Hacking SSBB (NTSC-U) Backup Confirmed Working w/ Wiikey 1.9g

Jenacis

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Pittsburgh
Website
Visit site
XP
163
Country
United States
Hey everyone - I have to get back to a rehearsal, but the short of it:

I have a modded Wii (bought it in early June) with a Wiikey, and the 1.9g update - whatever the newest one is.

I obtained the DVD5 NTSC-J version of Brawl a month ago and burned it, sans brickblocker, and got dual channels. Otherwise, Wii behaved fine.

I bought NTSC-U Brawl last night, and as mentioned, the legit version is not recognized by the Wiikey.

I ripped it using Friidump (the newest version) using the standard setting - something like friidump -d f: a or whatever it iis.

I burned the .iso file using Imgburn at 2.4x onto an HP DVD+R Double Layer DVD. I didn't use the brick blocker or anything.

I just popped it into my Wii, and it works fine. I haven't played any of the modes or anything yet, but it booted okay and I navigated some menus. I see no reason why it would freeze anywhere else.

In summary:
- Wiikey w/ 1.9g update
- DVD5 of Brawl was used previously, update was allowed to completion, dual channels as result.
- Bought NTSC-U.
- Ripped using Friidump and -d f: a setting (The one it gives an example of, I just changed my drive letter to F) using the LG Drive that can rip games.
- Burned to HP DVD+R DL at 2.4x.
- Put it into the Wii, didn't try to update, seemed to work just fine.

That's all I've got right now. I hope this helps a bunch of you out - thanks guys!
 

OmerMe

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2007
Messages
491
Trophies
0
Age
29
Website
Visit site
XP
381
Country
Iceland
I hope it will work on PAL without the update and without the errors, because I have only one DL disc and it's waiting for Brawl, and DL discs cost ALOT in Israel
 

coolbho3000

GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2007
Messages
2,119
Trophies
0
Age
122
Location
Kikkoman Factory
XP
935
Country
Please give us MD5 sum of ISO, thank you.
smile.gif


And please... upload... please!
 

kedest

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
3,289
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
534
Country
Netherlands
It's starting to look like there's really nothing Nintendo can do anymore to detect modchips. Otherwise they would definitely have implemented it in this big release.
 

XodiacMt

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
mantorras said:
jesus i'm dying here

however that's good news

but i hope the SSBB NTSC-J step isn't mandatory. i don't want duplicated channels

ps-hi there

The duplicated channels are only for the Japanese version. Even then its possible to go without having them.

This topic is for the NTSC-U version. You will not get duplicated channels, if your wii is bought in North America.
 

mthegreatone

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
The Dementor said:
So if it was that easy, why no Scene release yet?

i'd imagine it would take some time to upload. it IS a dual-layer game after all.

QUOTE(Jenacis @ Mar 9 2008, 10:43 AM) Hey everyone - I have to get back to a rehearsal, but the short of it:

I have a modded Wii (bought it in early June) with a Wiikey, and the 1.9g update - whatever the newest one is.

I obtained the DVD5 NTSC-J version of Brawl a month ago and burned it, sans brickblocker, and got dual channels. Otherwise, Wii behaved fine.

I bought NTSC-U Brawl last night, and as mentioned, the legit version is not recognized by the Wiikey.

I ripped it using Friidump (the newest version) using the standard setting - something like friidump -d f: a or whatever it iis.

I burned the .iso file using Imgburn at 2.4x onto an HP DVD+R Double Layer DVD. I didn't use the brick blocker or anything.

I just popped it into my Wii, and it works fine. I haven't played any of the modes or anything yet, but it booted okay and I navigated some menus. I see no reason why it would freeze anywhere else.

In summary:
- Wiikey w/ 1.9g update
- DVD5 of Brawl was used previously, update was allowed to completion, dual channels as result.
- Bought NTSC-U.
- Ripped using Friidump and -d f: a setting (The one it gives an example of, I just changed my drive letter to F) using the LG Drive that can rip games.
- Burned to HP DVD+R DL at 2.4x.
- Put it into the Wii, didn't try to update, seemed to work just fine.

That's all I've got right now. I hope this helps a bunch of you out - thanks guys!

hold the phone....so basically you're saying that trucha-signer is completely unnecessary in order for the game to work? if that's the case then i'm just really surprised that Nintendo didn't implement any security features like they did with SMG.
 

XodiacMt

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
QUOTE said:
hold the phone....so basically you're saying that trucha-signer is completely unnecessary in order for the game to work? if that's the case then i'm just really surprised that Nintendo didn't implement any security features like they did with SMG.

Ive never used trucha with SMG. Hmmm.... and it still works fine with my wiikey.
 

mantorras

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
29
Country
XodiacMt said:
mantorras said:
jesus i'm dying here

however that's good news

but i hope the SSBB NTSC-J step isn't mandatory. i don't want duplicated channels

ps-hi there

The duplicated channels are only for the Japanese version. Even then its possible to go without having them.

This topic is for the NTSC-U version. You will not get duplicated channels, if your wii is bought in North America.
My wii is european (as i am).

Back then, there was a trick to avoid duplicated channels with SMG NTSC-U. It involved burning two copies of the game but it worked like a charm.

I'm hoping for something like that with this game.
 

mthegreatone

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
40
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
XodiacMt said:
QUOTE said:
hold the phone....so basically you're saying that trucha-signer is completely unnecessary in order for the game to work? if that's the case then i'm just really surprised that Nintendo didn't implement any security features like they did with SMG.

Ive never used trucha with SMG. Hmmm.... and it still works fine with my wiikey.

well the thing is that i'm almost 100% certain that i saw a thread on these boards for a tutorial on how to Trucha-sign an SMG iso in order to bypass chip detection...unless i was seeing things, but since i don't do drugs that shouldn't be the case
tongue.gif
 

XodiacMt

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
QUOTE said:
well the thing is that i'm almost 100% certain that i saw a thread on these boards for a tutorial on how to Trucha-sign an SMG iso in order to bypass chip detection...unless i was seeing things, but since i don't do drugs that shouldn't be the case
tongue.gif

I must have gotten the special un-protected version
wink.gif


Ie: Pre-sale demo version which in normal wii's (not a retail outlet demo wii) is the full game.

Or i could have gotten an allready trucha'ed version.

But lets get back to the subject shall we?

Has anyone else tried to do what Jenacis did with the NTSC-U version of SMBB?
 

XodiacMt

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
2
Country
Canada
Giga_Gaia said:
Where is the scene release? This is getting ridiculous.
The scene is probably working on it, and we should see an upload in the next couple hours.
(compressing takes a looooong time at 7-8Gb)
That or they are busy playing and enjoying the game while we commit seppuku with a broomstick.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Most women dump any man when they feel like they're no longer useful to them anyway so eh