Homebrew [Release] Y.A.R.U. - Regionfree and GW Mode Launcher

Rinnegatamante

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2014
Messages
3,161
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Bologna
Website
rinnegatamante.it
XP
4,675
Country
Italy
Yet Another Regionfree Utility is a simple version of Regionthree proposed by Smealum in CIA format.
It can be used for:
- Regionfree cartridge startup on Palantine CFW
- Boot retail cartridge (with regionfree) while you are in GW Mode (video showing this)

Download: http://rinnegatamante.netsons.org/YARU.rar
Sourcecode can be found inside src folder.
 

Escape

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
533
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
309
Country
United States
Doesn't Classic mode already support region free?
What would be the point in playing a retail game in Gateway mode?
 

medoli900

Open the Benzenes;Gate
Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
1,115
Trophies
0
Location
Lavender Town
XP
1,292
Country
Antarctica
Launching in Gateway mode is the best thing ever, since you can have "DLC" .cia on a retail card, which isn't possible in Classic mode. The thing is... It doesn't work properly for me. I launch YARU while in GW mode with Theathrhytm Curtain Calls in my 3DS XL 9.2U and the DLC doesn't appear. It is not the .cia the problem, since my backup in the red GW card load the DLC (without the save, which is why I want this to be a thing so badly, also for creating custom DLC .cia that would boot for retail game). When I pressed the HOME button, my sysNAND appear and I have to do the exploit again.
 

liomajor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
1,468
Trophies
0
XP
1,369
Country
United States
The thing is... It doesn't work properly for me. I launch YARU while in GW mode with Theathrhytm Curtain Calls in my 3DS XL 9.2U and the DLC doesn't appear.

The problem is, YARU allows to start the game region free, but disables after loading broken signs. The result is, no invalid DLC inside games.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
1
XP
4,941
Country
Antarctica
Does this not work for cartridges of the same region as your 3DS? I tried running 2 or 3 of my retail carts and they just black screen (Pokémon Y, A Link Between Worlds). I'm running Gateway mode with emuNAND 9.4 with sysNAND 4.3.
 

liomajor

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2008
Messages
1,468
Trophies
0
XP
1,369
Country
United States
My guess would be, that this only works with games that would run on your sysnands version.

Would be great to do this without loading sysnand.
 
  • Like
Reactions: medoli900
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: https://www.kshb.com/news/local-news/local-brewery-nonprofit-team-up-for-mental-health-awareness...