1. Graupa1988

    Graupa1988 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Bought a broken V2 Nintendo Switch off ebay. It's as if it doesn't detect any eMMC. I tested with other eMMC and same result. I know another wont work but was hoping I would at least get a different result.
    It will not power on and seems to go into RCM mode when you power it on.
    It charges at 5V and .43A.
    I can not inject any payload as it is patched.
    I have replaced LCD connector
    USB-C port
    M92T36
    PI3USB
    BQ24913
    Main Fuse
    I do not find any shorts on the board when I have tested.
    M92T36 pin 5 I get 3.2V Pin 6 I get 3.2V
    Any help would be appreciated!
     
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,296
    Country:
    United States
    You need AutoRCM or to chainload via Hekate in order to load ReiNX V3.0

    If you ever used CFW & homebrew, you will always have a risk of being banned. The only way to prevent that is by restoring a clean NAND dump made before running CFW & homebrew.

    Personally I feel this is not a noob question. You should honestly open a thread in the Nintendo Switch Console & Accessories subforum.
     
    Lacius likes this.
  3. Diablosblizz

    Diablosblizz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    While trying to troubleshoot my switch not booting into Atmosphere, I stupidly restored eMMC BOOT0&1 backup from when I was on a different firmware. I believe the firmware I was on was 9.1, whereas I had updated the switch previously to 10.2. So because of that, I can't boot my switch using the stock bootloader, it just stays "off." Just a black screen and never boots, but I have to hold down the power for 10ish seconds to turn it back off so I can get into RCM. Hekete says I have Burnt Fuses (ODM 7/6): 13 - 0.

    The fuses stuff confuses me. What is the 13 and what is the 0? Is 13 what I should be on and 0 is what I have? Or should I be paying attention to the 7/6?

    I can still get into stock firmware using Hekete. Would updating the console back to 10.2 (stock currently shows 9.1) solve my booting issues? I'm also worried about getting banned in the current state. So far the switch has not gone online since this started.

    I can't post links yet, but a post titled "Burned fuses by mistake, clean nand backup is of lower fw" by "DbGt" suggests that I can update the stock firmware to get the fuses back in order, is that true?

    What are the chances the console will be banned?
     
    Last edited by Diablosblizz, May 27, 2020
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    12,296
    Country:
    United States
    The only number you should be paying attention to is the number before the 0. None of the other numbers are important to you.

    You also do not seem to understand how fuses work. Fuses are designed to prevent downgrades. This is accomplished by having the bootloader check the number of fuses burnt and comparing it to the firmware you are trying to boot. If they match, the console will boot. If the fuse count is less than the firmware, then the console will not boot such as in your case. Firmware 9.1 has an expected fuse count of 12 so only consoles with a fuse count of 12 or less can boot 9.1 normally. A full list of fuses and firmware versions can be found here.

    The reason you can boot "stock" via Hekate is because Hekate can act as a custom bootloader and thus bypass the fuse check. However the "stock" feature available in Hekate is not true stock as it requires a few CFW files (but it does not act like CFW).

    Anyway the fix to your "issue" is to update back to a firmware that matches your current fuse count. It is also impossible to quantify the chances of being banned as only Nintendo are the ones who can answer that question.
     
  5. Diablosblizz

    Diablosblizz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Got it, thank you. Also thanks for the explanation on fuses, and the links. Given that Hekete is telling me I have 13 burnt fuses, it looks like I need to upgrade to 10.0 at the minimum.

    Is it possible to upgrade "stock" FW offline? I have previously used https://nh-server.github.io/switch-guide/extras/updating/ to upgrade stock, but it requires to connect to the network. I'd like to get this squared away before going back online, if at all.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,797
    Country:
    United States
    If the NAND is clean use Nintendo server, if the NAND is dirty use ChoidujourNX.
     
  7. Diablosblizz

    Diablosblizz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Good thing this is a noob forum, how can one tell if the NAND is clean?
     
  8. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,797
    Country:
    United States
    If you ran CFW on that NAND then it is dirty
     
  9. Diablosblizz

    Diablosblizz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, so no matter what if it has launched Hekete / Atmosphere it's dirty then?

    I've used ChoidujourNX to update CFW, but never for stock. Is there a tutorial I could use?
     
  10. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,797
    Country:
    United States
    It would be considered dirty if you ever ran Atmosphere or update via ChoidujourNX on that specific NAND, only way it is consider clean if you never ran any homebrew/CFW on it.
     
  11. daniel13789

    daniel13789 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to safely connect to a new internet connection on a dirty NAND and change the DNS setting to 90DNS before actually connecting to Nintendo's servers? Wondering in case I move and need to setup a new internet connection.
     
  12. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,797
    Country:
    United States
    You are better off using incognito, make a NAND backup before setting up Incognito, and just keep a backup of the prod.info that it make.
     
  13. daniel13789

    daniel13789 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Alrighty, thank you.
     
  14. Diablosblizz

    Diablosblizz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks. What's the best way to update stock then, if I shouldn't go online?
     
  15. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    7,797
    Country:
    United States
    I assume you are talking about Sysnand, just use ChoidujourNX, you going have to source your firmware files.
     
  16. ProfNuke

    ProfNuke Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    First Question:
    Do I HAVE to update my Switch from 8.1 to newer firmware to play newer games (which require a new key version) or is there a trick on it?
    ATM I use 8.1 with Reinx 3.0. But I can not install some newer stuff with goldleaf, it tells me that my FW is to old.

    Second Question:
    Can I update to 10.0.2 and run the switch without burning fuses and use reinx 3.0? will that work?

    Third Question:
    How to update from 8.1 (Reinx 3.0) to the newest working FW? a link to the thread would help.


    I have a clean backup off all, so even if i update, i want that it is still possible to roll back to the old FW 8.1 later

    PS: I am using the RCMloader Model OneB
     
  17. Galebourn

    Galebourn Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I feel bad that I have to write here again, but I'm completely at a loss.
    I have a sxos hidden partition and decided to also use atmosphere.
    That worked for a while but then atmosphere crashed randomly and now I can't boot into atmosphere anymore. When I tried to launch it with hekate or fusee-primary, I only get a black screen and I have to power off the console.
    Now I thought it would be for the best to delete everything except my boot.dat and the Emutendo folder. I got all files fresh from sdsetup with the sigpatches and whatnot. My emummc.ini contains the following:
    [emummc]
    enabled = 1
    sector = 0x2
    nintendo_path = Emutendo
    That should work for a hidden partition, as far as I know and it worked in the past.
    Still, after pressing "cfw - emummc" in hekate, everything stays black.
    Even with a fresh install, nothing works. I even tried other AiO packages like DeepSea and Vöid, but absolutely nothing gets me into atmosphere.
    SXOS still works completely fine (I'm on SXOS 2.9.5 beta with ofw 10.0.0).
    I have no clue what else I could possibly try.
     
  18. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,650
    Country:
    United States
    Eventually, yes, you will be required to update. There are three barriers to installing new games on older system versions:
    1. A soft version check (easy to bypass)
    2. Newer key versions (relatively easy to bypass)
    3. The SDK used to make the game (impossible to bypass, since the new game's dependencies will be missing from the system)
    So in summary, it's best to keep your system updated if your CFW, like Atmosphere, supports it.

    Yes, you can update to 10.0.2 (or 10.0.3, since that's the latest version now) without burning fuses, but you must install AutoRCM during the process. If you ever boot the system without a custom bootloader, which will likely happen without AutoRCM, the fuses will be irreparably burnt.

    That being said, I'm not super familiar with ReiNX, and it's rarely updated. Atmosphere is highly recommended instead.

    You can update your system version by downloading the update, putting the folder onto your SD card, and installing the update using ChoiDujourNX. You should always make sure your CFW supports that system version first, and you should always update your CFW before updating your system version. As I mentioned above, for this reason and others, Atmosphere is recommended.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Atmosphere has a built-in Incognito function you can enable. Alternatively, you can install Incognito using Incognito_RCM, but it's recommended you make an eMMC SYS backup first so your prodinfo in preserved.

    To answer your question, you can install 90DNS without connecting to the internet by doing the following:
    1. Setup a new internet connection on your Switch, but input the wrong password so it cannot connect.
    2. Save your settings.
    3. Re-enter the settings.
    4. Add the 90DNS settings.
    5. Change the password to the correct password.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    CFW is a mode, not a separate entity. If you used ChoiDujourNX to update your system, and you weren't updating an emuMMC, then the whole system is "dirty," and it could be banned if you ever connect it to the internet without 90DNS or Incognito.

    The only good way to clean your system is to restore a clean eMMC backup. There are other ways to potentially "clean" your system, but they're riskier.
     
    ProfNuke likes this.
  19. powman

    powman Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United States
    hmm made my own thread but no answer on there so hopefully can get help here. my switch wont connect to internet when in docked mode. in handheld it works perfectly fine, soon as i dock it (2 different docks tried) it connects but cant actually get internet access. the test fails but it says connected with full bars. i am on latest atmosphere with incognito if that changes anything. any help please?
     
  20. ProfNuke

    ProfNuke Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    Edit: Thread updated

    @Lacius: Thank you very much. So ok, i have to update and ok, i have to use AutoRCM.
    So first: I have to know how to switch from Reinx to Atmosphere.

    --> did install Atmosphere 0.12 and hekate - CTCaer mod v5.2.1 & Nyx v0.9.1
    also placed the fusee-primary.bin in the payload folder. After starting hektate i start the fusee-primary payload and now i am in atmosphere (on FW 8.1).
    BUT: I can not start any game: " the software could not be started, please try again in home menu"???
    and: i can not install any game with Goldleaf 0.8 (even not an old game)


    Second question: I have not found the Firmware to download here :-/ Any link on that?
    --> still not found

    Third question: ok, when I am successful using atmosphere, then i have to install ChoiDujourNXv102 (which i have downloaded already). Then installed the new Firmware with it. But: how to apply AutoRCM BEFORE i restart the first time? I am a bit anxious about this part.
    --> still need to know


    by the way: why is my Homebrew Menu starting by A on the Album instead of R + A? *wondering*
     
    Last edited by ProfNuke, May 28, 2020
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH