Remod wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Slay3r227, Jun 25, 2013.

  1. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Hi i want to remove my softmod completely and go back to normal standerd wii then remod it how do i go about doing that
     
  2. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,842
    5,007
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    If you have BootMii as boot2 you can use Ohneschwanzenegger to make a vanilla NAND and restore it with BootMii. This is the only way to get a 100% vanilla NAND. You can technically restore it using BootMii IOS as well, but it's not recommended since you'll end up with a brick if anything goes wrong.
    However, if you just want to make sure your softmod is up to date, you can just use ModMii to re-mod it.

    The next best way to get rid of all softmods is to simply uninstall every cIOS, cMIOS, homebrew/pirated channel, and reinstall any IOS you may have patched (use sysCheck to find out which ones), as well as deleting any exploited saves (and bannerbomb/letterbomb), and anything else you can think of that was modified. A system format will not get rid of them.
    If you have a modded system menu (themes, etc.) or Priiloader then simply reinstalling the system menu WAD of the same version will get rid of that, but Priiloader will have some left over files unless you use the original installer to uninstall it.

    If your Wii is not on 4.3 yet, updating it to that with the official update method will remove a lot of your softmod files, but not all of them.
     
  3. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Global Moderator
    5,712
    4,674
    Jul 15, 2009
    United States
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]

    I would highly suggest the average user does not follow those bolded instructions. One wrong thing uninstalled or installed has the possibility to render the system completely inoperable provided they don't have BootMii@boot2.

    OP, don't worry about restoring your Wii back to its original state just to mod it again. Use the Windows program ModMii from modmii.zzl.org to download all necessary files for your Wii and it will create a guide to walk you through the installation. When it asks you if your Wii is modded or not, reply that it has not been modded (aka virgin) to ensure that everything that needs to be updated is updated.
     
  4. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Cause what happens is when I go into a channel it just jumps between channels on its own
     
  5. Sicklyboy

    Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Global Moderator
    5,712
    4,674
    Jul 15, 2009
    United States
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    That sounds more like a faulty remote(s) than anything, but you could still always rule out the possibility of a bad softmod by just remodding it with ModMii. No need to unmod it first as you are liable to run into unnecessary complications during the process.
     
  6. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    I did run a remod it looked as if it was fine but then it started acting up again
     
  7. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Its
     
  8. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,842
    5,007
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    There are indeed risks involved with that. But as long as you make sure to only reinstall clean IOS wads, and make sure to install the same version and region of the system menu (and only do that if needed) it should be relatively safe. My guide is far from noob-proof though, I don't have the patience to describe each step in detail, but I'm sure there are guides floating around on google.

    That suggestion was just a last resort if the other two aren't an option. I guess I should've made that clearer.

    Does the same thing happen in USB Loader GX' banner display mode? It behaves the same way as the Wii Menu so if it works fine in USB Loader GX, that should rule out any faulty remote issues.

    This might not be the best solution, but you can set USB Loader GX to autoboot with Priiloader and you'll be able to launch channels, games and homebrew from it, as well as it looking/behaving the same way as the system menu (if you use banner view). The only thing it can't do is view the Wii message board or modify system settings, but it's easy enough to exit to the system menu when you want to use those features (which shouldn't be often, especially as the Wii Message Board will soon no longer function anyway)
    If you use USB Loader GX already you might like this option. If you have other issues with your Wii than the channel switching you described it obviously won't solve those, but it does do a good job at being an all-in-one loader GUI.
     
  9. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    I have wii flow as USB loader
     
  10. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,842
    5,007
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    I was using WiiFlow as well, it does look pretty nice, but I liked the banner view of GX more.
    I think WiiFlow has channel loading as well (not sure though), but using coverflow.
     
  11. BORTZ

    BORTZ "Another stunning Van Gogh"

    Supervisor
    11,591
    14,328
    Dec 2, 2007
    United States
    Pittsburgh
    I second using ModMii. I was skeptical at first, but it didnt take long to win me over. UN modding is very difficult to do, and dangerous. Not to mention unnecessary.
     
  12. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    So basically I just install gx how do I have it boot up in gx
     
  13. BORTZ

    BORTZ "Another stunning Van Gogh"

    Supervisor
    11,591
    14,328
    Dec 2, 2007
    United States
    Pittsburgh
    Are you talking about usb loader GX?
    Look, if you head over to ModMii, you download the program, and answer some shiz about your wii. It will handle everything from there, including writing you a step by step personalized guide for your wii.
     
  14. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Ok I've loaded gx but it doesn't work it starts up then black screen and no movement
     
  15. Slay3r227
    OP

    Slay3r227 Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Jun 24, 2013
    Ok
    Ok I got gx working. it was working nice but suddenly it did the same thing in gx then it was fine then it started again help please
     
  16. Hielkenator

    Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    4,219
    385
    Feb 7, 2010
    Netherlands
    lol, use a different Wiimote.
    Disconnect any Nunchuck or Classic controller.
    Use ORIGINAL Nintendo Controllers.
    This problem is NOT soft mod related in any way, your hardware is the problem for sure.
     
  17. BORTZ

    BORTZ "Another stunning Van Gogh"

    Supervisor
    11,591
    14,328
    Dec 2, 2007
    United States
    Pittsburgh
    Ah that makes more sense lol