Slot 1 SNES Emulator

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by J8son, Feb 26, 2010.

Feb 26, 2010

Slot 1 SNES Emulator by J8son at 8:57 PM (2,051 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. J8son
    OP

    Newcomer J8son Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting conflicting reports...

    What is the most compatible Slot 1 SNES emulator available? Also, do the roms have to be in a certain spot? I have tried loading roms in a couple SNES emulators but they don't appear in the list.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    SNEmulDS. Plain and simple.

    EDIT: As for ROMs, IDK, it's been a while. I thought they had to be in a "SNES" folder or something.
     
  3. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yup, SNES folder in the root of your microSD.
     
  4. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
    also if u have the extra memory pack that you get with the Nintendo Browser you can use it with SNEmulDS to get more ram = less lagg
     
  5. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Freshâ„¢

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    If you have a slot-2 Supercard, it can also be used for the same purpose.
     
  6. o0ICE0o

    Member o0ICE0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    As for how to run it, just use google.
    Tons of guides.
     
  7. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    It will only matter on games over 3MB, and those are uncommon. And it doesn't really reduce "lag" persay. In the DKC games, having no ram expansion can create extremely small amounts of skipping every couple of second. The screen will pause slightly for a microsecond. It's barely noticeable and not really worth the extra expansion if you intend to use the ram only for the emulator. Other than that, it will NOT reduce framerate or slowdowns at all. And 4MB games still load perfectly in the emulator. There's really not much use in having the thing. I used to have my 3-in-1 in my DS at all times and used it for extra memory. The card broke though and i got rid of it, only to find almost no difference in gameplay.

    And @TC-

    SNES emulation on DS is not really good at all. If you want decent handheld SNES, try PSP. Or maybe the Dingoo. Or you could get a netbook, nothing can beat PC SNES emulation. SNES on DS just was never matured enough to be truly competent IMO. Sure games are playable, some are enjoyable, but the constant graphical glitches in ALL games and having to fiddle with background settings to get them to work really kills the mood.

    If you MUST have SNES on DS, i'd recommend waiting for the Supercard DSTWO and see how its own SNES emulator functions. It is receiving a brand new one developed using the impressive specs inside the new card (DSTWO will have extra internal memory and around 400mhz CPU speed, making it faster than the DS in clock speed). We don't know how well the SNES emulator will function yet, but it's almost guaranteed to be far better than the current emulators.
     
  8. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    correct me if I'm wrong, but don't supercards work strictly on DSi's?
     
  9. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    You are as far from right as is possible
     
  10. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, yeah. I was totally thinking of the iplayer.
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    iPlayers work on other DSes too...
     
  12. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    huh. I was under the distinct impression that it was designed to utilize the (mildly) improved guts of the DSi, as well as improve it--which is why it's the only slot-1 device that can handle gba emulation...
     
  13. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, the iplayer has its own cpu. In fact the iplayer is more powerful than the DS (From what I understand). Anyway it wouldn't be able to utilise the DSi spec due to the thing not being hacked.
     
  14. choconado

    Member choconado Doesn't understand a damn thing on here

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    wow, I was pretty much backwards on my impression of the card.

    Hell, I thought it was designed partly because you couldn't use slot-2 ram boosters on the DSi in the first place.


    Chalk another one up for my potential title of "Perpetual Noob"
     
  15. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just about to point this out; all flashcarts run in DS mode at the moment, so there's nothing DSi flashcarts won't manage on older DS systems. Once DSi mode is hacked though, maybe the iPlayer processor can combine and use the 16MB of DSi RAM too, although I'm hoping a Dsi hack will lead to custom firmware of some sort.
     
  16. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,919
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was designed to play media (AVI, MP4 and more). THe GBA emulator came later, its not officialy endorsed by the iplayer team. Even without the GBA emulator its an impressive piece of kit.
     
  17. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    iPlayer is very powerful in terms of raw CPU speed, so much that it doesn't NEED the DSi's extra specs, it outperforms both DS and DSi. It has a 400mhz internal CPU, which works on top of the DS' 67mhz main processor. It's also said to have a secondary ARM CPU with around 200mhz extra according to specs. And it has like 32MB of extra memory.

    And yeah, it works on both DS and DSi. And no benefit comes from playing it on a DSi over a DS, it is locked at DS speed. You'll see no performance difference. You could say that the iPlayer was created in response to the lack of DSi hacking, to supplement the inability of being able to tap DSi's CPU and memory. That's really all the DSi is anyways- an overclocked DS with more memory. iPlayer steps that up a notch.

    And there is some speculation that the guy who made the iPlayer GBA emulator is in fact working for Supercard team. He managed to get an iPlayer development kit from "someone" according to him. No one has the devkit but him either. And now there's news that the DSTWO will be getting a GBA emulator of its own (it shares the same specs as iPlayer and iPlayer was made by Supercard anyways). If he wasn't a direct employee of Supercard, i'd guess he is now and is now developing DSTWO's GBA emulator (which i speculate to be a simply updated and improved version of iPlayer's version). Still, i think he was working with Supercard from the beginning, when they were still using iPlayer as a kind of "DSTWO public prototype".
     

Share This Page