GundamXXX

Ergo Ego
OP
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Im just wondering what the general feel is about this question.

Ive been working in several companies where we had new managers who were young, 20-25, and alot of the older employees were pissed that they had to take orders someone half their age.

Now I dont see an issue myself as Im a young manager myself having run a youth hostel at the age of 23 where most of the backpackers were over that age and some locals twice my age and they had to take orders from me.
Most of them didnt mind and the ones that did didnt show it to me.

But my moms friends and all are really pissed of that a 'greenie' is made manager before them etc etc

I also know on my current workfloor when they needed new teamleaders alot of people feel passed over when my employer brings in totally new staff from the outside, when some of the inhouse applicants are working there for several years and have loads of experience in the job but arent good enough appearantly.

In my opinion neither age nor experience comes before skill and if a 25 yo is better at a leading a department then a 40 yo who knows all the ins and outs and has been working there for 20 years, then the 25 yo deserves the job.

Please vote and elaborate and dont feel shy to share personal experiences

Guild McCommunist

(not on boat)
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Doesn't exactly seem like EoF worthy to me, but whatever.

Older people don't have more experience a lot of the time. The world is changing rapidly. Stuff that older people were masters of even a decade ago are now obsolete and useless. When you're younger you grow up to learn how to change and to go with the flow of change. It's just evolution. I'm not gonna bother hiring the 50 year old sales manager who was a master of sales "back in the day" compared to the young hot shot who knows the ropes of sales today.

It's not exactly ageism but it's just the way people are grown.

Monkee3000

Trophies
XP
Country