1. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,021
    Country:
    United States
    You can do usb install with goldleaf 0.3 on a pc.
     
    Wrig likes this.
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,715
    Country:
    United States
    Its just that some people use emuMMC as a ban shield meaning they use emuMMC for CFW and homebrew then keep it offline. However if you reverse the roles and use CFW and homebrew in sysMMC while playing online in emuMMC, then you have to connect to the Internet through emuMMC. This is something patched users must do because they cannot update their sysMMC to the latest firmware and thus play online with their sysMMC.

    Adubbz Tinfoil is a homebrew program you run on the Switch to install .NSP files. NS-USBloader is a computer program that pushes .NSP files via USB but it must be used in tandem with a homebrew application on the Switch.

    As stated before, some users do not let their emuMMC partition connect to the Internet but there is nothing inherently wrong with connecting emuMMC to the Internet unless you use a lot of CFW & homebrew in emuMMC.
     
  3. Is it worth keeping emunand/emummc now that I’m banned?
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,021
    Country:
    United States
    Depends if you had an sysnand on a much lower firmware/fuse count, other than that probably no.
     
  5. Nope. Running 8.1.0/8.1.0.
     
  6. Enlapse

    Enlapse GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    Probably this has been answered, but I haven't found anything on Google:

    Is it possible to autoload a payload upon entering RCM? Something like this:

    Switch is off > Turn on > RCM loaded (from AutoRCM) > Load selected payload (in my case Hekate) from SD or internal storage or something like that

    If it isn't clear, I mean without another device such as a PC.

    Thank you for your help.
     
  7. noctis90210

    noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    im just curious about the "check for corrupted data" feature on switch...
    is the system checking the main game only? or also on updates and dlcs?
    thanks
     
  8. megamanbassx

    megamanbassx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just getting started with CFW. I have a stock unpatched switch on 4.1 still. If I set up emuMMC, should I update the emuMMC to 8.1 or 8.0.1? I read somewhere that 8.0.1 has better compatibility?

    And I for my sysNAND, is there a way to update it to 8.1 to play online without burning fuses? I couldn't find this on my searches here (people said to just update normally and burn fuses...)

    Thanks
     
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    There is no reason not to update to 8.1.0. This should be done with ChoiDujourNX on a dirty emuNAND that is kept offline (or has 90DNS and/or Incognito installed).

    There are only two ways to accomplish this. Here are the steps for the less-risky way:
    1. Install AutoRCM using Hekate if you haven't already.
    2. Boot into the latest version of Atmosphere on your sysNAND (your NAND should stay relatively clean so long as you do nothing else).
    3. Update your system in the system settings.
    4. Reboot the system.
    5. Use Hekate to boot into OFW sysNAND whenever you want to play online.
     
    iautran and megamanbassx like this.
  10. megamanbassx

    megamanbassx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Got it thanks, I'll update to 8.1 for my emuMMC.

    I read that there are downsides and risks with autoRCM? Is there a different way without autoRCM? (or is it possible to remove autoRCM afterwards?)

    I have a jig that should let me reliably enter RCM for reboots, can I just hold the buttons with the jig in during a normal system update to enter RCM?
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    AutoRCM is relatively safe, so there aren't any substantive risks. As for downsides, AutoRCM causes the Switch to always coldboot into RCM after being fully powered off. That's convenient if you want an easy way to enter RCM, but it also means that you cannot power off your Switch fully unless you're near a computer where you can push an RCM payload like fusee-primary or Hekate. This isn't much of an issue if you leave your Switch in sleep mode whenever it's not being used.

    There are only two ways to preserve your fuse count:
    1. Don't update your sysNAND.
    2. Install AutoRCM before or during the system update and keep it installed.
    You can remove AutoRCM at any time using Hekate, but the moment you boot your sysNAND normally without an RCM payload like Hekate, you will burn your fuses, and this will almost certainly happen at some point if you don't have AutoRCM installed.

    That is the second way of updating without burning your fuses. It's risky because you might accidentally boot normally instead of booting RCM, and I don't recommend it for that reason. Plenty of people have burnt their fuses this way. This method has worked for a lot of people with reliable jigs, however, but unless your plan is to install AutoRCM as soon as you boot into RCM after the update, you will almost certainly burn your fuses at some point in the near future. See above for the only two ways to preserve your fuse count.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Jul 24, 2019
    megamanbassx likes this.
  12. warpaint

    warpaint Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 1.0 switch so my best option is buy puyo tetris jp & nereba method if I don't want to touch rcm or any jigs, right?
     
  13. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    14,214
    Country:
    United States
    That is your only option. Personally, I'd recommend using a jig.
     
    Megadriver94 and warpaint like this.
  14. regnad

    regnad Button Masher
    Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,354
    Country:
    Can anyone answer these questions regarding setting up an emuNAND? :(
     
  15. Shaneus

    Shaneus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a bunch of shortcuts for games on my emuNAND, but they all try and download the games from the Nintendo servers. Can I still use them for NRO redirects?
     
  16. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,715
    Country:
    United States
    It checks for anything pertaining to the game.

    Just try it out.
     
    noctis90210 and Shaneus like this.
  17. huh123

    huh123 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Going in on this from ofw 6.2. What exactly are my options? I see some outdated guides, but don't know where to start on this.
     
  18. aarti

    aarti Killua Zoldyck
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    517
    Country:
    Germany
    huh123 likes this.
  19. Shaneus

    Shaneus GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Country:
    Australia
    More noobness: how can I delete icons for games I don't use? I cleared my NAND before using emuMMC and have no use for all the unused icons. Using Atmosphere/Kosmos.
     
  20. Vcliex

    Vcliex Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hi, how to install nsp game in atmos cfw
    already download CTR game
    there is Base Game, DCL, and Update File v1.0.3 , 1,0,4 and 1.0.5
    First we have to install base game right
    and then, what should we have install first, DLC or Update file after base game?
    and should we install update first with v1.0.3 after that 1.0.4 and 1.0.5 or we can go 1.0.5 and skip update file 1.0.3 and 1.0.4?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH