streaming?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by iFish, May 8, 2010.

May 8, 2010

streaming? by iFish at 4:33 PM (1,300 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Heya, folks!!

    I was wondering, can i stream movies from my laptop to the PS3? i know you most likely can on the Xbox 360.

    that is one of the things that i want for my PS3 to do [​IMG] since i have many on my laptop already.

    okay, so if i can, tell me. oh and how [​IMG]

    thanks

    ~ifish [​IMG]
     
  2. The Pi

    Member The Pi Lurker

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you used to be able to with linux (on the ps3) and vlc streaming
    but no idea how to do it now
     
  3. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PS3 Media Server works wonders, and supports alot more file types than Sony's own one.
     
  4. ZAFDeltaForce

    Member ZAFDeltaForce Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,786
    Country:
    Singapore
    I Agree. It's intuitive and easy to use. Also, it supports practically every file format I throw at it. Quality is fantastic, too.
     
  5. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, bro.

    Luke_c that goes on my pc or mah ps3? [​IMG]
     
  6. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You install it on your PC and it will pick up your PS3 over the wireless network, then a PS3 Media Server Icon should pop up on your XMB over Music, Videos and Photos which you can click on, browse through your hard drive and access and open files.
     
  7. blueskies

    Member blueskies GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Can vouch for PS3 Media Server too on the Mac. I had some issues at first streaming 720p videos, it would stutter, buffer, skip around, but after playing the with settings and slightly reducing some quality, it streamed beautifully. I think it also had to convert on the fly because they were al MKV, so that might have caused some slow-down...
     
  8. iFish
    OP

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    So... This works on mac!?!?!? :yaymac:
     
  9. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    Does PS3 Media Server use up net usage?
     
  10. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    although a lot of people seem to hate it i use Windows Media Player to stream from my PC to PS3 it works just fine all you have to do in WMP is click the options toolbar under library and click media sharing then click share my media to and then select devices to share it to.
     
  11. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Problem is you can't browse your drives and you can play sod all files
     
  12. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    im able to browse through thousands of music/videos/pictures that way
     
  13. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can't browse through your drive though, they have to be in /user/music/ etc.
     
  14. syko5150

    Member syko5150 GBAtemp Syko!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    well all of my files are ripped straight to my wmp library so i can see everything i have on my PS3.
     
  15. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well that doesn't seem to be the case with 99% of people, I really can't see why you would use built-in one, it has far less support for files and is alot harder to get working.
     

Share This Page