SCDS-1 L+B launch slot2 white screens

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Searinox, Jul 21, 2008.

Jul 21, 2008
  1. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Everytime I try to launch slot2 with L+B from SC's OS I get two white screens. If I go into ExpLoader I can properly launch it from there. I tried with both the EZflash and an original pokemon LG cartridge, it can't launch either. Any advice? Also, I cannot find the GBA Union option in the global.ini, do I have to enable it every single time? I tried enabling it before pressing L+B, again to no avail. I'm very disappointed with the OS.
     
  2. Eon-Rider

    Member Eon-Rider GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,021
    Country:
    Australia
    I asked this question a while ago. Try R+B. [​IMG]
     
  3. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    ...forget it. I'm replacing the OS with the DSTT. I just discovered that it doesn't read my savegames on some games like the Ace Attorney series and Final Fantasy series because they start with the same names and it can't work out its dumb ~1 ~2 ~3 abbreviations. GOODBYE SCOSPOS!

    Also, Bliss' site is down, where can I get the hacked DSTT menu? >.=.> I can't have one thing go right today.
     
  4. crappi3pappy

    Newcomer crappi3pappy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    L+B is to launch slot-2 in DS mode, so ez3in1 or other gba carts are not going to work with it. It's for SC-slot2, m3-slot2 ez4-slot2 ect which are ds mode capable.

    As for saves, name them the same as the rom but also change the .sav extension to .SAV.

    Get Y's OS by Yasu from http://www.usay.jp/

    first goto the 'ETC' section, on that page hit the 'nintenods' link, then on that page scroll down about 2/3rds and find the 'DS(T_T)DS' section, here you'll find links to download the latest yasu software.
     
  5. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    OMG that is so FAIL! It has no menu for booting slot2 GBA. Anyway I'm over and through with SCOS. I installed DSTT and it doesn't lag the Castlevania intro, it feels a hell of a lot faster plus it doesn't misread savefiles for games which start with the same names. A bit annoying that you can't browse by folder yes but really what else do you access via firmware other than NDS files? For media or editing ya just use DSO or MoonShell. One very odd surprise is that Ninja Gaiden Dragon Sword, for some reason, takes a full 15 seconds to boot, as opposite to 2-3 seconds that every other game takes. I've lost RTS but I'm not really mad about the feature, and I'm surprised DMA is still there. o.=.O; It also boots GBA properly even if it has no fancy border, and the menu is harder to access. Another pleasant surprise was compatibility with SC saves, so I don't have to convert em back all over again, plus they're smaller. DSTT menu is true win.

    EDIT: Is 1.07 the latest hacked DSTT?
     
  6. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    That's why you keep the NUMBERS in the name, there's a big difference between 100 - Ac~1.SAV and 101 - Ac~1.SAV

    Oh, and by the way, as long as it's CAPITALIZED you can use the full name, for example you can use 100 - Ace Attorney.SAV (SAV needs to be all caps).
     
  7. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    That's dumb. Really dumb. I switched to the DSTT menu and it didn't ask me to do anything. Castlevanias work LIKE A CHARM on a mediocre 2GB microSD which has so far in PoR frozen on the R4, AK2, and SCDS-1 menu but not once on DSTT. So tell me is there really any reason why I'd want SC's menu aside from RTS and game guide?

    EDIT: Been reading a little about YSmenu. Have they worked out download play yet?
     
  8. lurbi

    Member lurbi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    I have never had any problems with reading saves with SCDS1.
    Copied over my old saves, and it worked out of the box.
    If you start games first with YSMENU or DSTT, you can afterwards use all 3 menus.
    (or you can manually rename to game.SAV)

    One google search would have let you find this:
    http://bliss.hanirc.org/blog/
    just checked ... scds multiloader is still there
     
  9. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    A very odd thing I found out is that starting slot2 from the DSTT menu gives a SLIGHT visual lag, as in frameskip, everywhere, even in the GBA logo. It's there, you can feel it breaking up the fluidity of screen movement, and is most noticeable with very rapidly blinking characters(such as when getting hit and becoming invincible for one second), they either don't blink at all or completly disappear offscreen for the blink duration depending on how the frames are synchronized with the skip.
     
  10. crappi3pappy

    Newcomer crappi3pappy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States

    Keep a look out for something called ?gbaboot.nds?, you can fire it up from any slot-1 to boot to gba mode, from other users comments it sounds like it does the job well.
     
  11. lurbi

    Member lurbi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    reagrding save ... I have stated that already.
    (nearly all current carts use the same save format!)

    regarding DSTT
    you do not need a hacked version.

    Get the bliss tripple loader (see other post from me), and follow the instructions.
    You can use the latest DSTT menu (with all fixes) and you are able to decide at boottime which of the 3 menus you want.

    PS: IMHO DSTT is the worst ... take a look at ysmenu if scds menu is too slow for you.
     
  12. Searinox
    OP

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    YS doesn't do download play. Anyone know a SLOT-2 booting .NDS file which supports frames?
     

Share This Page