Slot2 for both NDS / GBA

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by MasterRat, Feb 13, 2008.

Feb 13, 2008

Slot2 for both NDS / GBA by MasterRat at 2:56 AM (1,898 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Just got a DS but I also have a GBA SP ([​IMG]). I plan on getting the CycloDS Evolution for the DS Slot 1, but I want a slot 2 device that works for both systems, and preferable takes the same memory card (MicroSD I believe) as the CycloDS..

    Any ideas? Most supercard descriptions aren't very clear as to whether they work on both systems and I need to order sooner rather than later.
     
  2. wepoo

    Newcomer wepoo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I have an M3 Perfect Lite. It uses Micro SD cards. It also came with a GBA case (and many coloured DS Lite cases).

    Though since the GBA cart sticks out of the DS alot I used one of the numerous provided DS Lite carts. I have shaved the edges off of it with a sharp knife, poked tiny holes in the top and threaded a loop of fishing wire through. Now it sits flush in my DS Lite and sits low in my GBMicro. I use the fishing line to pull it out of the GBMicro. It's a good solution for me.
     
  3. drock360

    Member drock360 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    What is a GBS?
     
  4. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    ^ Game Boy Advance SP, like the one that flips.

    And get an EZFlash IV. Very good, although the GBA takes a little bit of time to load. [​IMG]
     
  5. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    doh. suggestions so far are sold out on realhotstuff.com - any other US vendors that have both the CycloDS Evo and the EZIV (is the 5 also ok?) or the M3 Lite?
     
  6. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Try gameyeeeah. People seem to like it there. ANd the EZF V is just an expansion pack, but you can still play GBA and NDS games on it, with NDStation or Rudolph tools.
     
  7. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    From what I can tell, the EZ Flash IV comes in two flavors, the original and the lite... the original uses a MiniSD and the Lite uses a microSD... What I'm not clear on (and this the case for many of the slot 2 cards out there) is whether or not the Lite versions (which were designed for the DS Lite) will fit in a GBA SP's slot.
     
  8. Omoikane1979

    Member Omoikane1979 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Country:
    Netherlands
    From my own 'research' on this topic I have found the EZ flash IV is one of the best, but M3 also isn't all that bad. However don't expect games that need RTC like Pokemon to work without patching.

    Anyway I hope this helps you out.
     
  9. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    EZFlash IV Lite won't fit in an SP or a Phat DS. Just the original.
     
  10. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Now I'm considering the R4 DS or the M3 DS Real over the CycloDS since Gameyeah doesn't carry the CycloDS... Was really set on the M3 DS Real, but there's a review that states it's considerably slower than the R4?? And I seem to remember people worried about the R4's spring not being particularly sturdy? Will the madness never end? :|


    Bah, I bit on the M3 DS Real and an EZ Flash IV (Not the lite, cos its for a gba) and two Kingston 2GB MicroSD Flash Card w/ 2 Adapters Model SDC/2GB-2ADP (from newegg [​IMG])

    Wish me luck!
     
  11. TheWingless

    Member TheWingless Wafuu~

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 Real's menu is slower, though I don't really know about any slowdowns in games as only my friend has it.

    The R4DS doesn't have a spring anymore. They made a new shell which comes out with all new R4s. The microSD just slides in and slides out when you pull on it. I haven't had it fall out so there shouldn't be any problems.
     
  12. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    the new r4ds are springless ?
     
  13. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
  14. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Stupid n00b question time :

    Is there *any* way to load GBA games with just the M3 DS Real and the Rumble RAM pack?? Or am I SOL on that account and *have* to get the GBA expansion pack?
     
  15. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    From my understanding, you're SOL, assuming the Rumble and GBA packs are separate devices.
     
  16. MasterRat
    OP

    Newcomer MasterRat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    they must be, as neither the M3 nor GBA Exploader will run a GBA game with the rumble ram pack in
     

Share This Page