Tutorial  Updated

Setting up Android with EmuMMC + bigger FAT32 partition.

As the title says, here's the video; I'll do a write up later since it's a long process.



This is not possible in windows 10 due to the GPT Hybrid MBR trickery used, the android image already does this when it writes the partition tables and etc.

Don't do this in windows nor attempt it, it's not going to happen unless there's something you can use to mess with partitions like I did, L4T-Ubuntu also won't work due to the partition stuff and etc, I'm currently making something to allow this without any complications, please be patient!

Watch the entire video and you'll understand more about this, if you make simple errors from not watching the video I will simply tell you to properly watch again and listen!
TOOL ETA: Don't ask, it's a complicated tool that needs a lot of maths, safety features and etc
TOOL SO FAR:
EBa_eq9XUAMnNN5

Tool functions: Android, Custom Android user data, 8GB Android install, Ubuntu, Ubuntu Swap, EmuMMC and Lakka dynamic setup.
Planned functions: Multi EmuMMC setup, EmuMMC Backup & restore(including Nintendo folder) + More unique management stuff!


UPDATE: I'm currently setting aside the tool until I finish making & releasing my new modchip
 
Last edited by TariqSoftDev,

tabzer

This place is a meme.
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
5,844
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,911
Country
Japan
ah yes i remember in intial version boot.scr were located in sd root (hos_data in this case) thanks now i understand :)
btw do you think its theoretically possible to put ubuntu into an bootable image files on hos_data instead of an partition (like lakka)?


This is confusing to me. What do you mean?
 

tabzer

This place is a meme.
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
5,844
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,911
Country
Japan
sorry,
i mean that lakka does not need an own partition and if it would be possible to compile ubuntu the same way?

"Linux relies on a number of filesystem features that simply are not supported by FAT or NTFS -- Unix-style ownership and permissions, symbolic links, etc. Thus, Linux can't be installed to either FAT or NTFS. (It used to be possible to do this using a FAT driver that adds those features, but it was removed from the kernel years ago because nobody was maintaining it.)"

source: https://superuser.com/questions/782849/can-ubuntu-linux-be-installed-on-fat32-or-ntfs
 

Andalitez

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2018
Messages
507
Trophies
0
Location
Final Space
XP
1,299
Country
United States
I'll be watching the guide soon.
I just want to know,will this allow me to use Android + have a FAT32 partition avail for HOS? I use the file based SX OS emunand which is 5GB in size, so all i actually need is for that to boot correctly
Perhaps I can leave out the EmuMMC parts?

TL ; DR i would like my SD like this = [Android Stuff here] + [FAT32 accessible by HOS here because i have 5GB file based emunand] is that possible?
 
Last edited by Andalitez,

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,798
Trophies
1
Age
44
XP
6,562
Country
Germany
Currently we do not have an emunand solution. This setup relies on emummc.
Basically emuNAND and emuMMC are the same things.
What you meant is: Currently it's working for m4xw's implementation while it does not for SX OS's one.
 

tabzer

This place is a meme.
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
5,844
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,911
Country
Japan
Basically emuNAND and emuMMC are the same things.
What you meant is: Currently it's working for m4xw's implementation while it does not for SX OS's one.

Those are the names that the developers chose for their respective implementations. I wasn't trying to be basic.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Andalitez already demonstrated understanding that emummc and emunand are different.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
Basically emuNAND and emuMMC are the same things.
What you meant is: Currently it's working for m4xw's implementation while it does not for SX OS's one.
Mind doing a test for me? , create a SX OS EmuNand and find the exact sector it starts at; not the hex offset for it, also if you want to help me do some testing on this stuff; PM me.
 

jan2705

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
77
Country
Germany
"Linux relies on a number of filesystem features that simply are not supported by FAT or NTFS -- Unix-style ownership and permissions, symbolic links, etc. Thus, Linux can't be installed to either FAT or NTFS. (It used to be possible to do this using a FAT driver that adds those features, but it was removed from the kernel years ago because nobody was maintaining it.)"

source: https://superuser.com/questions/782849/can-ubuntu-linux-be-installed-on-fat32-or-ntfs

Yes i know but lakka is Linux too :o
 
Last edited by jan2705,

tman708

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
38
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
1,347
Country
United States
Mind doing a test for me? , create a SX OS EmuNand and find the exact sector it starts at; not the hex offset for it, also if you want to help me do some testing on this stuff; PM me.
I might be able to help with testing for this also if you need it. Im very new with partitioning and stuff though so you'd have to walk me through a bit but if you need extra help just let me know!!
 

SkyDX

Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
614
Trophies
1
XP
1,744
Country
Germany
Thanks for the tutorial! Just to clarify, if I follow this and adjust where needed I can have a single 128gb microSD with 64gb for Android and 64gb FAT32 for my normal, untouched Switch OS?
 
  • Like
Reactions: TariqSoftDev

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
Thanks for the tutorial! Just to clarify, if I follow this and adjust where needed I can have a single 128gb microSD with 64gb for Android and 64gb FAT32 for my normal, untouched Switch OS?
Doesn't work like so, a 128GB MicroSD will have less than 120GB(118GB or so), android userdata needs to be set right but you can set your FAT32 to 64GB and then write the android stuff, expanding the user data to the remainder
 
  • Like
Reactions: lordelan

SkyDX

Anime Signature Creator, PM me if you want one! :)
Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
614
Trophies
1
XP
1,744
Country
Germany
Doesn't work like so, a 128GB MicroSD will have less than 120GB(118GB or so), android userdata needs to be set right but you can set your FAT32 to 64GB and then write the android stuff, expanding the user data to the remainder

Yeah I should have worded that differently, I know space doesn't work like that, what I meant was "Can I use half of the SD-card for Android and the other half for Horizon?" :P But so I take it it works! I'm not sure if I'll do it yet because while I watched 20 minutes of your tutorial I'm sure I could get it working but all the calculations went a bit over my head and I would have to setup a Linux VM again first which is a bit tedious with USB pass-through and all that :P
 

tabzer

This place is a meme.
Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
5,844
Trophies
1
Age
39
XP
4,911
Country
Japan
peazip ? I used 7zip :D
I had to update my 7zip because it was too old, but now it's working.
LOL. I was smart enough to extract "android-16gb.img" with 7zip, but somehow concluded that I couldn't go the extra step. I wasted a lot of time.
 

TariqSoftDev

~Zexceil
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
716
Trophies
1
Location
London
XP
1,018
Country
Yeah I should have worded that differently, I know space doesn't work like that, what I meant was "Can I use half of the SD-card for Android and the other half for Horizon?" :P But so I take it it works! I'm not sure if I'll do it yet because while I watched 20 minutes of your tutorial I'm sure I could get it working but all the calculations went a bit over my head and I would have to setup a Linux VM again first which is a bit tedious with USB pass-through and all that :P

I'm nearly done with the tool so once it's finished you don't really need to make any calculations.

EBa_eq9XUAMnNN5
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    Do I restart now using what i've learned on the EU version since it's a better overall experience? or do I continue with the US version since that is what ive been using, and if someone decides to play my hack, it would most likely be that version?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    @TwoSpikedHands, I'll preface this with the fact that I know nothing about the game, but, I think it depends on what your goals are. Are you trying to make a definitive version of the game? You may want to refocus your efforts on the EU version then. Or, are you trying to make a better US version? In which case, the only way to make a better US version is to keep on plugging away at that one ;)
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I'm not familiar with the technicalities of the differences between the two versions, but I'm wondering if at least some of those differences are things that you could port over to the US version in your patch without having to include copyrighted assets from the EU version
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    never had that i don't think
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea?
    trying to restore emunand rn but it's taking ages... (also when I finished the first time hekate decided to delete all my fucking files :wacko:)
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Karma177 that sd card is 100% faulty so yes, its a bad idea
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    even the slowest non-sdhc sd cards are a few MB/s
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    @The Real Jdbye it hasn't given me any error trying to write things on it so I don't really think it's faulty (pasted 40/50gb+ folders and no write errors)
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    run h2testw on it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    when SD cards/microSD write speeds drop below a meg a sec, they're usually on the verge of dying
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Samsung SD format can sometimes fix them too
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    yes looks like an faulty sd
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    @Psionic Roshambo i may try that with my dead sd cards
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's always worth a shot
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @The Real Jdbye, I considered that, but i'll have to wait until i can get the eu version in the mail lol
    TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands: @The Real Jdbye, I considered that, but i'll have to wait until i can get the eu version in the...