Question relating firmware =<3.55

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by bjorno, Feb 1, 2011.

Feb 1, 2011
  1. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hey guys. I have a question relating the firmware =< 3.55
    I am getting a ps3 in 2-3 weeks. And I want to have it
     


  2. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As far as I know, no PS3 out of the box will come with 3.56 for now. Also the package will not contain any information on what firmware it contains.
     
  3. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Can anyone confirm this? Cause I can buy it from a big media shop or from a small toy shop. If it is not sure I rather buy from the small toy shop.
     
  4. MarcusRaven

    Member MarcusRaven HBC Theme Maker

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    928
    Location:
    N. Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    3.56 JUST got released, so retail units on the shelf won't have it. It would take close to a month or longer (depending on sales) for units in stores right now to have that firmware, and that's only IF Sony produces units that have it pre-installed. (As far as I know they don't.) You'll be fine. Go for the larger hard drive and have a blast!

    If you intend on hacking it, I recommend 3.55 kmeaw with MultiMAN 1.15.00. [​IMG]
     
  5. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany
    There isn't a single report about a new ps3 that was on 3.56 out of the box. I think the first wave of updated ps3's will not hit the stores before march.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    So basically the faster you go and get it, the better.
     
  7. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
     
  8. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  9. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    I bought a 160 GB slim from walmart about a week ago.
    Came with 3.40, I think
     
  10. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    got a few questions.

    1. In order to run the multiman manager as mentioned above, do I only install kmeaw firmware and install the package file and thats it? Or do I have to mess with hermes and Lv2?
    2. How do you remove .pkg files? What if you installed them and want them gone from your flash?
    3. Do i have to leave a disc into the ps3 all the time to get Multimanager to work?

    Thanks.
     
  11. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany
    1. Only kmeaw + multiman pgk file, that is all
    2. select the program in xmb and select delete, like any psn game for example
    3. at the moment many games need a disc inside
     
  12. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,149
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Question of my own to confirm: for the disc in the drive, can it be any BluRay disc or does it have to be a PS3 game?
     
  13. Red Ire Lap

    Newcomer Red Ire Lap Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Canada
    I got my ps3 slim 320 gig from best buy exactly 2 weeks ago and it came with OFW 3.42. There is no chance the ps3 you get will have 3.56, unless of course you buy it from the factory at the momment.
     
  14. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But what if it isnt a program? For example an update for a game. But you removed the game already from your internal/external..
     
  15. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany
    1. Only ps3 game disc, but discless support shouldn't be so far away.
    2. xmb-> game files-> select the update, installation or whatever and delete it. And if there is really anything, that can't be seen in xmb, you can still connect your ps3 with pc and search on hdd via ftp.
     
  16. T-hug

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,598
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought a slim 3 weeks ago or so and it had 3.30 on it.
     
  17. Seyiji

    Member Seyiji Rawr :3

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    PA
    Country:
    United States
    I bought mine on the 10th of last month @ the Walmart 2 miles away from me and it had 3.40 on it :\
     
  18. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Probably buying tomorrow. Hope it is a good one [​IMG]
     
  19. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany

    it will be, no need to worry.
     
  20. bjorno
    OP

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Sotoro. Really thanks a lot man for keeping my stress down [​IMG] I really appreciate it.
    Btw is there any difference between openps3ftp.pkg and openps3ftp.geohot.pkg? They are in the same package, do I have to install them both?

    Is the DNS trick still working and safe?

    oh yeah and what ftp do you guys recommend? Like filezilla or flashxp or something like that.
     

Share This Page