Hardware [Question] Stuck Switch Logo evolve to no backlight, no image

ewabc886

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
328
Country
Hong Kong
I'm not the original owner of the Switch, but from what I can tell, it should have no water damage.
When I first turned on the device, it boots and stuck at the Switch logo, can only pass the Nintendo logo.
Got RCM mode working. Injection of Lockpick, hekate, atmosphere all ok, just can't pass the logo if I try to boot into CFW.

I tried to see if it's the wifi chip's problem, but it seems that the capacitors around it are all normal.

I haven't got heat gun in hand at the moment, so I tried to see if it's software problem first.
Tried to rebuild a NAND for the Switch. No luck. Still stuck at the logo.

Then I wanted to start the Switch in linux to see if there is any clue about hardware failure.
Maybe I forgotten to turn off the Switch before messing up with the components or for whatever reasons, the Switch suddenly doesn't show anything on the screen, and not even giving backlight at all.
I can still detect the RCM mode and seems successfully injected payload.

I'm sure that the battery, display and backlight are all good, as I have multiple boards and displays to test for.
I have also learnt some from the Tronicsfix channel on Youtube, and i saw him just gave up on the Switches with normal capacitors reading but no display and backlight.
So before I get my hands on heat gun to play with the chips, I would like to see if anyone can give advices where to look for the problem(s), and any tests could be done, or maybe tell me that I have just burnt the APU lol.
 
Last edited by ewabc886,
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

ewabc886

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
328
Country
Hong Kong
Did you check the LCD FPC CONNECTOR pins? I had one time prior tech from nowhere bent the pins inside LCD connector and device not turned on at all
Thanks for the reply.
I have both backlight and LCD off all the time.
It seems that there's no power at all
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,211
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,721
Country
Norway
I'm not the original owner of the Switch, but from what I can tell, it should have no water damage.
When I first turned on the device, it boots and stuck at the Switch logo, can only pass the Nintendo logo.
Got RCM mode working. Injection of Lockpick, hekate, atmosphere all ok, just can't pass the logo if I try to boot into CFW.

I tried to see if it's the wifi chip's problem, but it seems that the capacitors around it are all normal.

I haven't got heat gun in hand at the moment, so I tried to see if it's software problem first.
Tried to rebuild a NAND for the Switch. No luck. Still stuck at the logo.

Then I wanted to start the Switch in linux to see if there is any clue about hardware failure.
Maybe I forgotten to turn off the Switch before messing up with the components or for whatever reasons, the Switch suddenly doesn't show anything on the screen, and not even giving backlight at all.
I can still detect the RCM mode and seems successfully injected payload.

I'm sure that the battery, display and backlight are all good, as I have multiple boards and displays to test for.
I have also learnt some from the Tronicsfix channel on Youtube, and i saw him just gave up on the Switches with normal capacitors reading but no display and backlight.
So before I get my hands on heat gun to play with the chips, I would like to see if anyone can give advices where to look for the problem(s), and any tests could be done, or maybe tell me that I have just burnt the APU lol.
Sounds like you may have damaged the LCD/backlight connectors (they are extremely fragile) but try to boot it into RCM mode and plug it into a PC and see if it shows up as a device as that will give you an indication of whether it's even powering on at all.
 

ewabc886

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
328
Country
Hong Kong
Sounds like you may have damaged the LCD/backlight connectors (they are extremely fragile) but try to boot it into RCM mode and plug it into a PC and see if it shows up as a device as that will give you an indication of whether it's even powering on at all.
Yes I tried
I can still detect the RCM mode and seems successfully injected payload.
But no clue on why isn't there image and backlight at all
Recently cant's get more test.M
Maybe need to come back to it after a month or so.
 

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
22,211
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
11,721
Country
Norway
Yes I tried
I can still detect the RCM mode and seems successfully injected payload.
But no clue on why isn't there image and backlight at all
Recently cant's get more test.M
Maybe need to come back to it after a month or so.
Probably damaged ribbon connectors then, like I said.
 

ewabc886

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
328
Country
Hong Kong
Are you sure the LCD is off? If the backlight is not working, it's impossible to see the screen without shining a flashlight in the right way.
It's unlikely you damaged both ribbon connectors, but possible.
I'm sure, all checked, and with flashlight
 

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
648
Country
United States
I'm not the original owner of the Switch, but from what I can tell, it should have no water damage.
When I first turned on the device, it boots and stuck at the Switch logo, can only pass the Nintendo logo.
Got RCM mode working. Injection of Lockpick, hekate, atmosphere all ok, just can't pass the logo if I try to boot into CFW.

I tried to see if it's the wifi chip's problem, but it seems that the capacitors around it are all normal.

I haven't got heat gun in hand at the moment, so I tried to see if it's software problem first.
Tried to rebuild a NAND for the Switch. No luck. Still stuck at the logo.

Then I wanted to start the Switch in linux to see if there is any clue about hardware failure.
Maybe I forgotten to turn off the Switch before messing up with the components or for whatever reasons, the Switch suddenly doesn't show anything on the screen, and not even giving backlight at all.
I can still detect the RCM mode and seems successfully injected payload.

I'm sure that the battery, display and backlight are all good, as I have multiple boards and displays to test for.
I have also learnt some from the Tronicsfix channel on Youtube, and i saw him just gave up on the Switches with normal capacitors reading but no display and backlight.
So before I get my hands on heat gun to play with the chips, I would like to see if anyone can give advices where to look for the problem(s), and any tests could be done, or maybe tell me that I have just burnt the APU lol.

Gonna be either USBC port, M9 ic, or p13ic most likely. I would start with replacong m9ic if usbc port physically looks good.
 

ewabc886

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
328
Country
Hong Kong
Gonna be either USBC port, M9 ic, or p13ic most likely. I would start with replacong m9ic if usbc port physically looks good.
I don't know if i'm getting your idea correctly.
Does it mean that it's possible to have a faulty USBC port causing a boot problem, which can't even bright up the LCD and backlight?
If it can be, it's quite dangerous for the port.

Like the test for capacitors, we can look for a grounded side and the other not grounded for a cap.
Is there any reference points that I can test for the USBC port like this?

Thanks again for the advice
 
  • Like
Reactions: HollowGrams

HollowGrams

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2020
Messages
628
Trophies
0
Age
42
XP
648
Country
United States
I don't know if i'm getting your idea correctly.
Does it mean that it's possible to have a faulty USBC port causing a boot problem, which can't even bright up the LCD and backlight?
If it can be, it's quite dangerous for the port.

Like the test for capacitors, we can look for a grounded side and the other not grounded for a cap.
Is there any reference points that I can test for the USBC port like this?

Thanks again for the advice

You said logos were booting so LCD is all good. Start with m9 if usb c is good. If cant take it in to a pro.
 

Nightywolf

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
30
Location
Panamá
XP
28
Country
Panama
Near of the lcd conection test those components big one is a filter resistor should look like be shorted because give small resistance read its if opens then need to change test the cap beside also the small diode because i fix a switch that dint give image just a logo of nintendo blurry then got black screen when i change that components then worked again.
 

Attachments

  • Picsart_22-03-10_05-02-07-617_(1).jpg
    Picsart_22-03-10_05-02-07-617_(1).jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 20

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Sihuuu Taco Holder Stand set of 2 - Holds up to 3 tacos in each Taco Tray - Sturdy, Dishwasher and Microwave Safe https://a.co/d/6FFlct5 What kind of tacos are even in those racks
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What's that, ham and cheese?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I often stick some ham and cheese in a tortilla and toast it but I wouldn't dare call it a taco.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I guess ice cream in a taco is still a taco
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The product placement in the fantasy football movie is werid it starts out with a psp then goes to the series x
  • Veho @ Veho:
    There's a fantasy football movie?
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I bet you can't believe it's about Madden
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I can't believe it's not butter.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lebron James did help produce it so it can't be that shit right
  • cearp @ cearp:
    kennie'snewname is now the old name???
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Woah! Kenny has changed it name?
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @cearp, Hey there!
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I prefer it/idiots as my pronouns thank you
    +2
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Lol theirs a cheat code for 30/60fps for new pOKEmoNz for ryujinx
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    So to have echo auto you need your phone connected to BT audio then the echo auto connected to your phone
  • brouh @ brouh:
    Hey, how can i contact the admins to see if there is something blocking the views of my post
  • brouh @ brouh:
    alr thx
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @brouh if you can see it, then other people can see it too
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Got the new blue Christmas hat on my pfp
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/oStfQ_9ajg8?feature=share