1. KingVamp

    KingVamp Haaah-hahahaha!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12,444
    Country:
    United States
    I do not think DS mode on 3DS vs ds aren't that different in terms in looks.
     
  2. Stevetry

    Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    this is great cant wait to see what SC2 team says
     
  3. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    They can't fully block it without blocking DS game carts*, so they just did the stuff the DSi's firmware updates did.
    * - While they technically can, it's not feasible.
     
  4. Memoir

    Memoir Hi, I'm Cynical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,342
    Country:
    United States
    It's the first step... So we shall see... NOw we just gotta wait and see who the next team is? SC? 0.o
     
  5. fairuza

    fairuza Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    the 3ds mode will be cracked eventually and then you will just disable auto-updating and download the cracked 3ds updates manually to get new features but keep flashcart or whatever capabilities.

    people are such idiots. over and over each system gets cracked and yet dummies keep acting like something will change. it's embarrassing to witness at this point.
     
  6. Stevetry

    Stevetry Most perverted person in GBATEMP
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,294
    Country:
    just like dsi mode right XDXD
     
  7. freestile

    freestile GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    United States
    Great news either way. Now lets just see if my good ole supercard dstwo will
    work. Would be nice. In all honestly probably the only reason I would buy a 3ds
    is if I can run homebrew/roms from ds/ds mode. None of the actual 3ds games
    look of any interest to me. I guess the cameras would be nice as well since I
    dont really have a suitable digital camera. Either way I think I'll end up getting
    a 3ds somewhere down the line. Just not sure if it would be better to get one sooner
    then later. I'll just have to wait and see how everything pans out I guess.
     
  8. Dr.Aqua

    Dr.Aqua GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    United States
    Not so sure the Acekard team will get this
    they rarely do aything
     
  9. kylehboc

    kylehboc Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Great to know, now let's hope the US version can be as well at launch.
     
  10. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    lolno

    1 - The Acekard team is responsible for the bootloader updates, which is the issue here. They released both 1.4 and 1.4.1 updates when needed. They leave the firmware up to AKAIO because as any hacker should know, you shouldn't waste energy and duplicate effort making a copy of something that already exists.

    2 - http://www.acekard.com/news.php#101
    They already did it.
     
  11. cyankhan

    cyankhan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    India
    Hi Guys ,
    I am currently in japan. I checked out the 3ds the other day and it has no English options. Anyways if i buy a ds can later flash cart enable English ??? Suppose if buy a japanese DS lite will it work with R4 Woods in ENglish ?.

    Thanks
     
  12. blueboy

    blueboy Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    India
    If you buy a Japanese DS Lite, You can definitely use the flashcart in English! I'm not sure about the 3DS though....
     
  13. Qtis

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,817
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Flashcart languages are set in the options menu of the cart, not in the DS menu. In other words a (J) DSL will work in English just by using the options panel of the Flashcart.


    -Qtis
     
  14. Nollog

    Nollog GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,964
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yeah, but only the flashcart etc. will be in English.
    Flashcarts can't modify the system.
     
  15. hakujintanuki

    hakujintanuki GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Well, I'm telling you it is. The screen resolution is different, so it upscales the DS games to fit the screen. 3D models don't look terrible (as in polygons, not the actual 3D effects), but sprites look really bad and fuzzy due to being lower resolution than the screen. You can boot the DS games in their native resolution, but then the screen size is pretty small.
     
  16. Nollog

    Nollog GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,964
    Country:
    Ireland
    Yeah, because BLIND LUCK is worth capitol letters on the Internet.
    An R4i clone (R4iGold) also works without an update, and I'm relatively sure it was out before the iEvo, so by your logic this is the 2nd to WORK on the 3DS.
     
  17. narutofan777

    narutofan777 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    731
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    that was certainly fast
     
  18. Slowking

    Slowking GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,403
    Country:
    Germany
    God you people are annoying. It has been said time and time again. They can't ramp up the copy protection for normal DS games! The DS game encryption has been completely hacked. If they would add new copy protection they would break compatibility with DS and DSL. They are doing what they can.
     
  19. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    If you buy a Japanese 3DS you won't get DSi mode (as of right now) because the DSi is region-locked and there's no DSi bootloader/exploit for the iEvo, so you're stuck in DS mode.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - flashcard, working, first