Questions about FMCB and HD Loader

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by War, Apr 23, 2009.

Apr 23, 2009

Questions about FMCB and HD Loader by War at 3:16 PM (2,556 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

1. War
    OP

Member War Take it easy~

Japan
    I'm new to this softmodding thing... I used to have a Fat PS2 but was forced to give it away (long story). Anyway, I'm thinking of getting one and softmodding it, but I have a few questions...

-Will the soft mod work with the sexy Slim PS2?
    -If I buy a memory card that has FMCB installed, is that really all I need?
    -If I want to load backups, will I have to use the program called ESR?
    Example:
    -If yes to the above, do I have to patch the iso before burning it to a DVD?
    -How does the HD Loader work? Does it work for Slim PS2s? Can I hook up an external HDD to the PS2 and play the games from there?

I think that's it for now, thanks!

2. Sstew

Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

United States

1. Yes it will, I have a fat and a slim. (I think its only creating the FMCB memory card that requires a fat PS2 or a certain Action Replay)
    2. Yes. I have that memory card and I can use it on ANY PS2 and load backups without any additional things.
    3. Yes, ESR is what loads the backups.
    4. Yes, I cant recall the program I use because I patch them using a Mac.
    5 - Not sure.

3. xist

Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

United Kingdom
    Since you only need the answer to number 5 for a full set (The ISO patching app is in the main ESR topic linked to via Bootlegninja's guide):