ShowMiiWads 1.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Leathl, Nov 15, 2009.

Nov 15, 2009

ShowMiiWads 1.2 by Leathl at 10:31 PM (3,181 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    ShowMiiWads is a 'WAD File Manager' for Windows.
    It is licensed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
    The .NET-Framework 2.0 is required to run this application!
    The (Common-)Key.bin is required for full functionality (Can be created using Tools -> Create Common-Key)

    For further information or if you have suggestions, found bugs or anything else,
    visit: http://showmiiwads.googlecode.com/
    You can simply translate the application by editing the example.slang, if you
    want to have your translation included into the application, contact me..

    Download: http://code.google.com/p/showmiiwads/downloads/list
    (Please just link to this site and don't mirror the archive, thanks!)

    [​IMG]

     
  2. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice, thanks for the update
     
  3. nutta_nic

    Member nutta_nic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    cheers mate, loveing the new features
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Love this app [​IMG]

    Did you fix the arc extraction we talked about ? It doesn't say in the change log and I can't test for a while.

    The uid.sys fix will now help a lot of people who had problems with triiforce before, so thanks for that [​IMG]

    I've got another feature request (not important) but....
    Waninkokos savegame manager extracts saves from the Wii unencrypted, would you consider an importer for the saves ?

    This would make it easier for those having trouble moving saves over.

    All that would be needed is someone to select their drive (that the wanin saves were on, SD was inserted into) Then copy them to the correct folder on NAND. The folder names would also need changed slightly, but I'm sure it's easy stuff to implement.
    EG: copy from |SD:savegames>00010001########| TO |NAND:title>00010001>########|

    I also had an idea for the mii's and nand.bin files but I'll work out bugs before I ask (request should be simple imho)

    If your too busy to implement my saves idea, just ignore me [​IMG] Your app still rules [​IMG]
    If you need any help I'm just a pm away.
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    so with this i can open up an IOS wad and change its IOS slot?
     
  6. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've read a bit about wad2nand, and as far as I can tell it ONLY does the tik, and title and doesn't do the shared contents. This means that for example when using triiforce many games that require these files fail to boot.

    Does this app install the shared contents too ? Or does it only install the title + tik ?

    I've got a zillion other ideas, but I get the feeling your mouse pointer is heading towards the ignore Slimmmmmm button [​IMG]
    As always if I can help with anything, just ask.

    **BUG**

    I used the backup saves option and it only saved the banner.bin and not the actual save data.
    This was from a nand backup with ActionLoop Twist.

    Expected....
    data/banner.bin
    data/file/save.dat

    Got....
    data/banner.bin

    Also wwhen using the backup save option it backsup some other un-needed stuff.
    Maybe there should be the option for it to backup...
    -Wiiware & VC -- 00010001 folder
    -Wii Saves -- 00010000 folder
    -DLC -- (cant remember the folder as I type)
    or ALL ??

    The 2 folders
    00000001/00000002 etc and
    00010002/ etc
    are not saves, but sys settings etc. Maybe they could be under an option "backup sys settings" or something.
     
  7. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Whoops, you're absolutely right, I forgot the subfolders [​IMG] Will do that later...
    As for the unneeded stuff, you could just sort the list and select all non-system titles as a 'workaround'.
    Should be easily done when all system titles are sorted above or below everything else.
     
  8. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1 more post here (then I'll leave you alone....today)

    I've not tested the arc files, even though you said it's fixed I don't believe anyone until I've tried it myself [​IMG]

    The changing IOS slot does work, I changed a couple to try it out and all seemed cool, note I never tested for long but the slot was changed, it did install to the wii and I was able to use that IOS in an app I have with no ill efects. This might not work for all ios or all apps as I obviously only did a quick test.
    Never bricked though.

    Tried another few saves and same bug as reported above.
     
  9. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Glad to hear the slot changing works. [​IMG]
    Thanks for testing it.

    I just repacked the Archives. Redownload the app and the bug with the saves should be fixed (didn't want to make a new Version for that [​IMG])

    For sure, you're always of great help, Slimmmmmm! [​IMG]
     
  10. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry to constantly point out faults, but I know you can take constructuve criticisms. I'm sure you'd rather I get to the point about what I see as wrong and if you don't like my constant feature request etc tell me to f00k off, I can take it [​IMG]

    OK.... got another thing bugging me.

    I want to use your apps to replace about 30 apps I use just now (all linked by batch files, it's a mess)

    Repacking of VC doesn't work in both of your tools (showmiiwads & customizemii)
    Not checked why and am off to bed soon, I think it's a file size thing (md5 ?? )

    Now I KNOW your wanting to keep these apps legit and legal, and that's cool but there are many legitimate reasons of wanting to repack these wads.

    I'll figure out what the problem is in each maybe tomorrow.
    In customizemii when I try to edit a VC wad it says something about something being missing (I'll give better details if someone doesn't beat me to it)
    and in showmiiwads when I repack an edited VC is wont install on the Wii -4100 error.

    As I said, too tired to figure it out tonight, here are some legitimate reasons for wanting to edit VC wads....

    - Customise the emanual (I love doing this myself, and if I can get a system to do it easy, I'll do a guide. Most have classic control but not GC pad which you use if you dont have a CC)
    - Add other languages
    - Change the display picture (if you copy a wad and change ID*)


    * Say a game has only x amount of save files, it's good to have 2x the game each with own ID and save, but not if they look the same (other reasons too)

    blah, blah blah

    /me shuts up now [​IMG]
     
  11. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    my virus scanner won't let me view the picture [​IMG]

    but thanks for the update [​IMG]
     
  12. Kingcool

    Newcomer Kingcool Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    Sweden
    +1 Avast took it!
     
  13. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Just had a quick test repacking two VC WAD each with CustomizeMii and ShowMiiWads and all worked [​IMG]
     
  14. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hmmm

    I've no time tonight to recreate the bug. Basically I extracted the N^$ Mario 64 wad, extracted the 5app, and then the html.arc, made some changes and repacked. iir 5apps dont need md5 resigning, but tbh I can't remeber everything I did to the wad [​IMG]

    If it happens again (I'll be doing some more editing within a few days, I'll document each step exactly so you can reproduce etc) It might have been an error at my end if you don't get the problem, but I did pack the same files with other tools and it installed, I'll unpack and take a look, maybe it was due to the size (it was erm massive)

    I was looking @ wiibrew at the comments regarding your app and I'm totally shocked at how negative the comments were [​IMG] Some people need to take a chill pill [​IMG]
     
  15. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Ah, I didn't change anything at all, so I didn't get the error..
    I forgot to update the SHA1 hashes in the tmd, that's what gives you error 4100. Fixed it for the next version.
    That shouldn't occur with CustomizeMii, because it does update the hashes.
     
  16. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Leathl, I just wanted to tell u I love this program. It is by far the easiest one of its kind to use. Don't listen to any assholes on the net complaining. I hope you keep working to make this app even better, but even if u don't, I just want to be one of the few people genuinely saying thank you.
     
  17. mdmachine

    Newcomer mdmachine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome app here! [​IMG]

    Just wondering if the config auto-updates?

    On 1.1 I would always have issues with the app loading up due to missing wads that were written into the cfg. Not a major issue or anything though, and great work.
     
  18. Leathl
    OP

    Member Leathl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks [​IMG] You're the guys I'm doin all this work for.

    I think it should be fixed, I'm not sure though [​IMG]
     
  19. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep fixed in 1.2 [​IMG]
     
  20. Rion

    Newcomer Rion Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Sweden
    Request

    Ability to select all Wads and only extract the Banner "VCpic" for the wad and automatically named to Title ID.
    Why? Well to use with Triiforce MRC [​IMG]
     

Share This Page