1. jumpingspoon

    jumpingspoon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Not familiar with hacking the switch at all. Very familiar with the vita, psp, and 3ds. So I just have some question before I attempt to possibly do it.

    1. Is the hack permanent or is it like the vita and you have to launch hencore everytime you shut it down?
    2. Do you still need the little RCM jig that I see on amazon for like $8 or has the way to hack improved? Reason is I thought about buying it now
    3. Still able to go online? I pay for the online subscription will I be banned?
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States

    1. It must be launched each time you power off. However, the Switch can just be left in sleep mode when not using it.
    2. You need a way to enter RCM the first time. I like the paperclip method, but you can buy a cheap RCM jig. You only need it once if you're content with installing AutoRCM.
    3. You can go online with a clean sysNAND if you use an emuNAND for hackery.
     
  3. jumpingspoon

    jumpingspoon Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    ok, I like the idea of it being like my vita having to install it when I do a shutdown and not permanent. I need to find out what sysNAND and emuNAND then.
     
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    emuNAND is a copy of your sysNAND that you run off your SD card so you can use your Switch for hacks without touching the actual system.
     
    jumpingspoon likes this.
  5. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Having a clean nand, and a cheating nand,
    Can i use pokemon home on the cheating nand?
    I would like to clarify, i would not have any illegal pokemon, not using pkhex at all.
    So all pokemon that would be put on pokemon home, will be ones i caught myself, with well a masterball lmao
    Could i be flagged or banned for using home, while being on a modded nand, without abusing any online features with cheats off?

    The idea behind this is to use pokemon home, to get all the starters in my cheat gameplay, without using pkhex.
     
    Last edited by powerzhea, Jun 10, 2020
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot connect your dirty NAND to Nintendo's online services without risking a ban, so no, you cannot use Pokemon Home with your dirty NAND.
     
  7. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Then how are people able to trade hacked pokemon without getting a ban?
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    Some people take the risk, some people trade hacked Pokemon from a hacked Switch to a legitimate Switch over local play, etc.
     
  9. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I see, thank you.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Is it possible, using checkpoint. If you have the savegame, with updates, dlc, to transfer this save game, to the cheating nand?
    Or if new updates come out, and this is not possible, does it mean, i would never be able to play pokemon again, since u have to update it to play it?
     
  10. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. Backup the clean NAND, use Checkpoint to backup the save on the clean NAND, restore the save on the dirty NAND, and then restore the clean NAND backup.
     
  11. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Forgive me for this dumb question, but i have been googling and youtubing to try and find out how to do this.
    How do i backup a clean nand? The other steps i totally get, just not how to backup and restore the clean nand.
     
  12. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    Backup or restore your clean NAND using Hekate.
     
  13. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sorry to be a pain in the behind, but i made that backup, however i cant use checkpoint in clean nand, so how do i use checkpoint to backup that save? so i can restore it in the dirty nand?
     
  14. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    Again, if you backup your clean NAND first, you can use Checkpoint on your clean NAND while offline, and then you can restore the backup.
     
  15. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How tho? Checkpoint is in the album folder, if i start the switch in clean nand, then i dont have checkpoint?
     
  16. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    You will have to use Atmosphere with your clean NAND to run Checkpoint. Restoring the backup will undo the damage.

    If all you're doing is backing up a save offline with Checkpoint, the NAND will probably stay relatively clean. The steps I outlined are for the most paranoid among us.
     
  17. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I managed to do this, but then i tried to restore the backup, and it said it coulnt find a backup...so i think im screwed

    However on the clean nand i bought pokemon sword aswell, this however did not get put to my cheat nand.
     
    Last edited by powerzhea, Jun 10, 2020
  18. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    You need to move the backup into the restore folder.

    If you made the emuNAND before buying the game, you'll have to install the game to your emuNAND manually.
     
  19. powerzhea

    powerzhea Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is there a guide on how to do this?
    I already had the nands installed, many days ago, just today bought pokemon sword, on the normal non modded nand.
     
  20. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,590
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need to install a Pokemon NSP to your emuNAND if you want it there.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH