very often. Having to power off your system, enter RCM, and push a payload should be rare.

    If you're looking for a more convenient way to enter RCM, I suggest installing AutoRCM, which causes the Switch to coldboot into RCM. You will still need to push a payload over USB before the Switch can be used after a coldboot, however.

    If you're looking for a more convenient way to push a payload, you can use an Android device or a cheap USB dongle.

    That all being said, an untethered coldboot method of entering CFW exists by using a modchip and AutoRCM. The Switch will coldboot into RCM, and the modchip will automatically push the appropriate payload.
     
    Draxzelex, depaul and tabzer like this.
  3. Yareyare

    Yareyare Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi.
    I had a samsung sd card and I could launch cfw in both emunand and sysnand.
    I recently bought a new 400go sd card. Sysnand works fine but when I want to launch emunand it gets back to hekate launch screen.
    Any help is appreciated.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    Did you partition the new SD card properly for emuNAND? Is the storage partition formatted as FAT32?
     
  5. Yareyare

    Yareyare Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Italy
    Thanks for your quick reply.

    Yes :
    - I formatted the sd card with GUI format.
    - I followed the steps as in a well known tutorial in github pages to create the partition with Minitool partition wizard. I make emummc and changed it to SD RAW 1.

    I did the same before and it worked.
    Sysnand works fine.

    Thanks
     
  6. MrJey

    MrJey Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a Switch and a question:

    Do I need to use the rcmloader rig everytime I shutdown and / or reboot my switch to get into CFW or is this a onetime thing to get the CFW enabled?

    If I go CFW, I want to go full CFW just like with my 3DS and Luma.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    6,711
    Country:
    United States
    Everytime the unit get shut down, unless you get a modchip fitted.
     
    MrJey likes this.
  8. MrJey

    MrJey Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, I will wait for this scene to mature more.
    Can’t wait for a “Boot9Strap” kinda level hack! :D
     
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    An untethered coldboot exploit may be possible on system versions 3.x and lower, but it will probably be a very long time (if ever) before something like that is released. Everything else will probably always require a.) fusee gelee, or b.) a warmboot browser exploit.
    1. Fusee gelee requires an unpatched system, a jig (at least the first time), and a way to push a payload over USB.
    2. A warmboot browser exploit currently requires 1.0.0, 2.0.0-3.0.0, or 4.0.1-4.1.0.
    3. A warmboot browser exploit might be released for 5.0.0-7.0.1 someday in the distant future.
    4. 8.0.0 and higher might never be hackable on patched systems that don't have access to fusee gelee.
    After booting CFW, if you leave your Switch in sleep mode when you're not using it, you're unlikely to need to power off your Switch very often. Having to power off your system, enter RCM, and push a payload should be rare.

    If you're looking for a more convenient way to enter RCM, I suggest installing AutoRCM, which causes the Switch to coldboot into RCM. You will still need to push a payload over USB before the Switch can be used after a coldboot, however.

    If you're looking for a more convenient way to push a payload, you can use an Android device or a cheap USB dongle.

    That all being said, an untethered coldboot method of entering CFW exists by using a modchip and AutoRCM. The Switch will coldboot into RCM, and the modchip will automatically push the appropriate payload.
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  10. AuroraBorealis

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Canada
    When it comes to SD cards, is it recommended to use Fat32 or Exfat?

    I am looking at buying a 400gb micro sd card, and I dont think I have the exfat update. Is it safe to do all my nand backups and game downloads with a formatted Fat32 card?
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    FAT32 is recommended since exFAT is more likely to become corrupt.
     
  12. ScrPotato

    ScrPotato GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    United States
    You would need to reinstall your games if they are on the MicroSD.
     
  13. Baoh

    Baoh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi Guys, I have Bought a new SD card 400 GB, I have hakate on the console, how can I use a new SD card? Have y got a tutorial?
    After I format it in exFat what I need to do?

    Ty for help
     
  14. Idontknowwhattoputhere

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  15. Baoh

    Baoh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Italy
    OK Tx but after I format It what I need to do? Hakate is already install in the console :)
     
  16. Idontknowwhattoputhere

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Use fat32 over exfat
    https://switch.homebrew.guide/
     
    Lacius likes this.
  17. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    The contents of one SD card can be moved to the other. The games don't need to be "reinstalled."
     
  18. Baoh

    Baoh Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2019
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Italy
  19. Idontknowwhattoputhere

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Messages:
    759
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  20. malaken

    malaken Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    Problem here is got goldtree running with goldleaf they connect to each other and thats it. What am i supposed to do now? This is for the usb connection
     
  21. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,923
    Country:
    United States
    From the other thread:

    Make sure you are running Goldleaf on the Switch while it is plugged into the computer. Make sure you click List All Devices in Zadig. If it still doesn't show, post an image.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH