SnemulDS help

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by pilotwangs, Aug 5, 2008.

Aug 5, 2008

SnemulDS help by pilotwangs at 6:47 PM (2,117 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. pilotwangs
    OP

    Member pilotwangs GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,025
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was wondering if someone could help me in finding out a problem I have.

    I have just downloaded the latest version of SnemulDS and made a SNES folder in the root of my MicroSD,and put the ''Super Mario RPG'' rom in it.
    I loaded up the emulator and chose the rom,but all I get is a white screen.

    Have I done something wrong?
    Or does the emulator have a problem playing the rom?



    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Scathraax

    Member Scathraax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    The Super Mario RPG cart contained the Nintendo SA-1 chip. SnemulDS does not have the power to emulate this chip, sadly.
     
  3. pilotwangs
    OP

    Member pilotwangs GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,025
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Thank you.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
  5. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    tip here REMOVE YOUR 3 IN 1 or edit the INI file so it does not use the 3 IN 1 for extra ram!

    the 3 in 1 will stop roms loading or some from loading when its plugged in!
     
  6. psycoblaster

    Member psycoblaster Divine

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,132
    Location:
    Seoul.. (in Korea)
    Country:
    Korea, South
    no, it's just that this rom is incompatible with the emu
     
  7. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    the only emu that will run Super Mario RPG on Nintendo consoles are the official Virtual Console title, or SNES9x-Wii

    You can always use your PC too!
     
  8. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it was a generalised tip ... try loading some roms like donkey kong country with the 3 in 1 in it will not load ... remove it /edit the ini and it will load!
     
  9. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    kobykaan, the problem isn't the EZ... the game itself needs a specific chip set that the emulator on the DS isn't programmed for.

    The SA-1 chip is emulated in the PC and Wii version of SNES9x, but SnemulDS doesn't have the SA-1 chip emulation, so it cannot properly play the ROM, with or without the EZ.

    Yes, I agree that sometimes on certain Slot 1 cards and certain emulators, it will attempt to use a Slot 2 device as extra RAM to emulate the games properly, but SM RPG is in a class of it's own.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see kobykaan mentioning SMRPG anywhere. He was just giving a generalized tip for 3in1 users, as he is right in that some games will fail to load unless you modify the *.ini file correctly. I highly doubt he was trying to argue that SMRPG is playable with the option changed.
     
  11. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    cheers dan for backing me on this .. furthermore if you were to read other posts by me regarding SnemulDS I do state that it cannot run any games that need the FX chip as it cannot emulate the hardware!


    it also says in the second post by ZML that it cannot emulate the chip!

    I know what it can and cannot do/load ... but was merely posting information about the 3 in 1 causing issues for the benefit of other forum users that come across this thread with similar 3 in 1 type questions [​IMG]
     
  12. Jordan10la

    Member Jordan10la GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Canada
    Mario RPG is not a Virtual Console title.
     
  13. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,617
    Country:
    Sweden
    Mario RPG has been released for Virtual Console in Japan.
     
  14. kevinup91

    Newcomer kevinup91 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    Firstly, Mario RPG is an extremely long (and good) game which explains it as one of the heftiest sized SNES games, probably explaining why it needed that chip (correct?).

    Secondly, just to tell you, I have had some bad experiences with SnemulDS, one of which occurred during a freeze-up of Super Mario World which essentially bricked my MicroSD. The computer wouldn't even read it so I had to force my camera to format something it did not read [​IMG]. Thgat worked btw. So, if this ever happens to you just try that.
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    There are plenty of other 4 MB games that don't use any coprocessor chips (DKC series and Chrono Trigger among others), so I'd imagine the extra chip was more used for graphics rendering and math computation.
     
  16. ShiningSaber

    Member ShiningSaber Tiger

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Clemson, South Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe. Kirby : SuperStar I have found to do the exact same thing is SnemulDS, and I don't think it'd require extra graphics rendering.
     
  17. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page