r4ds lifetime anyone??

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by papyrus, Jan 27, 2008.

Jan 27, 2008

r4ds lifetime anyone?? by papyrus at 10:11 AM (2,485 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. papyrus
    OP

    Member papyrus GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Nipa Hut
    Country:
    Philippines
    just asking how long does r4ds lasts
     
  2. skarthebloodchild

    Member skarthebloodchild Keep It Old School

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,215
    Location:
    Greece
    Country:
    Greece
    you can't really say it's an electronic device.
     
  3. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    It's really random. For the spring model, some springs fail after weeks, some work for months. But it should take very much longer for the electronics to fail.
     
  4. esoterica

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the main reason the R4 usually breaks for? the spring or just some random technical malfunction?
     
  5. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Dunno, but my R4 has been here for the past year, and its still working perfectly [​IMG]
    It has only crashed 3 times playing a game, and that was usually fixed by blowing on the contacts of the R4.
    Its still working perfectly after one year, and I'm very happy with it.
     
  6. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    I dunno maybe for ever and ever [​IMG], I used m3 simply about half of year and selled it to another user, and he have no problems with it (assuming that r4 is m3simply clon everything should be fine).
     
  7. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    It depends how you use it.
    R4 does not have any battery.
    The only problems would be lense or breaking the microSD spring(V2 is not anymore spring loaded, so shoudnt be a problem).
    I could have used mines for more than 2-3 years, but I havent got the R4DS anymore.
     
  8. kemosabe

    Member kemosabe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Germany
    i got my r4 about a year ago; no problems at all.
    imo the best flashcart you can get.
    now just give me a r4 that supports micro sdhc carts and im set for the future
     
  9. bobfernando

    Newcomer bobfernando Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Ive had mine for 9 months with no problems (except for the fact that TeamR4 is pretty much...DEAD)

    Ive switched to the CycloDS ONLY because of the down-to-earth nature of their staff. CycloDS FTW.
     
  10. Philosophy

    Newcomer Philosophy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    I bought my R4 about a month after it came out, and haven't had any problems. I once had a cat pull the card out without pushing down, but that didn't f$#k it up. Best game investment I have made.....
     
  11. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    It works just as long as how much the user takes care of it.

    If you treat it like a baby, it probably won't break in a long time.
    Both my Spring model and springless model have been fine. I've had my old model for about 5 months.

    ~Nero
     
  12. SkH

    Member SkH GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,112
    Country:
    Algeria
    R4 IS THE ORIGINAL, M3 DS Simply is the "clone"!!

    Want mroe proof?? R4 have earlier the updates!
     
  13. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Mine is beginning to become bad loading.
    I takes like 10 blows to get it working now.
     
  14. CockroachMan

    Member CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Location:
    Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    My M3Simply has 1 year.. no problems..
     
  15. azotyp

    Member azotyp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,175
    Location:
    Poland
    Country:
    Poland
    Quote from this topic
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=44631
    I dont have nothing for r4ds it is a good clone [​IMG]
     
  16. elfsander

    Member elfsander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    None of them are clones, they are developped in the same factory.
     
  17. shakirmoledina

    Member shakirmoledina Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    6,611
    Location:
    Dar es Salaam
    Country:
    Tanzania
    Easy... it's lifetime warranty unlike a PS2 (hate the 2 yr modchip)
     
  18. Hogmeister

    Member Hogmeister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    what in the hell are you talking about?

    and SKH times in which stuff gets updated has nothing to do with cloned hardware.

    either way, i've had an m3 simply for quite some time now and its working superb still. although i quit using it about a week ago when my m3ds real arrived at my doorstep [​IMG]

    gave 3 R4's for xmas to some friends/family and they are all working well still as well. as nero said the lifetime has more to do with how well you treat and take care of the cards... [​IMG]
     

Share This Page