1. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    vitaQuakeIII v.0.6 BETA

    Description:

    vitaQuakeIII is a port of Quake 3: Arena and Quake 3: Team Arena based on ioquake3 engine.
    It's still in current BETA stage so expect bugs and unstable framerate but as of now it's already enjoyable for playing.
    I suggest NOT TO MESS UP with Setup menu since the release will have an already tweaked config file that should offer a good framerate without downgrading too much graphics. If you want to change some settings, edit q3config file inside baseq3 folder.

    How to use lower resolutions:

    To use lower resolutions to improve framerate more, edit in q3config file the r_mode parameter to:

    0 = 480x272
    1 = 640x368
    2 = 720x408
    3 = 960x544

    Controls:

    DPad or Left Analog = Move character
    Right Analog/Touchscreen = Move Camera
    L = Aim
    R = Shoot
    Cross = Jump
    Square = Crouch
    Circle = Use Item
    Triangle = Change in use weapon
    Start = Pause
    Select = Show Score

    How to use full game files:

    To use full game files, you'll need data files updated to latest patch available.
    Place pk3 files from baseq3 folder to ux0:data/ioq3/baseq3 folder for standard game and pk3 files from missionpack folder to ux0:data/ioq3/missionpack folder for Quake 3: Team Arena.

    Known bugs/issues:

    - Framerate is unstable, especially in Team Arena
    - Quake III: Arena logo is not properly rendered in main menu
    - Character model is not properly rendered in Setup submenus
    - 3D Icons in the in game HUD get covered from walls sometimes and from player weapon
    - Attempting to launch Team Arena in game from Quake III causes a crash (use the Livearea icon)
    - Multiplayer currently doesn't work

    Screenshots:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Credits:

    - ioq3 developers for ioquake3 engine
    - fgsfds for helping me implementing dynamic linking for shared libraries
    - rsn8887 for the improved analogs sensitivity system
    - Ch3lin for the Livearea assets
    - All my Patreon supporters:
    * XandridFire
    * Billy McLaughlin II
    * Styde Pregny
    * AnOtHeROnE
    * gnuffy
    * Jorge Laurencena
    * rsn8887
    * PSX-Place.com
    * John Wanot
    * Count Duckula
    * polytoad
    * Edd
    * Defkyle
    * Davenor
    * Samuel Batista
    * Jaden Emrich
    * Elwood Blues
    * Justin
    * Lars Zondervan
    * Yakara Network
    * Santiago Quiroga
    * Pirloui
    * Ramerson Wesley Araujo
    * temp_anon
    * 2Mourty
    * gnmmarechal
    * Bryan Hanbury
    * Gelson Silva

    Download:

    The Data Files contain the demo version of Quake III already setup to be played, a tweaked q3config file and shared libraries for both Quake III and Quake III: Team Arena

    https://rinnegatamante.it/vitadb/#/info/375
     
    Last edited by Rinnegatamante, Apr 5, 2018
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,985
    Country:
    United States
    Amazing job as always Rinnegatamante, this is definitely going on my Vita!
     
    Qwack likes this.
  3. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,415
    Country:
    Germany
    Any chance of enabling support for uma0 paths? I would love to be able to use my 8Gb Sony Memory Card for homebrew games :)
     
  4. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    Not feasable for how ioquake3 works, or at least not easily enough to be worth.
     
  5. Qwack

    Qwack Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Hungary
    no homo, but i love you now :bow:
     
    jastolze likes this.
  6. Localhorst86

    Localhorst86 Robert'); DROP TABLE members;--
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    2,415
    Country:
    Germany
    aw, too bad. :(
     
  7. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    You are awsome! Do u think there might be a Chance to port openjk? It’s almost the same engine
     
  8. Manuel_Dust23

    Manuel_Dust23 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Guatemala
    Thank you so much! This is wonderful and awesome, nice work man! :)
    Will be a great addition to my collection
     
  9. hellionz

    hellionz GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    waiting a posible online mode :D

    greetings
     
  10. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't own the game so would be impossible for me to even test it (and since i'm not a fan of Star Wars saga, i'm not willing to spend money for a game i won't play).
     
  11. FX3200

    FX3200 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    game crash every time i finish level, any idea why?
     
  12. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    You're not using shared libraries provided in the Data Files in VitaDB.
     
    Megadriver94 and FX3200 like this.
  13. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,060
    Country:
    Japan
    Is cost the only issue? I wouldn't mind grabbing it on Steam for you once I get paid.
     
    Last edited by sj33, Mar 23, 2018
  14. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    Not really, if i don't like a game, i just prefer working on something else (that's why i'm actually working on RTCW).
    If i'll ever need the game, i probably use my Patreon's donations to cover the cost of the game (as i've did with RTCW and Quake III).
     
  15. jastolze

    jastolze GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United States
    So psyched you finished the port! I've been away from my vita for a week and it figures it gets ported during that span lol. Questions though...

    1. Do most mods work?
    2. How much ram is available for this port? I was told 512 MB.
    3. How many bots are ideal in terms of framerate? I usually just use custom maps via "map" command and add like 2-4.
    4. Have you tried loading any larger maps that need extra ram? (like the Simpson's map)
     
  16. voddy

    voddy No Title Available
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    That’s understandable.
    Thanks for your honesty!
    Anyway. Rtcw is awsome too!
     
  17. Rinnegatamante

    OP Rinnegatamante GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3,161
    Country:
    Italy
    1. Not tried mods and probably most won't work. You'll require to disable shared libraries in config file to even try.
    2. Depends on what you mean for RAM since Quake III has different kind of internal heaps. Not to mention vitaGL too has his own two heaps.
    3. Depends highly on what's rendered on screen and your config file.
    4. No.
     
  18. jastolze

    jastolze GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    385
    Country:
    United States
    Some helpful resources for Q3...

    Custom Maps: (To play maps, copy the PK3 file and place it into the baseq3 folder, then go to skirmish and it'll be at the end of the list)
    - https://ws.q3df.org/maps/?map=&fo=2&cat=0&mo=0&ty=3&df=-1&we=-1&it=-1&fc=-1&au=&auf=2&show=50&view=1
    - https://lvlworld.com/

    Custom Models:
    - https://gamefront.online/files/listing/pub2/Quake_3_Arena/Models/Player_Models/

    Console Command listings (Since there's no on screen keyboard, you need to bind them to a button on the vita)
    - http://www.joz3d.net/html/q3console.html

    Cheats:
    To be able to use codes in single-player mode, in the console, type: /sv_cheats 1, then, /devmap<name of map>.
    Ex. q3dm11 for cheats enabled for that level.
    Then, the level will load with cheats enabled.

    Here are some cheats you can put in to the console after you have cheats enabled:

    All skills unlocked at level 1: iamacheater

    All skills unlocked at level 100: iamamonkey

    God mode: /god

    No clip (walk through walls): /noclip

    Give all: /give all

    Note on all weapons: The grenade launcher and BFG 10K weapons are unlocked by this code, but the graphics are incomplete. It will appear that your character in to holding any weapon when they are selected.

    Source for cheats above are from: https://www.gamespot.com/quake-iii-arena-1999/cheats/
     
    Megadriver94 and Rinnegatamante like this.
  19. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    523
    Country:
    Rtcw ......... that sounds perfect.
    Bought that when it came out.

    Rinnegatamante your a legend.
     
    Damin72 likes this.
  20. Emankcin

    Emankcin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for this, Rinnegatamante! My collection is complete! Although this is a lot harder than it was on the computer! Do you think you might be able to implement some sort of aim assist, like you did for Quake 1 on PSP?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - vitaQuakeIII, [RELEASE], PSVITA