Hacking So, CAN a Gateway EmuNand be flashed to SysNand?

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
Just curious for the future. I keep hearing conflicting information about this and I would like to know what the reality is, for both the New 3DS and the Old 3DS's.

Perhaps someone with a hardmod could try...?
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,734
Trophies
2
Age
36
XP
7,372
Country
United States
No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
 

Aurora Wright

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
1,550
Trophies
3
XP
4,443
Country
Italy
No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Former Staff
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,237
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools

still only gets you a updated sysnand though, i think people think they can use injected cia's or somthing through the magic of emunand
 

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?

No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
Not contradicting your answer, but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.
 

Kylecito

eats warnings for breakfast
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
356
Trophies
0
XP
874
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?


Not contradicting you—if I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked the question—but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.

and why do you think you lose the exploit when you power off the console? everything GW does is patched on the fly. you will never, ever be able to boot an improperly signed image
 

Aurora Wright

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
1,550
Trophies
3
XP
4,443
Country
Italy
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?


Not contradicting you—if I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked the question—but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.
That's what I actually explained how to do. The emuNAND dump is incomplete, it lacks the proper firm0 and firm1 partitions for that version. It looks like those aren't console-unique so you can get them from someone who has a working sysNAND dump for that version and decrypted it with rxTools. Then you can inject them into your emuNAND dump with rxTools and it'll be ready for sysNAND.
 

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
and why do you think you lose the exploit when you power off the console? everything GW does is patched on the fly. you will never, ever be able to boot an improperly signed image
I know that... but that's the just it, everything Gateway does patched is patched on the fly, isn't it? If they don't actually modify the Nand, why would flashing EmuNand to SysNand not work?

To be clear, I'm not trying to find a way to launch unsigned cias on SysNand! I'd like to know if it's possible to make a modification to emunand, boot it to see if it causes a brick, and if it doesn't, flash it back to SysNand.

That's what I actually explained how to do. The emuNAND dump is incomplete, it lacks the proper firm0 and firm1 partitions for that version. It looks like those aren't console-unique so you can get them from someone who has a working sysNAND dump for that version and decrypted it with rxTools. Then you can inject them into your emuNAND dump with rxTools and it'll be ready for sysNAND.
Ah, that makes more sense now, thank you!

What if EmuNand was on a version past 9.2? Since those versions aren't exploitable, is it possible to obtain firm0 and firm1 partitions for those versions?

Edit: Wait, I see... Xorpads don't change between versions, so someone with a hardmod installed could dump xorpads under ≤9.2, update, then dump his or her Nand.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nighty night. I messed up, made a margirita but used vodka by accident, taste like shit, but can't bring myself to dump it
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Alright I'm out too, gonna go shoot some 8-ball with the old lady. Good Night all!
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    G Night
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    game night
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Today I learned that raz disposable vapes have 0.96 inch i2c oled screens in them that can be used with various mcu's. I will be getting a bunch from. My coworkers now I j
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Just need a project to use them in.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @BigOnYa watches porn on his vape
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    I made the same joke about a hour ago lol
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    Seriously co worker said he has like 20 or so of these exact vapes that are empty, I am gonna have a lot of screens and USB c ports.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Use them for meth also
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @K3Nv2, Can it run Crysis?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Holy shit I'm finally below 900 tabs open in Chrome
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    @Sicklyboy, All porn?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    >500 of it is youtube videos, so not all porn
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good lad
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i will make a tiny psp and put porn it.
  • NinStar @ NinStar:
    I totally forgot I was a stacked transsexual anthropomorphic bunny on steam
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    ...
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    what the fuck?
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    also, going to bed
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    feckin spambots
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wine and dine the spambots before you do that
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    they better pay up
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    They might have grandma's 401k
  • S @ salazarcosplay:
    how are yall doing?
    S @ salazarcosplay: how are yall doing?