Gaming Super Mario Kart VC

pin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
625
Country
Hi,

I just get a black loading screen when I try to run this.

has anyone had any more luck?

Thanks
 

dlf

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2009
Messages
429
Trophies
0
XP
262
Country
United States
I have no trouble loading it, do any of your other downloaded games give a black screen? If not try redownloading SMK.
 

geoflcl

Permanent GBAtemp Newbie
Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,375
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
loganderb.in
XP
522
Country
United States
When new VC games come out, they might require a certain IOS or something of the sort to be able to be run...

When I tried to run Majora's Mask when it came out, the black screen happened to me, too. Though I can't recall exactly what I had to install to get it to work.

Sorry, that's all I got.
mellow.gif
 

g4jek8j54

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
532
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
437
Country
United States
Yeah, you are probably missing the IOS that it requires.

I'm assuming you pirated it, so how come you don't just download the ROM and play it through SNES9X?
 

pin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
625
Country
So which IOS have people used to run it?

g4jek8j54, just easier to run it through VC than an emu (if it works that is
smile.gif
)
 

g4jek8j54

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2007
Messages
532
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
437
Country
United States
AnyTitle Deleter MOD might show the IOS that is needed for that game. If I remember correctly, all you have to do is hover over the title to get that information. Just make sure not to delete anything.

Eh, I find it easier to just have BootMii auto-boot the Homebrew Channel, and then go into the emulator. Plus, you can't change the button mappings on the Virtual Console emulators.
 

pin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
625
Country
No,,its not my region actually. Thought the VC games were RF.
I will try freethewads.

g4jek8j54, I usually boot into usb loader, but I might explore emus for Wii seeing as I have a big HDD atached to it. May as well fill it with some good gamed as the wii is somewhat lacking atm

Cheers all, much appreciated.
 

Tanas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
2,257
Trophies
1
Website
Visit site
XP
113
Country
l'm able to get it to work but only if i set my wii to ntsc using any region changer, but in your case you shouldnt have to do that.
And it appears that not all VC titles are region free, not even after you've used freethewads
 

Intranet

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
20
Trophies
0
XP
75
Country
I also have this black screen problem. It requires IOS 53. But even if it's out of region (the game is NTSC on my PAL wii), shouldn't it work anyway since I use Priiloader with the region free channels hack? Anyways I tried both region freeing it and converting to PAL and using the three different versions of IOS 53 available on NUS but with no luck. I really wanted this to be a WAD just so it would be on the SD card menu (as I autoboot to the sys menu) and it saves me a few clicks than to go to SNES9X GX. Oh well no more being lazy for me :-P
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
1
XP
1,026
Country
Antarctica
pin said:
No,,its not my region actually. Thought the VC games were RF.
I will try freethewads.

g4jek8j54, I usually boot into usb loader, but I might explore emus for Wii seeing as I have a big HDD atached to it. May as well fill it with some good gamed as the wii is somewhat lacking atm

Cheers all, much appreciated.
This explains it. Freethewads worked, but you got a blackscreen due to conflicting video mode (which freethewads doesn't fix). Is you wii's video mode NTSC or PAL?
 

pin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2009
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
625
Country
MY wii is PAL and yep the games NTSC. So do you just think this is one of the games freethewads cant fix?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, why are most new south park episodes half hour specials?
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Psionic Roshambo, let me get a Netflix account I've always been nice to you
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I made a honey pepper glazed turkey breast for dinner turned out pretty bomb
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    We can Netflix and chill
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Nvm not half hour, but hour long
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Normal south park episodes are already half hour
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Got 2 free Xumo boxes they work pretty good
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I'm happy to get anything most series don't make it pass 6 seasons
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Except Stars and Encore those are being a bitch lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I may consider that onn pro box finally a media box with type A ;O
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2, cuz the companies don't want em to
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No it's revenue and demand south park could argue has a bigger audience than family guy about the same
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Family guy is worth 300mill south parks worth 1Bill according to the interwebs
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @K3Nv2, probably cuz family guy is more disliked compared to south park
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    It just does the same formula south park can press buttons without going overboard
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    And bc most of the family guy budget is spent on the voice actors rather than on the animation
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Southpark could spend 30k on a animated dick and people would laugh at it
    +2
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    lol one prescription to Lizzo
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    who is lizzo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yawn
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, doge is dead
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    let's get some o7s for that legendary dog

    o7
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i think its raining
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: i think its raining