skins not working for r4 ultra

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by zerolinks, Jan 23, 2009.

Jan 23, 2009
  1. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i bought an r4 ultra from dealextreme.com
    and the site on the box is www.r4ultra.com
    only thing is the skins dont work
    pressing select doesnt change the skin, and if i download skins from ndstheme.com they dont work either

    can someone help?
     
  2. da_head

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    wtf is a r4 ultra........?
    u shouldn't have bought a r4 clone dude
    well the best u can do is look up instructions on how to put skins on a real r4, and see if that helps
     
  3. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i know its a clone, to be perfectly honest my buddy bought it
    i use an m3 real and run sakura
    he bought it cause it was super cheap
    anyways i figured it would essentially the same thing as a real r4
    but apparently not. all the graphics look garbled and messed up
     
  4. Satirical

    Newcomer Satirical Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i lol @ noobs who buy unofficial products.

    I recommend

    R4
    CycloDS

    Screw M3.

    There is no R4-III or R4-Ultra or Anything. It's R4. That's it. Just R4.

    Also for Slot-2

    EZ-Flash 3-in-1

    Any Slot-1 Card will work as a passme.

    gawd.
     
  5. zerolinks
    OP

    Member zerolinks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    personally i dont really care if i get em working or not
    and as for the m3 comment i havent had an issue with them before
    and i use an m3 lite perfect for my slot 2 device
    i knew it was a clone but it was already to late and he went ahead and ordered another one for his girlfriend
     
  6. weaselds

    Newcomer weaselds Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    this is probably completely well know but if you download a program called gimp from cnet it is an immage editor and can convert any of the regular r4 themes to the 16 bit format needed for the r4 ultra.

    download and install gimp then download what ever theme you want. select the 4 files that make up the theme and right click on them it should have the option open with gimp. open the file then do a save as do not change the name and click ok untill you get to the window with the advanced button it. click on the 16 bit option that says x1 r5 g5 b5 and overwrite the regular one this file will work for the r4 ultra themes. should take you no more than a minute to covert the 4 bitmaps from a theme. gl [​IMG]
     
  7. kirbymania

    Newcomer kirbymania Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    i bought an r4 ultra nd love it i bought supercardone for my othr ds and tried the cheap r4 on my sons and have had no problems! it runs my games and all my dgps perfectly. im no noob ive been on the scence a few years now and if you want a cheap functioanl card i highly recommenrd the r4 ultra, i have noticed most people that have troubles with it are useing the wrong software, not the r4 ultra software. it doesnt have all the bells and whistles of the supercard one, but it does everything i want it to no problems. to change the r4 skins convert the pics to 16 bit like stated above. on the r4 card you will see like 10 themes folders. delete the contents out of theme 1 and put the theme you want in it. i havent found a way to cycle maualy so everytime you want to change themes you have to put the new one you want to use in theme one folder everytime. but hey for 6 bucks ill do it
     
  8. Valashas7

    Newcomer Valashas7 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried the above steps over and over again and it's still not working for me. Any ideas? I've even tried replacing all 12 themes with the same theme and then my theme just goes all purple with no other options for me. Help!!
     
  9. TraumaHoundNDS

    Member TraumaHoundNDS GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    According to my source the images need to be 16-bit and 96dpi. Also, as with nearly all R4 clones, the ability to manually cycle through themes is disabled. Instead, it'll change automatically at the beginning of each month (based on the system's calendar setting.
     
  10. buggers

    Newcomer buggers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    hi tried this it was very useful and every thing worked except now the color in my display is screwed up any ideas
     

Share This Page