1. zacly

    zacly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    That's too bad. Worked way better in RetroNX. It just recognized if you had the joycons off the switch and triggered the setting.
     
  2. gbazone

    gbazone GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    Has anyone compiled Reicast for Libnx yet?
     
  3. zerohealinzz

    zerohealinzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for the reply, even when enabled it wont fast forward (checked controls aswell). i am probably doing something wrong, although i never had to change settings for the NRO lol. I guess i will keep using the NRO version then.
     
  4. viper3344

    viper3344 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    yeah so that one just crashes right at start after install. Does it not work with SX Pro?
     
  5. m4xw

    m4xw Ancient Deity
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2,416
    Country:
    Germany
    It didnt work better, I know that because I coded it.
    Dont forget u only could change the setting on PC.
    On initial load it would set them accordingly.
     
    Last edited by m4xw, Oct 8, 2018
  6. Illuminaticy

    Illuminaticy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Did you bind a button to fast forward under "Input hotkey binds"?
     
    zerohealinzz likes this.
  7. m4xw

    m4xw Ancient Deity
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2,416
    Country:
    Germany
    Actually, the behaviour is the same..
    Set the option and remove the joycons, is exactly what I am saying lol
     
    cYcLoNe_AUT likes this.
  8. zacly

    zacly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    Ya but once you changed the setting (on pc) it stayed set. It was so much better! All you had to do to play local multiplayer was pull the joycons off the system. Didnt want to play multiplayer anymore? Jusy pop them back on. The only problem before was to select a new game you needed to put the joycons back on, The way it is in RetroArch, you have to set every single time (settings aren't saved upon loading a Rom or upon exit). I don't see that as being better and I'm struggling to see how you think it's better. Is there a way to easily implement how joy-cons were handled in RetroNX in RetroArch?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It's not at all the same. You set the option to on, you load a game and it reverts back to off! You then need to go back into the menu and turn it back on. Also when you exit RetroArch the setting gets set back to off! How is that better or is mine just bugged?
     
  9. m4xw

    m4xw Ancient Deity
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2,416
    Country:
    Germany
    Nothing has changed, it just doesn't save the setting because - lets be honest - users would cry all the time because they left it on.
    You switch the setting on, unplug the joycons -> split, reconnect them -> the automatically unsplit.
    The only difference that is that u set the settings after restarting the program.
    Well I will consider saving the value.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Well thats right, because loading a Game will cause the application to close and open with the ROM again.
    Yea... thats a thing I didn't consider. I will make it save.
     
    zacly likes this.
  10. zacly

    zacly Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Canada
    Save permanently? That would be awesome!
     
  11. zerohealinzz

    zerohealinzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well rip my eyes, checked most settings but looked over that one for some reason.

    Thank you :) works now!
     
  12. Illuminaticy

    Illuminaticy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Haha! Glad I could help :)
     
    zerohealinzz likes this.
  13. Illuminaticy

    Illuminaticy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone tested RetroArch with SXOS 2.1? I want to mess with their cheats but want RetroArch more
     
  14. zerohealinzz

    zerohealinzz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    210
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So far it works for me, no issues.
     
    Illuminaticy likes this.
  15. Lethal_NFS

    Lethal_NFS Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    Works fine. You can also test yourself. Replacing the boot file is extremely simple if you wish to go back to 1.9 or vice versa.
     
    Illuminaticy likes this.
  16. Illuminaticy

    Illuminaticy GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome, thanks!

    I know, at work and saw 2.1 released and wanted to see if anyone had tried before I get home. Thank you
     
  17. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner The Edge of the Soul
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,378
    Country:
    United States
    If it's any helpful indicator, you need to turn on a handicap to get Tekken 3 to run at not-quite full speed.

    Otherwise, anything like the Final Fantasy games, every Resident Evil not named Survivor, The Legend of Dragoon, and anything that uses more prerendered 3D than actual, real-time 3D should run OK. I haven't really tested it for too long as I just NOW updated to this version of Retroarch after using RetroNX 0.98 or something like that.
     
  18. Billy Acuña

    Billy Acuña GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,120
    Country:
    Mexico
    I did test split joycons yesterdey, they work well except for the 2nd player not having the Start button mapped.
     
  19. Silent_Gunner

    Silent_Gunner The Edge of the Soul
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,378
    Country:
    United States
    Dude, we aren't even seeing full speeds for PS1 or the N64 yet (let alone the Saturn, a whole other can of worms) on a consistent basis. I'm excited for potential Dreamcast support as well, don't get me wrong, but you got to be realistic with developments like these. I wouldn't be surprised if some games even had trouble running on Reicast even after optimizations *cough* Shenmue 1&2 *cough*.
     
  20. ShadowOne333

    OP ShadowOne333 QVID PRO QVO
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    10,380
    Country:
    Mexico
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch, Switch,