Homebrew Saturn emulation using Cotton/Guardian Force testing and debug

chobochobo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
133
Country
Hong Kong
So I've ended up installing everything - Atmosphere, sys-clk and cotton tribute. I erased my sd card and started again with the most current Atmosphere, and updated the firmware to the highest supported (which happens to be the current). I even re-initialized the Switch to really start from zero.

There was a frustrating few hours when I was trying and trying to get one other nsp that happened to be in directory to install. It would install but I would get a 'you need the software to play the game' error. Eventually I concluded that it happened to be that one game as Cotton tribute does install and play. However I've tried to put Baku Baku animal in there but after repeated tries I'm still getting the 'Error Code 2002-0001' which is what I got before and solved with making sure that the cue file/ bin files were correctly named. But nothing's working at the moment. Before I carry on, can anyone using the latest firmware (13.2.1) confirm that this Cotton 2 hack still works please? Cheers.
 

chobochobo

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
16
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
133
Country
Hong Kong
OK, update. It seems again to be related to the case - very strictly. I was baku.BIN in the cue file but the rom itself was baku.bin. That was even to incur the error. After altering the cue again to baku.bin, all was well. I even got sys-clk going again, and so far by experimentation I can get the music to play properly by increasing CPU to 1224 and leaving GPU and Memory as they were. Phew. Now to install retroarch and Mr Driller DC and I'm happy again.
 

helvetinperkeles

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
122
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
238
Country
Finland
Okay so i'm trying to make Bug! game but everytime i try to make injection i get an error occured during cue file analyse error and i can't get past that. I have the latest updated version of hack script in use and i have tested other file sources and usa and europe files also but everytime same thing happens. Is there a way to get past this?
 

Attachments

  • 20220128_152736.jpg
    20220128_152736.jpg
    1,001.6 KB · Views: 32

qlip

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 16, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
70
Country
United Kingdom
Two questions. How can I move the memory card between nsps? How can I swap discs when necessary in multi disc games? For reference I created individual nsps for each disc
 

Thorhax

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
303
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
966
Country
Canada
The input lag update is out! I'll download it after getting home but hope it does make the games a lot smoother!
Wouldn't the hack script need to be updated to support the update?
And from what I know this project has been abandon.
 

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
844
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
2,525
Country
United States
Can't source the upd to mess around with it

Considering this thread has more posts after I formally stopped looking, that's not a good indication of how active it is
 

zenjiki

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
83
Trophies
0
XP
1,032
Country
United States
I updated my cotton 1, and now it doesn't work. It loads the screens before the title screen successfully but error message before title screen :sad:
 

juins

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2003
Messages
511
Trophies
0
XP
966
Country
Ive also been looking for the update to run some tests on my end. Just found out about all this and got SOTN english patched running thru the collection.

btw, Is there a way to have multiple games set up or does it have to be set up every time u want a different game?
 

Dani S

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Nov 5, 2015
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
117
Country
Canada
Update is available on jits... search for TitleID 0100094014BE4000 for the Cotton/Guardian Collection. I haven't been able to extract the nsp file though.
 
Last edited by Dani S,

lisreal2401

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
844
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
2,525
Country
United States
Some stuff I gathered - haven't dug into executable, but a few things I noticed

Cue file is different - it seems a bit strange the offsets are entirely different for the same game... but

The ROM file for Boomerang is different - I'm not sure if this is purely out of optimization though the game is effectively 2mb smaller

I never decrypted the ini file, it's not impossible things were changed here

Pretty much all the primary stuff - cue sheet, game file, config and main are all changed. Going to see if I can make anything from poking the memory - the structure is functionally the same, it's difficult to get a single factor for what is going on
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Veho @ Veho: I think it's $8 here now? Maybe.