Hacking So, CAN a Gateway EmuNand be flashed to SysNand?

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
Just curious for the future. I keep hearing conflicting information about this and I would like to know what the reality is, for both the New 3DS and the Old 3DS's.

Perhaps someone with a hardmod could try...?
 

Joe88

[λ]
Global Moderator
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
12,695
Trophies
1
Age
34
XP
6,735
Country
United States
No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
 

Aurora Wright

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
1,549
Trophies
2
XP
4,307
Country
Italy
No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools
 

gamesquest1

Nabnut
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
15,153
Trophies
2
XP
12,226
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools

still only gets you a updated sysnand though, i think people think they can use injected cia's or somthing through the magic of emunand
 

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
If someone provides you with working firm0/1 decrypted partitions from a sysNAND dump and you inject them in your emuNAND dump (versions must match, like: 9.0-9.2 FIRM dump + 9.0-9.2 emuNAND) it works. You can do this with rxTools
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?

No, it will just brick the system
Gateways Emunand has alot of stuff modified for it to work with the features
Not contradicting your answer, but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.
 

Kylecito

eats warnings for breakfast
Member
Joined
May 6, 2009
Messages
356
Trophies
0
XP
874
Country
Cote d'Ivoire
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?


Not contradicting you—if I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked the question—but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.

and why do you think you lose the exploit when you power off the console? everything GW does is patched on the fly. you will never, ever be able to boot an improperly signed image
 

Aurora Wright

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2006
Messages
1,549
Trophies
2
XP
4,307
Country
Italy
Not quite sure I understand, but I actually think I meant the opposite. Can an emuNAND dump be flashed back to SysNand or will it cause a brick?


Not contradicting you—if I knew the answer I wouldn't have asked the question—but this reasoning doesn't make a lot of sense. All of Gateway's features work perfectly find under SysNand if you boot into Gateway mode without an EmuNand SD card inserted. I installed SaveDataFiler to my SysNand at one point because I wanted to transfer an eShop save and was too lazy to set up EmuNand—yes, this was probably stupid, but it worked perfectly fine.
That's what I actually explained how to do. The emuNAND dump is incomplete, it lacks the proper firm0 and firm1 partitions for that version. It looks like those aren't console-unique so you can get them from someone who has a working sysNAND dump for that version and decrypted it with rxTools. Then you can inject them into your emuNAND dump with rxTools and it'll be ready for sysNAND.
 

Wowfunhappy

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
578
Trophies
0
XP
420
Country
United States
and why do you think you lose the exploit when you power off the console? everything GW does is patched on the fly. you will never, ever be able to boot an improperly signed image
I know that... but that's the just it, everything Gateway does patched is patched on the fly, isn't it? If they don't actually modify the Nand, why would flashing EmuNand to SysNand not work?

To be clear, I'm not trying to find a way to launch unsigned cias on SysNand! I'd like to know if it's possible to make a modification to emunand, boot it to see if it causes a brick, and if it doesn't, flash it back to SysNand.

That's what I actually explained how to do. The emuNAND dump is incomplete, it lacks the proper firm0 and firm1 partitions for that version. It looks like those aren't console-unique so you can get them from someone who has a working sysNAND dump for that version and decrypted it with rxTools. Then you can inject them into your emuNAND dump with rxTools and it'll be ready for sysNAND.
Ah, that makes more sense now, thank you!

What if EmuNand was on a version past 9.2? Since those versions aren't exploitable, is it possible to obtain firm0 and firm1 partitions for those versions?

Edit: Wait, I see... Xorpads don't change between versions, so someone with a hardmod installed could dump xorpads under ≤9.2, update, then dump his or her Nand.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: From his auntie's wife side