1. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    I've been trying out the latest sMAN by deank (1.08n) and it's rock solid and runs like greased lightning. Allot better then webMAN-MOD!
    http://www.psx-place.com/threads/sm...option-improved-icon-sfo-scanning-more.12984/
    I highly recommend it!

    The latest sMAN can be downloaded below.
    http://deanbg.com/sman.sprx

    EDIT: What is sMAN (taken from PSX-Place).
    • Developer: @deank
    • Type of Release: A PS3 Plugin for use with Custom Firmware : Such as a COBRA CFW or other CFW types such as (STANDARD) with the ability to boot plugins via external applications ..
    • Short Description: the sMAN plugin takes deank original webMAN plugin and adds the new slaunch feature also developed by deank and merges them into a single plugin that also gives the ability with all the original webMAN features developed by deank.
     
    Last edited by Burnt Lasagna, Apr 3, 2017
    Seffo182 and Peninsula like this.
  2. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Just wanted to say that sMAN has seen several updates since the creation of this thread. It's now on 1.11n.

    For anyone still using webMAN, I recommend you try out sMAN. It's way more elegant and stable.
     
    Last edited by Burnt Lasagna, Mar 30, 2017
  3. JohnathanMonkey

    JohnathanMonkey GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    630
    Country:
    United States
    Interesting. I will have to break out my ps3 and try this.
     
  4. Byokugen

    Byokugen Unit_01
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,541
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Hmmm I need some info on how to use it first xD
    Will try it, thanks man!
     
  5. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Just disable webMAN-MOD in rebug toolbox (if your using Rebug).
    Download the latest sMAN here,
    http://deanbg.com/sman.sprx
    Place "sman.sprx" in "/dev_hdd0/plugins/".
    Now, edit "boot_plugins.txt" on the root of the HDD and commit out everything you don't want running with a # (personally, I only have sman.sprx running). Now, add "/dev_hdd0/plugins/sman.sprx" to the list (with no # in front).

    Reboot and sMAN will launch. You will now see a sMAN folder were your games are. With XMB integration enabled (it's on by default) everything works like webMAN. You can also enter an sMAN GUI by holding L2 and R2 (or selecting it in the sMAN folder).
     
    Last edited by Burnt Lasagna, Apr 3, 2017
    Hammyface and Byokugen like this.
  6. shadoom

    shadoom GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    Taiwan
    What's the advantage, disadvantage, difference?
     
  7. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    It's basically webMAN with slaunch with none of the extra bloat.
    For me, the plugin is allot more stable then webMAN-MOD. I've never had it crash on me.
     
  8. Byokugen

    Byokugen Unit_01
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,541
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Will try it later. Thanks, oh supports ntfs external hdd? Iso or unpacked games?
     
  9. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, supports external NTFS, ISOs and unpacked games.
     
  10. Byokugen

    Byokugen Unit_01
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,541
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    I didn't have game_plugin txt, created, put the destination and nothing
     
  11. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Woops, it should be "boot_plugins.txt" not singular plugin. Have it placed in the root of dev_hdd0 and you should be good.
     
  12. Byokugen

    Byokugen Unit_01
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,541
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Oh, stupid me! If I had my brain enabled, i would figure it... will try, thank you!
     
  13. Byokugen

    Byokugen Unit_01
    Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,541
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    One more question, whats the folder structure for iso's? Where should they be located in the external drive?
     
  14. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    Just in the PS3ISO folder on the root of the external drive (Same as webMAN and MultiMAN). Make sure you press "refresh" in the sMAN options menu to display the games.
     
    Last edited by Burnt Lasagna, Apr 5, 2017
  15. Hammyface

    Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone else have issues with PS1 games not working in sman? They worked fine for me in multiman. I just get a black screen.
     
  16. Burnt Lasagna

    OP Burnt Lasagna GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    United States
    PS1 games work fine with me on latest sMAN with newest Rebug Lite + Cobra.
     
    Hammyface likes this.
  17. Hammyface

    Hammyface GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    669
    Country:
    United States
    looks like I jumped the gun. There's a weird glitch with PS1 games where if you have 720p checked in display options in the PS3 display settings, PS1 games will crash if you try to load them on some 1080p displays.
     
    ital likes this.
  18. democracy

    democracy GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    910
    Country:
    United States
    prefer webman
     
    Last edited by democracy, Mar 5, 2018
  19. ital

    ital GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    I've noticed this too but they only appear to crash the first time you load them and you get a black screen lock up that you have to hard reset out of them rebuild the file system. After that they work every time. Having the upscale or smoothing options turned on in the menu doesn't make any difference.

    Curious bug though, can anyone link this to @deank as I don't think he's a member over here.
     
    Hammyface likes this.
  20. The1stOne

    The1stOne Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Sweden
    I just had a look at sMAN and I like it very much so far. No more going in and out of multiMAN all the time!
    I added some .iso-files for a few PS2-games (fan-made translations). The games run just fine, as they have always done (also with multiMAN).
    In the sMAN-GUI, I can also see the pictures (game_name.jpg/game_name.iso) that I added in the PS2ISO-folder alongside my games.
    But in the sMAN-menu (where it says Playstation 2, Playstation 3, etc...), all I get is a rotating arrow (like it's trying to load an icon/cover, but fails). How can I fix this?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Rocks,