Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. supermariorick

    supermariorick GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    640
    Country:
    United States
    wait...... why is the cheat plugin New3ds only? it should be able to work on Old3ds. that's dumb excluding Old3ds users from these cheats. there is no evidence there are any offset differences between New3ds and Old3ds. also the updated version of NTR is supposed to support cheats even on Old3ds. what possible reason could there be for making it only work on New3ds? whoever made the plugin is excluding Old3ds users from using it with no explanation.
     
  2. Deathwing Zero

    Deathwing Zero GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    Canada
    Because using a cheat plugin on anything but the original game (read: _NO_ UPDATES AT ALL!) will cause the game to crash on old 3DS and only old 3ds. No one can figure out why or how to fix it. So no, there is an explanation, and it's been discussed several times over the course of the thread. Go ahead and try it yourself, the console will not go past the Nintendo3DS logo when you load the game with _ANY_ cheat plugin, doesn't matter if it's for the game or Old or New 3DS. Also, the offsets are different for Old 3DS and New 3DS.

    If you want to use cheats on an Old 3DS with any version of the game, you have no choice but to use NTR Debugger and send the cheats manually every time you play, and when you start any mission.
     
    Last edited by Deathwing Zero, Jul 11, 2016
  3. Ailuros27

    Ailuros27 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    United States
    So, I'm not sure if I'm using the latest version of the plugin or not. I downloaded it from here last night and sent it to my 3DS. It works almost always, except for the in-battle magic and focus spirit codes, which stop working occasionally on the normal Adventure Mode map. I read where someone else had that problem, and I thought @BtEtta had made a fix to keep that from happening. But it has happened on multiple missions now with seemingly no warning or pattern. I'm going to redownload and recopy it to my 3DS to see if I did something wrong on my end, but I figured you'd want a heads up that this issue may not be completely resolved.

    Edit: Should I be using the one in the "Test" folder?
     
    Last edited by Ailuros27, Jul 11, 2016
  4. BtEtta

    BtEtta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    I updated the main version. I should probably remove the test folder.

    The trick I'm using to detect is rather crude, even with the change I made it's still theoretically possible (I don't fully understand what the 3DS is storing in the memory I'm checking) for certain missions to trip the problem. Can you point to any squares where it consistently fails?

    Edit: It's possible I "updated" with the same broken version that was already there.
     
    Last edited by BtEtta, Jul 11, 2016
  5. Ailuros27

    Ailuros27 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    728
    Country:
    United States
    So is the one up in Drive now the correct one?
     
  6. BtEtta

    BtEtta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Yes, I redownloaded it to double-check.
     
  7. Traslogan

    Traslogan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    I'm not sure what I'm missing as I'm new to editing 3DS saves, but I found the saves hyrule-warriors had created on my SD card (even made a backup to find it more easily) and it's just a .sav file. How do I get it to be the right format? Using the EU version of the game on a new3DSXL if that makes any difference.
     
    Last edited by Traslogan, Jul 13, 2016
  8. BlastXDX

    BlastXDX What a beautiful duwang.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    What are you using to extract the save?
     
  9. Traslogan

    Traslogan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    I'm not even sure where to start there (Literally that much of a newbie to anything involving amending a 3DS). I assumed I had to take the saves from the 3DS' SD card but simply wasn't sure beyond that.
     
  10. BlastXDX

    BlastXDX What a beautiful duwang.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a CFW or just a basic Homebrew entry? There are several save managers to use to extract and inject saves.
     
  11. Traslogan

    Traslogan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Is there no way to do it without putting homebrew on the 3DS? I get that's kind of the standard but I'm literally just one of the folks who played a ton of Hyrule Warriors WiiU and want to get past some of the early grind on 3DS, I don't know squat about putting homebrew on there.
     
  12. BlastXDX

    BlastXDX What a beautiful duwang.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    Well getting your save file requires some sort of homebrew. I haven't caught up on what Homebrew exploits currently work, but you can find all the different ones here.
     
  13. BtEtta

    BtEtta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    Reddit has a nice FAQ, in particular the flowchart will guide you though what options you have. But if you're on firmware 11.0 your options are already quite limited. The good news is that for save file access you only need basic homebrew, not custom firmware (CFW), which is somewhat easier to gain access to.

    Edit: On a side note I think I've figured out how the game stores the "Newest" sort order for fairy food so I can include a patch in the next plugin that makes it so that works properly if you use the codes to give you all delicious food/large gratitute crystals.

    Edit 2: What's the likelyhood you have a Fairy named "Bob" BlastXDX? :D
     
    Last edited by BtEtta, Jul 13, 2016
    buda81 and BlastXDX like this.
  14. Tomy Sakazaki

    Tomy Sakazaki GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Brazil
    To explain as to why homebrew access is required. The .sav file that you see on your 3DS SD card (and the one that gateway's launcher dump from carts) are actually encrypted.
    With save file managers (both homebrew like SVDT and JKSM, or SaveData Filer from Nintendo SD) you can actually decrypt the save, get it's contents (files that vary form game to game), load them at editors, or even copy them to another 3DS and use the save manager at target system to properly encrypt the save files.
    And I dunno if I'm right at this, but I think that .sav files from installed games (from eShop or CIA) actually are also encrypted to work only at the 3DS that generated them, so you can't simply copy them to another 3DS SD card that have the same game.
     
  15. link666

    link666 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Done. Hope it's help.
     

    Attached Files:

    nedron92 likes this.
  16. nedron92

    nedron92 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Germany
    Thanks (: I will recognize it ;)
     
    link666 likes this.
  17. Reaga

    Reaga GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    1,121
    Country:
    United States
    Both the Scarlet version and this version are getting picked up by my antivirus and deleted.
     
  18. himuradrew

    himuradrew Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Hi guys!

    How do you guys extract the savedata from the eshop version of the game. Using JKSV 3DSX version (not the CIA). N3DSXL 11.0.0.33-U with homebrew via BASICSPLOIT.

    Already tried refreshing my games and running the game once before going into the HBL. Keep getting "error opening save archive". Also there are 3 entries for HWL each with different product codes:

    CTR-M-BZHE-00
    CTR-P-BZHE
    CTR-U-BZHE

    My version of the game is the US eshop version updated to V1.4

    I was actually able to extract MHGen extdata a few minutes ago, edited and re-imported with no problems whatsoever. Not sure why it's not working for HWL.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  19. BtEtta

    BtEtta GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Country:
    You want the normal save data for this game, not the extdata.

    I'm not sure where you're getting the choice of product codes (although the one you'd want is CTR-P-BZHE, -U- is updates and -M- is DLC), I just tested the 3DSX version and was offered no selection beyond the choice of software in the homebrew launcher? I was able to extract both normal and extdata. I was also able to restore in 3DSX mode a save dumped in CIA mode.
     
  20. BlastXDX

    BlastXDX What a beautiful duwang.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone found how to edit unlocked costumes?
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], Warriors, Legends

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.