stuck with ios problems..

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by crash_insane, Jan 10, 2011.

Jan 10, 2011
  1. crash_insane
    OP

    Newcomer crash_insane Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying to fix a friend's wii for a while and I just don't know what to do. He used the cIOS36 rev.9 installer about say 2 or 3 years ago as he claimed and might have missed a step or two when installing wads. AFAIK, his Wii could not run usbloader(hit with an -4100 error; no custom ios).

    Here's some info:
    system menu v3.4 ios50
    HBC v1.0.6
    IOS36 v12.18
    boot2v3

    I tried patching ios36 but everything I did so far has led me to errors stating there isn't ios. I tried installing wads via MMM but refused. What should I do? I've been researching like crazy and I couldn't find a way to fix this.

    edit: forgot to mentioned most apps just refused to work because cIOS 249 couldn't be found, that explained the -4100 error.
     
  2. mvgc3

    Member mvgc3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United States
    Update HBC, which I think it should do automatically if you connect to the internet. If not, get the HackMii Installer and start it from HBC.

    Get IOS236 installer to install a version of IOS36 with all patches to slot 236.

    Use IOS236 to install any cIOSs or WADs.


    Updating HBC is important, by the way, because IOS236 installer uses a new feature available to install the IOS (it's something like WHBPROT, but I never really bothered to remember it exactly)
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hmm...I'd try to install rev21 in slot 249 (when asked, use a base ios of 36 or 56). It has about the same features as the IOS236, but quite some homebrew assumes a working cIOS in slot 249.
    (note: I quickly tried to check the contents, and it said to start by having HBC 1.0.7 or later).
     
  4. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think you've kinda answered your own question on what to do
     
  5. crash_insane
    OP

    Newcomer crash_insane Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for pointing it out. I didn't know updating HBC would dramatically changes everything.
     
  6. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well...the HBC is the one piece of software that should be stable above anything else. If you have a bunch of hacked IOS'es installed, it will cause problems (cIOScork/darkcorp tends to conflict with the HBC; certain wads can cause the same sorts of problems).

    Updating the HBC may not be obligated or needed, I would still recommend it. For one, because it doesn't get deleted if the wii gets accidentally updated to 4.3.




    @bazamuffin: I think you're confusing me with the OP. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page