1. RyuShinobi500

    RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I have updated OpenGL and now when I run the command glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version" this is the output

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ glxinfo | grep "OpenGL version"
    OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 20.0.0-devel (git-cc3ef36 2020-01-14 bionic-oibaf-ppa)
    
    I do not see any difference in the graphics and the Kame Editor still has a black screen I have a few Ideas to troubleshoot so I will update you on this matter

    Update: After some troubleshooting I realized that if you select a folder the screen turn white (as seen in the image below)

    IMG.png

    do any of the earlier versions of the Kame Editor support OpenGL 2.1 because if I downgraded to a later version that supported OpenGL 2.1 or lower it might function properly
     
  2. RyuShinobi500

    RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    United States
    I ran the command kame-editor in the Terminal and now I get this output

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ kame-editor
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
    Cannot connect to server request channel
    jack server is not running or cannot be started
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform vec4 color;
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform sampler2D ext;
    uniform float alpha;
    uniform float gradientbrightness;
    uniform float gradientalpha;
    uniform float alphaext;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = uv;
        float ratioX = uv.x / 6.40625;
        float rate = 1 / 8000.0;
        newuv.y += 0.3 * (-2.0 * newuv.y + 1.0) * ratioX * (ratioX - 1.0);
        vec2 offset = vec2(newuv.x - (time * rate), newuv.y + time * rate);
        // Moving tiles
        vec4 c = texture(image, offset);
        // Ensure textures are grayscale
        c.rgb = vec3(dot(c.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        c.a = min(c.r, c.a) * alpha;
        c.rgb = vec3(1);
        // Static tiles
        vec4 fixedTexture = texture(ext, newuv);
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(dot(fixedTexture.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        fixedTexture.a = min(fixedTexture.a, fixedTexture.r) * alphaext;
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(1);
    
        // Background color
        vec4 bottom = color;
        bottom.a = 1;
        vec4 top = mix(bottom, vec4(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, 1), gradientalpha);
        top.a = 1;
        vec4 gradient = bottom * (1 - mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0)) + top * mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0);
        gradient.a = 1;
        vec4 opaque = mix(c, fixedTexture, 0.5);
        opaque.a = min(1, opaque.a * 2);
        opaque.rgb = vec3(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness);
        fragColor = vec4(mix(gradient.rgb, opaque.rgb, opaque.a), gradient.a + opaque.a);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = vec2(uv.x - time / 1008.0, uv.y + 16 / 256.0);
        fragColor = texture(image, newuv);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec3 aNormal;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    uniform mat4 mMatrix;
    
    out vec3 fragPos;
    out vec3 lightPos;
    out vec3 normal;
    out vec3 vertexOut;
    
    void main() {
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
        fragPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(vertex, 1.0));
        lightPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(0, 15, 1, 1.0));
        normal = aNormal;
        vertexOut = vertex;
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec3 fragPos;
    in vec3 lightPos;
    in vec3 normal;
    in vec3 vertexOut;
    
    uniform vec4 maincolor;
    uniform vec4 dark;
    uniform vec4 light;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec3 ambientcolor = mix(vec3(maincolor), vec3(light), min(1, abs(vertexOut.z - normal.b)));
        ambientcolor = mix(ambientcolor, vec3(dark), min(1, abs(normal.r)));
        vec3 lightColor = vec3(1, 1, 1);
        float ambientStrength = 0.7;
        vec3 ambient = ambientStrength * lightColor;
    
        // diffuse
        vec3 norm = normalize(normal);
        vec3 lightDir = normalize(lightPos - fragPos);
        float diff = max(dot(norm, lightDir), 0.0);
        vec3 diffuse = diff * lightColor;
    
        vec3 result = (ambient + diffuse) * ambientcolor;
        fragColor = vec4(result, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    
    I have updated OpenGL but I do not think my PC is using it maybe I need to initialize it
     
  3. Sookie69

    Sookie69 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Russia
    Hi. I've encountered the same issue as was mentioned on the first page. The app refuses to open 512x256 image. I also tried to run .bat file and it had no effect. I'm having this problem on two different computers, Win10 x64.
     
  4. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    Whoops, didn't see there was a third page. Anyways, it looks like your computer is still not recognizing a more recent version of OpenGL; OpenGL 2.1 is not new enough. Do you have problems with other programs that require OpenGL 3+?

    I made my program when OpenGL 3 was a thing (and when I was aware that getting OpenGL 3 in Qt5 to play nicely on Macos is a pain in the ass), so there was no version of the program that used the earlier version of the shaders, and because of the way newer OpenGL versions work, it's quite different. I may just try playing with the version numbers; the Mac one needs a different one just for itself though because it's very picky.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I've had a few people complain about this, but couldn't get enough details about this. Could you provide me with the image you're trying to use and the top texture settings you're trying to use? Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  5. RyuShinobi500

    RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    United States
    With advice from @SagaP a solution has been found to run the Kame Editor on PC's with a older graphics card (OpenGL 2.1) simply open a terminal in your Linux environment (ctrl + alt = t) and run the command

    Code:
    LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 kame-editor
    and it should now run on temporarily on OpenGL 2.1
     
  6. Tychon

    OP Tychon Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Canada
    I wonder if Mint did this automatically for you.

    Another thing that comes to mind is it could possibly be your xorg setup is not correct because you can tell xorg which graphics card to use. But I think you may get more help with that if you try asking about it from your distro, since you'll probably have to run that flag as well for any other program that needs OpenGL 3+.

    But I'm glad it at least works for you.
     
  7. RyuShinobi500

    RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    595
    Country:
    United States
    I am running the Linux Mint OS now and the results are the same as on Kubuntu I did however load optimized setup defaults on my bios settings and I believe that this may have had something to do with it
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release]Kame, Windows, Editor