ROMs that have problems with R4 DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by montgoej, Apr 7, 2009.

Apr 7, 2009
  1. montgoej
    OP

    Newcomer montgoej Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    What ROMs do you have that have so far unresolved issues with R4DS? I've heard that Pokemon Platinum has problems(I haven't tested yet but will be soon) and I had problems at first with Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles: Echoes of Time however after patching with DSATM it loads fine with R4DS Firmware 1.18(however now it doesn't load correctly in YSMENU...go figure).

    EDIT: 3541 Pokemon Platinum(U) works with R4DS Firmware 1.18 after patching FW with Yasu's R4Custom(although the Firmware's now in another language...)
     
  2. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,133
    Country:
    United States
    Many games won't work w/o doing an ARM7 fix on them due to the very old on the fly patching that was in the last official R4 loader. YSMENU is much better at patching since it is updated whenever the need arises to fix new games.

    I haven't tested YSMENU with DSATM patched games but I am guessing that the default area of RAM that the function gets copied to is being used by YSMENU. I would suggest going into the advanced mode by clicking the button with a cracker, changing the RAM address to 0x2000000, and autopatching.
     
  3. dark42

    Member dark42 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Just get a real flashcard. R4 is long dead. Acekard 2i is what, $18 on DX?
     
  4. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    Why buying an "i" card?

    He never said he had a DSi.

    AK2 is $11.39 on DX. I bought one a few days ago. [​IMG]
     
  5. montgoej
    OP

    Newcomer montgoej Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just trying to get as much use out of my old R4 as possible being that quite a few of my friends ave them too. I may buy another card for personal use sometime soon, but I'll still probably keep the R4 to help them out with things. Also, I've been playing Pokemon Platinum or quite a while now, still working fine with that patched firmware [​IMG]
     
  6. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,082
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I am aware, the only two games that cannot be made to work on the R4 are Star Wars Clone Wars: Jedi Alliance and some obscure little puzzle game called Tropix. But to be fair, these games are problematic on other cards too.

    Apart from those every other game on the DS works fine providing you use the latest YSMenu and the occasional cheat code to disable piracy checks. You can even have 1Mb save files for Pokemon Platinum.
     
  7. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    ..and a few other games.
     

Share This Page