Homebrew Question about homebrew, svdt, Pokemon ORAS

thaFranchize2b

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
35
Country
United States
ok so I got homebrew and PKHex and svdt. I backed my save file up like I was supposed to and genned a few pokemon. Everything worked smoothly the first time overwriting the save but then I saved in-game and now it gives me this message "The saved data is not compatible with this version, so it can't be used".

I read that you have to delete "secure value" in svdt and apparently the newest version does that automatically when you overwrite so I overwrote my backup to it and it still says the same thing. I then deleted the save on ORAS using "A+B+Down" and tried to overwrite again using my backup and svdt but I still get the same message.

Is there something I'm not doing right and is there a way I can restore my save? I know you guys hate noobs or whatever but I figure this is a good message board and you guys obviously know what youre talking about and I searched the stickies and all over google and followed instructiions and still nothing :( Please help. I have downloaded version of Sapphire btw not cartridge.
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
ok so I got homebrew and PKHex and svdt. I backed my save file up like I was supposed to and genned a few pokemon. Everything worked smoothly the first time overwriting the save but then I saved in-game and now it gives me this message "The saved data is not compatible with this version, so it can't be used".

I read that you have to delete "secure value" in svdt and apparently the newest version does that automatically when you overwrite so I overwrote my backup to it and it still says the same thing. I then deleted the save on ORAS using "A+B+Down" and tried to overwrite again using my backup and svdt but I still get the same message.

Is there something I'm not doing right and is there a way I can restore my save? I know you guys hate noobs or whatever but I figure this is a good message board and you guys obviously know what youre talking about and I searched the stickies and all over google and followed instructiions and still nothing :( Please help. I have downloaded version of Sapphire btw not cartridge.
Use JKSM instead
 

thaFranchize2b

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
35
Country
United States
I actually downloaded JKSM and all it says is import and export save but it says "didn't find any data to import". I'm sure I'm not using JKSM right because it's different than svdt but I couldnt find any good tutorials on it.
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
I actually downloaded JKSM and all it says is import and export save but it says "didn't find any data to import". I'm sure I'm not using JKSM right because it's different than svdt but I couldnt find any good tutorials on it.
Make a folder called JKSV on the root of your SD and place your save in it so
JKSV>Saves>Pokémon_Alpha_Sapphire>"random folder name">main
then import the save you might need to refresh the games list
 
Last edited by Xenon Hacks,

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
yea it opens fine in PKHex all my boxes show up like they should but when I save it again and import it again it still says its corrupted
Ok try this start a new game right and save 1 min in, export that new save, replace it with your Old one on PC, then import it again. If that doesn't work I have no idea what you could be doing wrong.

Would you post your save or PM it me?
 

thaFranchize2b

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
35
Country
United States
Ok try this start a new game right and save 1 min in, export that new save, replace it with your Old one on PC, then import it again. If that doesn't work I have no idea what you could be doing wrong.

Would you post your save or PM it me?
I'll try that and I'll go ahead and post my save but how exactly would I do that on this board or pm? I apologize for being such a noob haha but I really appreciate your help
 

thaFranchize2b

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
35
Country
United States
you can put it into a zip or RAR and select upload file when making a post

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Just to clarify, after I start a new game and save, I go to JKSM and hit export save right? then on PC, drag my old "main" into the same JKSV folder and overwrite, then go back to JKSM, Import save, and start game?
 

Attachments

  • main.zip
    186.9 KB · Views: 134

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
Works just fine for me guy don't know what you are doing wrong :/
Here is the save back just in case

Your save goes here microSD\JKSV\Saves\Pokémon_Alpha_Sapphire\franch\main
ZMdmvhm.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Your save.rar
    183 KB · Views: 111
Last edited by Xenon Hacks,

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
Just to clarify, after I start a new game and save, I go to JKSM and hit export save right? then on PC, drag my old "main" into the same JKSV folder and overwrite, then go back to JKSM, Import save, and start game?
Yes exactly like that replace the new "main" file with your old one and import it.
 

thaFranchize2b

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
35
Country
United States
Yes exactly like that replace the new "main" file with your old one and import it.
ok when I export in JKSM and click main (options are "main and "new"), it says "Error Creating/opening SD file!". Then I hit A for "OK" and it says "Complete!". So did the export work despite that first alert?
 

Xenon Hacks

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2014
Messages
7,414
Trophies
1
Age
29
XP
4,661
Country
United States
ok when I export in JKSM and click main (options are "main and "new"), it says "Error Creating/opening SD file!". Then I hit A for "OK" and it says "Complete!". So did the export work despite that first alert?
No sure what went wrong so try this turn of your 3DS, delete the JKSV folder from your MSD, boot JKSM and let it creates it file system again and attempt to do what we said below.
Just to clarify, after I start a new game and save, I go to JKSM and hit export save right? then on PC, drag my old "main" into the same JKSV folder and overwrite, then go back to JKSM, Import save, and start game?
 

moghedien

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2015
Messages
411
Trophies
0
XP
317
Country
United States
@thaFranchize2b are you using FTP to transfer the save file to your 3DS by chance? If so make sure it's set to binary transfer mode, not ASCII. I know that by default Filezilla will try sending files without a file extension in ASCII mode, which will corrupt them.
 

JK_

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
665
Trophies
1
XP
2,143
Country
United States
ok when I export in JKSM and click main (options are "main and "new"), it says "Error Creating/opening SD file!". Then I hit A for "OK" and it says "Complete!". So did the export work despite that first alert?
Nope. You need to put that main file into another folder and import from that folder, or hit new and enter a folder name and put the main file in that folder, then it will work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Xenon Hacks

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    Maybe only old senoirs would have loved to hear noisy kids
    +1
  • ZeroT21 @ ZeroT21:
    But then again, I see kids as a health hazza

    rd
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Their ears would have troubles hearing their loud screeches that they can sleep in peace.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @ZeroT21, They lack any common sense because their brain hasn't been fully developed.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    If old people learned how to use tablets more we might get them off the road :tpi:
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Anyways, I'm off for tonight. See you all later.
    +1
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Old people flip tables in anger :P
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I remember The Onion.
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    YOOO whats this
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    If anyone is here please help me with my wii
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ask nicer
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    bruh please im just tryna play mariokart
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Bruh
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    usb loader is taking forever to load
    +1
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    i just wanna play mario kart:cry:
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Make a thread in the Nintendo forums
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    um ok
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The chatbox is for chatting not everyone here knows how to solve your issue
  • TheAuraGard @ TheAuraGard:
    Oh alright my bad
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    Rip
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I wouldn't advise anyone to stick anything else down there. :creep:
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: I wouldn't advise anyone to stick anything else down there. :creep: