[Release] Spiik - Region & language changer

Discussion in 'Wii U - Homebrew' started by ::Phoenix::, Mar 11, 2017.

Mar 11, 2017
  1. QuarkTheAwesome

    Member QuarkTheAwesome Working for Hugs

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    Stuck in the PowerPC
    Country:
    Australia
    Holey moley, the forums are getting used? Woooah!
    In all seriousness, I'm not sure. Game REing isn't really my thing, might be worth asking someone who does more of that (@CosmoCortney comes to mind, or possibly @Maschell. You lot: how do games detect the system language?)
     


  2. marchrius

    Member marchrius GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    Italy
    Where's japanese language?
     
    CandraSoftware likes this.
  3. Arck

    Member Arck GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    525
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks a lot for this :)
     
  4. ::Phoenix::
    OP

    Member ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Italy
    Mmmm, seems I forgot to include it. I will add it asap and upload a new release!

    -EDIT- You can find the new version on the release page of my github!
     
    Last edited by ::Phoenix::, Mar 12, 2017
    CandraSoftware and marchrius like this.
  5. marchrius

    Member marchrius GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    Italy
    Nice, thank you :) I tested it and works like a charm. Also a nice side effect is that I can post on US miiverse from my EUR console by spoofing the region. That's wonderful.
     
  6. Felek666

    Member Felek666 ~Advanced Neko Fan~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    Poland
    Finally i can brag about my Taiko highscores owo
     
  7. Dopey The Gemini

    Newcomer Dopey The Gemini Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    Could you potentially download Brain Age (Which i think is free in Eur) and install haxchi?
     
  8. Marko76

    Member Marko76 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,599
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Brain Age was only free to people who bought their wiiu before 2014 and created a European nnid in that time.
     
  9. Felek666

    Member Felek666 ~Advanced Neko Fan~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    Poland
    Aw man. Tried with Taiko no Tatsujin ATD and i'm getting error that there was an error and Wii U needs to close. [150-013 i believe?]
    Guess no bragging about my scores on japaneze memeverse.
     
    CandraSoftware likes this.
  10. CandraSoftware

    Newcomer CandraSoftware Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Location
    Country:
    United States
    Can confirm that I can post Play Journal Entries for Japaense Wii U games, like Puyo Puyo Tetris and Wai Wai World 2 (VC) (won't include links), but those posts don't show up on your profile. At least I think they don't. Now, if only Wrecking Crew '98 were added to a certain database or whatever it is so I would post play journal entries for that game...

    I made a mistake and tried to view my Friends list with Spiik activated, which caused my Wii U to freeze.
     
    Last edited by CandraSoftware, Mar 12, 2017
  11. ::Phoenix::
    OP

    Member ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Italy
    There are many system apps whose title change according to the current region. When Spiik changes region, the system tries to load the load the wrong system app, that's why it freezes. I plan on adding such applications to a black list as I did for the System menu.
     
    CandraSoftware likes this.
  12. wolf-snake

    Member wolf-snake GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    Mexico
    I will only use this to change language of a game like Zelda instead of changing region. It kinda takes too long for the System to do it itself.
     
  13. Zeriel

    Member Zeriel Squid Kid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    This worked! thanks so much! :)

    Now, just wondering, what would happen if I save the game in Japanese and then forget to run Spiik and load the Japanese save file and the game runs in Enlish? will it corrupt?
    Is there a way to auto run spiik or change the console to be always Japanese region?

    Thanks!
     
  14. ::Phoenix::
    OP

    Member ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Italy
    Your saves should be working perfectly fine.

    In order to do that, I need to add spiik's features to some cfw like mocha or haxchi cfw. As for now, there is no other way apart from running spiik at least once manually.
     
  15. Cava

    Member Cava GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    514
    Country:
    Hungary
    Bomberman' 94 USA (Turbografx) just almost works on EU console. It starts with/without Spiik but after you create a restore point or just quit the game and restart again it always freezes at the title of the virtual console screen. USA version is 217,5 MB the EUR is 376.3 MB.
     
    Last edited by Cava, Mar 15, 2017
  16. ::Phoenix::
    OP

    Member ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Italy
    I will check it out! Thank you for reporting!
     
    Cava likes this.
  17. Felek666

    Member Felek666 ~Advanced Neko Fan~

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    Poland
    Do you have any idea why Taiko no Tatsujin ATD throws that error? [Every other JPN game works fine, expect this one which is rather annoying]
    (I'm also asking this out of curiosity)
     
  18. ::Phoenix::
    OP

    Member ::Phoenix:: GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    Italy
    The reason I can think of is that it gathers the console region without the function MCP_GetSysProSettings, which my app hooks. I need to do some tests with the game once I have some free time
     
    Felek666 likes this.
  19. Mizo

    Member Mizo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    United States
    Nice, I'll try it.
     
  20. Marko76

    Member Marko76 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,599
    Location:
    Clydebank
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes just want to report that all American turbografx games when run on a European wiiu crash the system when you use the touchscreen. This happens with or without spiik.
     
    Cava likes this.

Share This Page