R4i SDHC Confusion

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by eccentricways, Sep 8, 2009.

Sep 8, 2009

R4i SDHC Confusion by eccentricways at 8:11 PM (1,114 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. eccentricways
    OP

    Newcomer eccentricways Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right major apologies, this is my first post and all this flash card stuff is a major headache.

    So I've been trying to figure all this out as best as I can these last few days and it just isn't working.

    A couple of months ago I lost my Pokemon Platinum save to corruption because I didn't know about the 512kb, 1mb save thingy. I have an R4i-SDHC (Red Box)

    I've been looking at the YSMENU thing and it is just mega confusing me. R4i SDHC being a TT clone, does that mean I should go for TTMENU? Will it help me re-build a Platinum save without the fear of corruption? I need mega help here and a real simple step by step guide if that's okay.

    Once again, sorry, I'm a noob, apologies if this has already been posted but please just answer what I've asked without getting all angry for a dupe thread.
     
  2. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    The R4i-SDHC makes its own save types. That isn't why you corrupted.

    TTMENU is the TT's system file, YSMenu is a firmware replacement. Not the same.

    I'd just recommend starting the game again, and to start backing up your save files.
     
  3. eccentricways
    OP

    Newcomer eccentricways Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So it makes it's own save files. I was thinking about changing card to TT or Acekard or something, will the R4iSDHC saves be compatible on those cards?
     
  4. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    No, they won't. TTDS is no longer officially supported, so I wouldn't recommend it. Acekards are good though.
     
  5. eccentricways
    OP

    Newcomer eccentricways Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right thanks for your help. So if I want to bypass 1.4 and still keep my saves I'm gonna have to stick to R4i SDHC. Thanks anyway ^^
     
  6. Lattka23

    Newcomer Lattka23 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Germany
    hey guys!
    i thought i was the only one who bought a crappy R4i-sdhc - but im not alone [​IMG]
    like there were many discustings here in gbatemp, i hope the team releases the promoted 1.4fix version for the card.
    i also hope team cyclo release a dsi card (they are the best team ever!).
    got to go bye
     
  7. injected11

    Member injected11 Crescent Fresh™

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    "Real" R4i-SDHCs aren't crappy. I've been able to get EVERYTHING I wanted to work without issue, and haven't had a problem with it. If yours is so "crappy" odds are you bought a fake, or you're doing things incorrectly. Most whining about it is because they haven't released a 1.4 update yet. It's coming friday.
     

Share This Page