running 'opera' on nds

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by noob2009, Jan 21, 2008.

Jan 21, 2008

running 'opera' on nds by noob2009 at 3:38 AM (1,033 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. noob2009
    OP

    Newcomer noob2009 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    im new to this stuff..question is:

    wat flash cart do i need to buy in order to run the nintendo opera browser?
    wat brand/flash cart is teh best to run opera?

    i hav R4 only

    EDIT: is this wat am i suppose to buy to maek opera work? a "GBA Expansion pack (From M3 Real pack)"? c below link for more info

    Code:
    http://www.ozmodchips.com/gba-expansion-pack-from-m3-real-pack-p-101.html
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 Real expansion won't work with slot-1 devices other than the M3 DS Real, if I understand it correctly.

    What you want is either the EZ-V 3in1 expansion pack or the Ewin expansion pack. Those will provide the necessary RAM needed for the Opera browser to run.
     
  3. noob2009
    OP

    Newcomer noob2009 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
     
  4. myuusmeow

    Member myuusmeow GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    United States
    The middle one is not it, but the top and bottom one are. (EZ Flash 4 is not what you want)

    Get the first one if you have the DS Phat, get the last one if you have a Lite.

    Don't be disappointed when you see how slow Opera is on the DS though. I use my 3-in-1 only for GBA games in Rumble.
     
  5. Wuschmaster

    Member Wuschmaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    United States
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The Opera Browser is slow yes, but it renders pages more accurately than any other standalone DS web browser (DSHobro is accurate but requires a PC server). Also, since it's a commercial product it will connect to more wireless APs than homebrew apps will. Honestly the main reason I bought it was so that I could connect to my school's wireless network, which has its SSID hidden. Homebrew can't connect if the SSID is not broadcasted, so only the Opera browser worked.

    It's also fastest if you browse in SSR mode with images disabled, and then change modes if needed for specific pages.
     
  7. noob2009
    OP

    Newcomer noob2009 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States

    ahh cool thx

    1 more question

    can u use the EZ-V 3in1 expansion pack with the R4?
     

Share This Page