1. mrduka

    mrduka Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yes, I think that is the only "risk" thing that I do. My sys is totally clean. But, as a beginner on hacks, there's one thing that buggles me with autorcm leaving or not leaving traces.

    Like, let's assume that nintendo launches a new OFW update that bans people who uses AUTORCM, and before i update on my sysNAND, i turn off autoRCM. The traces will be enough to cause ban or turning it off before won't? That's my point, are the vestiges all that visible?
     
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,601
    Country:
    United States
    As I stated previously, AutoRCM is just a corruption of your BOOT0. Uninstalling it just restores your BOOT0 back to normal.
     
  3. CrimsonWesker

    CrimsonWesker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    Hoping someone can help me here, I am a bit nervous as I have never updated a Switch before. I used to ask on the Atlas discord but apparently that is closed down now?

    Basically, my Switch currently says that the "current system version" is 9.1.0|AMS 0.10.1|S

    I just wanted to know what the best way was to get everything updated? I've never done this before, and it seems like there is a proper way to do so to avoid bricking.

    I also recall reading that if you've used Tinfoil that it might be harder to upgrade? I am not sure if this is correct but I did read a comment somewhere a few weeks ago about that I shouldn't be using it (which I am happy to stop doing so) but I just want to get its update sorted. Tinfoil os at 7.0.1

    Sorry if this seems REALLY stupid I just have absolutely no idea what the best way to go about it is and I am worried that Tinfoil has somehow made my situation harder to fix.

    When I choose Reboot To Payload in the Homebrew Channel I also get hekate v5.1.1 if that helps?

    When I am in hekate, I launch by selecting CFW (SYSNAND) too.

    Just trying to provide as much info to get some help :)
     
    Last edited by CrimsonWesker, May 25, 2020
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,601
    Country:
    United States
    With the death of Kosmos, the best replacement is SDSetup. Its run by one of the ex-AtlasNX members and works very similarly to Kosmos except that you can customize what you download. And unless the Tinfoil you are using is the real one, then you shouldn't be using it as anything else is just a fake.
     
  5. CrimsonWesker

    CrimsonWesker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    So what's the actual process? Do I just download the ZIP I want from SDSetup (like I did when I first homebrewed my Switch) and overwrite it there? And then just reboot the Switch?

    And then is there a way to change my OFFICIAL firmware to the latest without being bricked?

    Keeping in mind I homebrewed my Switch late last year and haven't updated it since (as in, atmosphere / hekate / official firmware)
     
  6. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,601
    Country:
    United States
    I personally delete the atmosphere and sept folders and overwrite everything else. If you have any mods for games installed, make sure you back those up before deleting the atmosphere folder. You can also use ChoiDujourNX to update your firmware. And unless you turn off the console while its installing a system update, you will not brick the console. Bricking the Switch is a lot harder than you think.
     
  7. EbTar

    EbTar Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Kuwait
    Yes, that is where I usually go when I want to get the files for updating CFW. Kosmos used to be part of sdsetup.

    So are you saying that updating to clean atmosphere+hekate (without Kosmos) is as easy as just using the new files from sdsetup and just replacing the older ones? OR is there any manual work involved where I have to delete specific Kosmos files?
     
  8. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,601
    Country:
    United States
    Kosmos was never really a part of SDSetup. There was never anything that defined Kosmos as Kosmos. Kosmos was always just a package of Atmosphere, Hekate, and some homebrew applications.
     
  9. munnimann

    munnimann Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Germany
    I'm confused about the nature of Horizon OS. I came across that name in the news post about Citra running on Switch, but couldn't find any useful information on it. From context I assume that it's just the default OS of the Switch, is that correct?
     
  10. logandzwon

    logandzwon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    Cool. Now recreate the emummc, I’d use hekate, and than, start each game and create a save file, then overwrite those saves with your backups. Also remember though that checkpoint does not so system saves, only user.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Correct
     
    munnimann likes this.
  11. ConraDargo

    ConraDargo Flashback Fanatic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,787
    Country:
    Sweden
    Ty! I did this but I can't boot ReiNX. Injections seems successful (that's what Tegra says anyways), but nothing happens - just a black screen.

    Booting with Atmosphere/hekate still works, with my RCMloader.

    Edit: and yes I removed all the old ReiNX files and replaced them once I had successfully updated the Switch.
     
    Last edited by ConraDargo, May 25, 2020
  12. linkstan

    linkstan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    kinda want to remedy this without switching to reinx. Thanks

    if I boot using fusee_primary when loading up hekate for first time, which package of patches do I meed?


    Edit - fixed it. Reformated the sdcard, added fusee pacthes from haruko release(acid,fs, and exes patches) then overwrited the atmos folder with sdsetup vanilla atmos compilation. Yay! Now i boot hekate and chainload fusee_secondary.bin with the fusee package patches since i boot with fusee.
     
    Last edited by linkstan, May 26, 2020
    Blithe34 likes this.
  13. Blithe34

    Blithe34 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Pakistan
    I was thinking because of the recent leak , people were able to port mario 64 to the switch so is it possible to port mario 64 romhacks or other n64 games to the switch?
     
  14. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,693
    Country:
    Argentina
    My Switch is a hackable model on firmware 5.1.0, how easy is to hack it without buying one of those chips?
     
  15. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,558
    Country:
    United States
    If your Switch is vulnerable to the RCM exploit, then it's very easy to hack. All you need is a way to enter RCM, a USB-C cable to connect your Switch to a computer, and a microSD card. I personally prefer using the paperclip jig to enter RCM once and install AutoRCM, but you can also buy an RCM jig for very cheap instead.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    My understanding is Mario 64 was only ported because of the source code leak. We don't have that for other N64 games. Many N64 games can be successfully emulated on the Switch, however.
     
  16. ford fairlane

    ford fairlane Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    hi all

    looking for some advice, currently running cfw 9.0.1 and atmos 0.12.0
    problem i have has been since animal crossing release, ive managed to install the base game eventually by trying different patch sets.
    But ive never been able to install a update as tinfoil gives error firmware is to low.
    tried to run nsp of FNAF and same error.

    now is the problem the sig patches atmos or because my cfw is at 9.0.1

    and second question with regards cfw upgrade. im assuming that updating cfw on my emuMMC.
    If i update to cfw 9.2.0 on sd card my ofw will still stay at 9.0.1? and would updating the firmware do anything to my fuses or is there a way to keep them from burning.

    many thank
     
    Last edited by ford fairlane, May 27, 2020
  17. linkstan

    linkstan Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    if you keep autobootRCM on you can update using choidujournx without burning fuses since it will constantly keep booting into RCM mode and not OFW(how you burn fuses)
     
  18. Ben-to

    Ben-to Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Brazil
    I have an unlocked switch and I would like to play it online, if I buy the right game I want to play, can I play my game without fear of banning?
     
  19. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,693
    Country:
    Argentina
    I got that, what programs do I need to use?
     
  20. Lightyose

    Lightyose True Light
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    924
    Country:
    United States
    raxadian likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH