Hacking Something strange with my O3DS with A9LH - System Menu not working

PBallWiz

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
United States
I just sold my O3DS with A9LH because it wasn't getting any love since I mostly play my N3DS.
Before I sold it I did a system format. I set up time, date,etc. upon restart and installed Freeshop so the new owner could easily check out some new titles. I even installed a couple titles to make sure all was good.
I get a text about an hour after he picked it up. Says he can't set up network settings because none of the menu buttons in System Settings function. The only thing he can click on in System Settings is the "X Close" button at the bottom.
My first thought was to run the Luma updater and try a different version but then I realized he can't since he is unable to setup WiFi.
Running Luma on Ver. 11.0.0-33E ( This is a European Console).

I am totally stumped here. I've installed A9LH on about 10 different consoles and have never ran into this before.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 

Posghetti

Un-official ReVeluv Leader
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
1,141
Trophies
0
Location
Michigan
XP
782
Country
United States
Sounds like a broken bottom screen to me, not a A9LH/Luma issue. (For future references, you can always update Luma manually via PC)
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,151
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
13,637
Country
Norway
I just sold my O3DS with A9LH because it wasn't getting any love since I mostly play my N3DS.
Before I sold it I did a system format. I set up time, date,etc. upon restart and installed Freeshop so the new owner could easily check out some new titles. I even installed a couple titles to make sure all was good.
I get a text about an hour after he picked it up. Says he can't set up network settings because none of the menu buttons in System Settings function. The only thing he can click on in System Settings is the "X Close" button at the bottom.
My first thought was to run the Luma updater and try a different version but then I realized he can't since he is unable to setup WiFi.
Running Luma on Ver. 11.0.0-33E ( This is a European Console).

I am totally stumped here. I've installed A9LH on about 10 different consoles and have never ran into this before.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
It sounds like something is messed up in NAND (missing system tickets, corrupted mset, something like that), though I have no idea how that could have happened.
Maybe setting up wifi in recovery mode would work?
Sounds like a broken bottom screen to me, not a A9LH/Luma issue. (For future references, you can always update Luma manually via PC)
I think it would be pretty obvious if it was just a broken touchscreen, cause it wouldn't work on the home menu or in games either.
 
Last edited by The Real Jdbye,

PBallWiz

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
United States
Sounds like a broken bottom screen to me, not a A9LH/Luma issue. (For future references, you can always update Luma manually via PC)
Not a hardware issue.
I should have mentioned that touch screen works for every other application. He could launch different games, change themes, etc.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

It sounds like something is messed up in NAND (missing system tickets, corrupted mset, something like that), though I have no idea how that could have happened.
Maybe setting up wifi in recovery mode would work?

I think it would be pretty obvious if it was just a broken touchscreen, cause it wouldn't work on the home menu or in games either.

I thought the same thing. I thought he might have gone into FBI and deleted some system files. I questioned him and he said he did nothing in FBI.
 

justln

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2013
Messages
718
Trophies
0
XP
604
Country
I think you should get back your 3ds from him and reflash your NAND backup, the settings probably got corrupted.
 

PBallWiz

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
82
Trophies
0
XP
341
Country
United States
Ok guys. I must apologize for wasting everyone's time.
The guy texts me this morning and tells me he's figured it out. Evidently he wasn't actually using the touch screen. He was trying to navigate the menu with the control pad and buttons and never thought about actually touching the lower screen. I just shook my head in disbelief. Wow.
Well I guess we were all noobs at one time or another.
Thanks again to all that chimed in here.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
 

ossay78

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 18, 2016
Messages
56
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
126
Country
Indonesia
Ok guys. I must apologize for wasting everyone's time.
The guy texts me this morning and tells me he's figured it out. Evidently he wasn't actually using the touch screen. He was trying to navigate the menu with the control pad and buttons and never thought about actually touching the lower screen. I just shook my head in disbelief. Wow.
Well I guess we were all noobs at one time or another.
Thanks again to all that chimed in here.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
it wasn't even a trouble. lol
 

astronautlevel

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2016
Messages
4,128
Trophies
2
Location
Maryland
Website
ataber.pw
XP
4,998
Country
United States
I always thought it was a stupid idea of Nintendo's to not allow you to use the D-pad or circle pad plus A to navigate Settings. What if your touch screen is broken? There's plenty of games that don't require the touch screen so it wouldn't be an immediate death sentence for a 3DS.
I've thought about this too, but so much of the design of the 3ds firmware is unintuitive I'm not even surprised
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    coming to the painful realization backing up my ps2's hdd to swap in a sata ssd, i need a faster more modern way to interface with old ide hard drives than using hdlgmanclient or ftp over network.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    NIC is only 10/100 right?
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    that was fast in they year 2000
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i have three network adapters 2 standard us ones with the ethernet and phone jack and one slimmer Japanese one with just a ethernet port. not sure if one would be faster than the other. i installed a sata adapter thing i got off temu for 3 dollars in the Japanese one thought, was surprised it actually works. but considering i got 18 games to go, gonna be a two day endeavor at this point.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    every time I read your username as wolfgang alchemist
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I still want to swap out the IDE board in the BBA I have for PS2, replace the aging IDE with a SATA drive as well
  • Maximumbeans @ Maximumbeans:
    Wolfgang Alchemist, now that’s a band name
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    so is dumpster donuts
  • Veho @ Veho:
    You mean his name isn't Wolfgang Alchemist? :wtf:
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    is this thing on?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    what the fuck was that about?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    I never saw this happen on this site before
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    @Veho did you see it too or not?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What was what about what?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The shitpost in the funny pics thread?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    in the mmebox thread yes, I didnt see the video the guy posted
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah that's Clancy. Guy got banned a while ago and keeps making alts and posting increasingly unhinged shit.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    i only saw the preview...ah
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    the preview picture...what's wrong with him?
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    what's his problem?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Dunno.
  • LeoTCK @ LeoTCK:
    *shrugs* most strange, really
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: @Xdqwerty, Hey