Hacking Semi-Bricked?

Dodi

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
I think I might have bricked my wii...
After I installed 2 WADs I was taken back to the Wii Menu to find that annoying message saying I have ran out of space, and I needed to remove some things.
So I clicked OK to find that my Wii freezes, and shows a black screen.
I thought I might have installed it wrong or something, so I loaded up PreLoader, then WadManager and removed the WADs.
But although the Wii Menu is ok now (as the message doesn't show) whenever I click the Options thing in the bottom-left it freezes again.

Have I bricked it?
frown.gif

Thanks
 

Phratt

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
541
Trophies
0
XP
151
Country
United States
Umm, I'd assume so. The Wads probably were from another region.

You can just continue on as IMO its not that bad not being able to goto the options or you could just reinstall another system menu, through either ARC or wad manager.
 

djtaz

PM's Full - Wadder Me
Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2008
Messages
2,997
Trophies
0
Age
50
Website
Visit site
XP
91
Country
if you have the wad manager installed and if you can get to homebrew , just go into that and press minus to uninstall any wads you installed earlier - should solve your issues.
 

Dodi

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
I don't have any orginals. Unless do you mean dump my NAND?
Would it save my Wii if I update it to 3.4, then downgrade again?

Thanks for the help
smile.gif


Posts merged

djtaz said:
if you have the wad manager installed and if you can get to homebrew , just go into that and press minus to uninstall any wads you installed earlier - should solve your issues.
I tried that. No luck.
Unless it has nothing to do with the WADs and has something to do with installing PreLoader earlier.
Could it be that?
 

Dodi

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
Ahhh, all is well once again.
I updated to 3.4 and now I plan to downgrade again
tongue.gif


Thanks every1 for the help!
 

Phratt

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2008
Messages
541
Trophies
0
XP
151
Country
United States
Great news!

Though, I think what happened was, You installed a wad from another region but didn't notice it until you installed the aforementioned wads. You thought those wads were the cause and deleted them but to no avail.

You should have tried uninstalling ALL the wads.

Just for future advice
wink2.gif
(unless they are cIOS corp wads or system menu wads.)
 

Dodi

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2008
Messages
243
Trophies
0
XP
255
Country
Thanks for the advice.
They were VC Wads not anything like that.
I just had a thought. Could I just have gone into AnyRegionChanger M5 and installed the menu, instead of updating and downgrading?
Wouldn't that have just overwrited my System Menu?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Sonic Angel Knight, Bet it made him high as a kite
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    got midi to run on VLC
    +2
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    ♫ We al live in a Flex Seal Submarine A Flex Seal Submarine, a flex seal submarine ♫
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Looks like Eagles Wii be in Superbowl this year
    +1
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [sends Washington after them]
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    girls kiss other girls and nobody bats an eye, BUT WHENI KISS MY HOMIES GOODNIGHT IM NOW GAY
    +1
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    double standers

    are a bitch
    +2
  • C @ ch13696:
    Did you make sure to have socks on before kissing them goodnight?
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    The Core i9 seems like a nice CPU
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    need 32 gigs for Blender and shit like that
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    also dual wielding 580's are pretty nice for several games and blender
  • sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic:
    Hi Catboy
    +1
  • The Catboy @ The Catboy:
    Hey hey~
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Jesus super bowl tickets are like 5 grand this year
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    Imagine if they didn't sell.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who would pay Rhianna then
  • D @ Danali:
    hi, does someone know how to get the kernel update? for NDS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There is no kernel update for DS
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    There might be kernel updates for various DS flash carts
  • captainbob321 @ captainbob321:
    what is a kernel update? and what is it for?
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    In which case find either the website or suitable download section and hopefully it is there
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    *website for the flash cart in question
    FAST6191 @ FAST6191: *website for the flash cart in question