1. HandOfReason

    OP HandOfReason Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Okay so I used to be into all this stuff a while back when it was just the DS Lite. Since then, I've used a CycloDS card for a while now and it hasn't been a problem upgrading and all that for compatibility. I haven't even been on GBATemp in a looooong time since everything has been working just fine.

    So my friend brings me this R4 card and says she can't get it working. I'm thinking "oh yeah I remember R4s, no problem" and I come to find that there are 850930498098 clones and some are still supported and others aren't, and there are unofficial firmwares I can download and blah blah. I've referenced dozens and dozens of posts on here just to find out what kind of clone this one is, but now I'm wondering how I'll update this in the future.

    The firmware found here:

    http://www.r4rts.cn/download-en.htm

    is what works with this R4. The card's label reads:
    R4
    SDHC
    Revolution for DS

    (NDSL/NDS)


    Based off this information, I have a multipart question:

    1)What kind of R4 clone is this? I see all kinds of different types like R4SDHC, or R4SDHC Upgrade III, along with a bunch more. For my future reference, what should I call this card?

    2)If a game becomes incompatible in the future, what should I do to update it? Right now, its playing the games I've put on there just fine.

    3)If I am only interested in playing games, should I be interested in WOOD firmware or WAIO or any of these others?

    I apologize if any of these questions lack certain specifics. I would give them if I knew better. All this R4 clone business makes me want to just buy her a Cyclo or something out of simplicity's sake. Thanks for the help guys. I appreciate it.
     
  2. basher11

    basher11 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,385
    Country:
    United States
    R4SDHC, or R4SDHC Upgrade III does not run wood.
     
  3. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
  4. Clookster

    Clookster Your Clookster
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Country:
    Swaziland
    He doesn't have a "R4SDHC, or R4SDHC Upgrade III".

    ---

    You have a "R4 RTS", it's an old and outdated card made by M3 Team.

    You get a good and woking flashcard for $10. They are cheap. So there's no need to discuss this.

    You can't use Wood, and you can't use Retrogamefan's YSMenu with this card.

    You can use the original fimware of this card to play some older games, but most blockbuster games from the last two years won't work.
     
  5. HandOfReason

    OP HandOfReason Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States

    Thank you very much. I'll tell her to light it on fire and we'll get a better card. Thanks again.
     
  6. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Well since there's no support or alternate firmwares yeah, that skips all but one steps of the guide, and the final is getting a decent cart.
     
  7. NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU

    NES SNES V.B. N64 G.C. Wii WiiU Now with extra redundancy!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    859
    Country:
    Before you do this you could try Wood R4, it can't hurt and runs almost all games.
     
  8. Joel16

    Joel16 Ils ne passeront pas
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    United States
    dude there is wood for r4 II upgrade its waio 1.29 by me just google it
     
  9. AlanJohn

    AlanJohn くたばれ
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,770
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Is it like WAIO only it can run new games?
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Joel16

    Joel16 Ils ne passeront pas
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    897
    Country:
    United States
    well it kinda is but i ve included older versions such as wood 1.12 and wood 1.13 so older and newer games can be run on it :
     
  11. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Imp: Am imp
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    24,159
    Country:
    Antarctica
    @sauske_firekid
    I just want to point out that your files are fucking crap and also suggest that no one use them.
     
  12. mantastico

    mantastico Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    hey handofreason i know it's bean a freakin year since you started this but i'm using the same r4 clone as your friend and i also used firmware from r4rts.cn, but i quit using it for a while and recently wanted to start using it again cuz it's the only firmware i can get to work with me card. The only problem is that the website r4rts.cn no longer exists. do you know of a website where i can get the same exact firmware?
     
  13. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    http://www.linfoxdomain.com/nintendo/ds/
     
  14. mantastico

    mantastico Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, but i can't seem to get any of their firmware to work. It always gives me the same error about putting a loader.xxx file into the sd card. thanks for trying tho.
     
  15. dude of the gree

    dude of the gree Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    This sounds an awful lot like an r4 Ultra. I believe the last time I used mine I used Akaio 1.86a, but its been ages since I last used it so its probably outdated by now.

    I'd suggest going to r4ultra.com and and trying the latest firmware listed there.

    Edit: Nevermind, I just noticed how old this thread it :/

    Sooo...does anyone know a good up to date firmware for R4 Ultra? :D
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Question, Firmware, Clone