so what can cause a brick?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Magus, Dec 7, 2009.

Dec 7, 2009

so what can cause a brick? by Magus at 11:34 PM (973 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Magus
    OP

    Member Magus GBATEMP RPG MANIAC

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    according to someone i know,someone else bricked his wii by playing resorts using the homebrew channel (yes i know,you use the homebrew channel to run a loader but that's what he said so please don't kill me ^__^') and according to him i should install bootmii because i risk a brick just by having the HBC installed

    i told him that's a bunch of bullshit and that they probably bricked because they messed up with the wii firmware since resort contains a new update but this still got me a little scared and made me think... what can cause a brick? i know of

    1) installing a bad WAD
    2) messing up with the firmware
    3) disinstalling the system menu WAD? (altough i guess that can be put in 1)
     
  2. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    By playing jump-rope with your Power-Cord.* [​IMG]
     
  3. segasaturn

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Speaking of which, is that at all reversible without bootmii installed to boot2 (IOS)?
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    boot2 and IOS are 2 different things. basically messing up anything in the bootup sequince of the wii up until the system menu or messing up a file that the system menu uses on the main page can cause a brick.

    simplified version of how ninty meant it to be
    boot1->boot2->system menu IOS->system menu main screen


    how lost of people have it
    boot1->bootmii->system menu IOS->preloader->system menu main screen

    in the second choice, there is bootmii (as boot2) and preloader. both offer a way to inturrupt the sequence and run apps to fix stuff.
    banner brick is caused by having everything there just fine and dandy, but one of teh channel banners (hence the name) cant be parsed or displayed correctly by the system menu so it doesnt load.
     
  5. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    #1 cause of bricks = noobs who have no business modding wiis
     
  6. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    just an addition to your list:
    *installation of a faulty system menu theme.
    *interrupted ios installation (cioscorp; etc.).
     
  7. longtom1

    Member longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Honey Oils inc.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Installing a stubb IOS which your system menu runs on e.g. IOS60v6400 for 4.xx
     
  8. segasaturn

    Newcomer segasaturn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Heh, the (IOS) was meant to mean "I couldn't install to boot2, so I had to use the IOS"
    Sorry about that..
     

Share This Page