1. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Okay I have updated OpenGL and now when I run the command glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version" this is the output

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 20.0.0-devel (git-cc3ef36 2020-01-14 bionic-oibaf-ppa)
    
    I do not see any difference in the graphics and the Kame Editor still has a black screen I have a few Ideas to troubleshoot so I will update you on this matter

    Update: After some troubleshooting I realized that if you select a folder the screen turn white (as seen in the image below)

    IMG.png

    do any of the earlier versions of the Kame Editor support OpenGL 2.1 because if I downgraded to a later version that supported OpenGL 2.1 or lower it might function properly
     
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I ran the command kame-editor in the Terminal and now I get this output

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ kame-editor
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
    Cannot connect to server request channel
    jack server is not running or cannot be started
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform vec4 color;
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform sampler2D ext;
    uniform float alpha;
    uniform float gradientbrightness;
    uniform float gradientalpha;
    uniform float alphaext;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = uv;
        float ratioX = uv.x / 6.40625;
        float rate = 1 / 8000.0;
        newuv.y += 0.3 * (-2.0 * newuv.y + 1.0) * ratioX * (ratioX - 1.0);
        vec2 offset = vec2(newuv.x - (time * rate), newuv.y + time * rate);
        // Moving tiles
        vec4 c = texture(image, offset);
        // Ensure textures are grayscale
        c.rgb = vec3(dot(c.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        c.a = min(c.r, c.a) * alpha;
        c.rgb = vec3(1);
        // Static tiles
        vec4 fixedTexture = texture(ext, newuv);
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(dot(fixedTexture.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        fixedTexture.a = min(fixedTexture.a, fixedTexture.r) * alphaext;
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(1);
    
        // Background color
        vec4 bottom = color;
        bottom.a = 1;
        vec4 top = mix(bottom, vec4(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, 1), gradientalpha);
        top.a = 1;
        vec4 gradient = bottom * (1 - mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0)) + top * mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0);
        gradient.a = 1;
        vec4 opaque = mix(c, fixedTexture, 0.5);
        opaque.a = min(1, opaque.a * 2);
        opaque.rgb = vec3(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness);
        fragColor = vec4(mix(gradient.rgb, opaque.rgb, opaque.a), gradient.a + opaque.a);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = vec2(uv.x - time / 1008.0, uv.y + 16 / 256.0);
        fragColor = texture(image, newuv);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec3 aNormal;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    uniform mat4 mMatrix;
    
    out vec3 fragPos;
    out vec3 lightPos;
    out vec3 normal;
    out vec3 vertexOut;
    
    void main() {
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
        fragPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(vertex, 1.0));
        lightPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(0, 15, 1, 1.0));
        normal = aNormal;
        vertexOut = vertex;
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec3 fragPos;
    in vec3 lightPos;
    in vec3 normal;
    in vec3 vertexOut;
    
    uniform vec4 maincolor;
    uniform vec4 dark;
    uniform vec4 light;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec3 ambientcolor = mix(vec3(maincolor), vec3(light), min(1, abs(vertexOut.z - normal.b)));
        ambientcolor = mix(ambientcolor, vec3(dark), min(1, abs(normal.r)));
        vec3 lightColor = vec3(1, 1, 1);
        float ambientStrength = 0.7;
        vec3 ambient = ambientStrength * lightColor;
    
        // diffuse
        vec3 norm = normalize(normal);
        vec3 lightDir = normalize(lightPos - fragPos);
        float diff = max(dot(norm, lightDir), 0.0);
        vec3 diffuse = diff * lightColor;
    
        vec3 result = (ambient + diffuse) * ambientcolor;
        fragColor = vec4(result, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    
    I have updated OpenGL but I do not think my PC is using it maybe I need to initialize it
     
  3. Sookie69

    Sookie69 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Russia
    Hi. I've encountered the same issue as was mentioned on the first page. The app refuses to open 512x256 image. I also tried to run .bat file and it had no effect. I'm having this problem on two different computers, Win10 x64.
     
  4. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    Whoops, didn't see there was a third page. Anyways, it looks like your computer is still not recognizing a more recent version of OpenGL; OpenGL 2.1 is not new enough. Do you have problems with other programs that require OpenGL 3+?

    I made my program when OpenGL 3 was a thing (and when I was aware that getting OpenGL 3 in Qt5 to play nicely on Macos is a pain in the ass), so there was no version of the program that used the earlier version of the shaders, and because of the way newer OpenGL versions work, it's quite different. I may just try playing with the version numbers; the Mac one needs a different one just for itself though because it's very picky.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I've had a few people complain about this, but couldn't get enough details about this. Could you provide me with the image you're trying to use and the top texture settings you're trying to use? Thanks.
     
    Last edited by Tychon, Jan 16, 2020
  5. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    With advice from @SagaP a solution has been found to run the Kame Editor on PC's with a older graphics card (OpenGL 2.1) simply open a terminal in your Linux environment (ctrl + alt = t) and run the command

    Code:
    LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 kame-editor
    and it should now run on temporarily on OpenGL 2.1
     
  6. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    I wonder if Mint did this automatically for you.

    Another thing that comes to mind is it could possibly be your xorg setup is not correct because you can tell xorg which graphics card to use. But I think you may get more help with that if you try asking about it from your distro, since you'll probably have to run that flag as well for any other program that needs OpenGL 3+.

    But I'm glad it at least works for you.
     
  7. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I am running the Linux Mint OS now and the results are the same as on Kubuntu I did however load optimized setup defaults on my bios settings and I believe that this may have had something to do with it
     
  8. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    Good news; sorry for the lack of updates, but I was a bit busy. However, I did manage to get in some features requested by users and fix some important bugs, particularly if you're on Windows. So we finally found out why people couldn't select images on Windows; apparently, if you used images besides pngs, Qt5 wouldn't handle them properly without the right libraries installed, so we add those to Windows builds now. More on that later for those who are interested in building on Windows. We also didn't handle those properly in kame-tools, so that's been fixed now. But in the future, I would really like it if people provided more details for problems they're having with the editor; it makes it much easier to figure out what's going on and how to fix it.

    Here's the downloads: https://bitbucket.org/beelzy/kame-editor/downloads/

    * Add extra setting to hide folder letter
    * Implement extra folder deploy option
    * Warn users if selected deploy folder already contains theme files
    * Implement extra import from folder option
    * Add option to include branding to preview screenshots
    * Fix small icon path bug
    * Accept jpeg files for textures

    Translations are still welcomed.
     
    Last edited by Tychon, Mar 15, 2020
    Bluespheal and Sophie-bear like this.
  9. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Nice job I have recently purchased a newer laptop so i will be able to use it
     
  10. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm not dead, but there hasn't really been too many bugs or issues to fix. (there are a few minor ones now, but I'm wondering if I should wait until I gather more bug fixes or features to make a new release)

    Anyways, it's come to my attention that some people are finding having to select a folder or rc file path in the theme import is somewhat inconvenient, and they'd prefer that the theme be placed in a temporary location if no path is selected. What do you guys think about this feature? Will it be useful to you?
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  11. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for the delay, but I've been busy and haven't had much time to do much with Kame Editor, but 1.2.8 is out now. We managed to add more improvements to the handling of WAV files as well as make the preview more accurate, as well as fix some minor bugs here and there.

    Unfortunately, this took a bit longer than I wanted because it turned out there was some bug on Windows with the import paths, so you might see the .rc file doesn't get the correct image paths, depending on where you place it. Unfortunately, the person looking at Windows bugs doesn't have time to look at those at this time of the year, so we will probably have that fix done for the next release. However, all the other improvements and fixes in 1.2.8 will be in the Windows version anyways.

    Download links as always: https://bitbucket.org/beelzy/kame-editor/downloads/
    (although I have the feeling Unix users peek in here for new versions without me having to post about it...)

    • Fix deploy path when switching between zip and folder deploy
    • Clear audio converter output path once conversion finishes
    • Force preview images to be RGBA so Anemone can see them properly
    • Improve preview appearance
    • Top screen is only 400px wide
    • Add missing includes so that it builds on more systems
    • Correctly play BGM after openlid SFX plays
    • Display SFX total limit instead of limiting per file
    • Make menu items on certain skins more readable
    • Provide help key visuals for other skins
    • Correctly read WAV headers when multiple chunks are included
    • Warn users with insufficient OpenGL versions
     
  12. WildRavenFeathers

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, hope it's alright if I post here, but I've been having issues with the current kame editor version 1.2.8. The top image keeps getting cut off when I upload the image file onto the program. I have yet to test to see if that also happens with the bottom image but I will do that soon.

    I'm using a Macbook for this by the way.

    Below is the image I'm using for the top screen, and a screenshot of the issue. You can see the right part of the image is cut off, despite using the correct 512x256 dimensions.
    1900_1200_7 copy.png Screen Shot 2021-03-02 at 11.40.15 PM.png
     
    Last edited by WildRavenFeathers, Mar 3, 2021
  13. Coolcreeper1760

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    :cry::bow:i had to rewrite this for the 3rd time but how do you export themes?
     
  14. Coolcreeper1760

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i figured out but kame editior look like for color blind people and its weird since im not color blind im gonna try installing kame from the website again
     
  15. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Canada
    The docs are here: https://gitlab.com/beelzy/kame-editor/-/wikis/home

    I recently added console skin specific help for it, so if you click on the ? icon, it should provide you with a screenshot and everything. But essentially, you'll find the export themes option under the menu icon. Click it a few times and "Deploy" comes up.

    Is there an issue with Kame Editor that prevents it for working, or did you just have trouble finding the export themes button?

    Funny, I actually have a color blind friend, but I never asked him for input on that program...I'm very sure though that he can't see the green part of the theme colors I used in Kame Editor though.
     
  16. Coolcreeper1760

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im not sure if it does look like the colors of a colorblind person field of vision
     
    Last edited by Coolcreeper1760, Apr 25, 2021
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release]Kame, Windows, Editor