Question about GBA saves

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by BurningMario, Feb 17, 2008.

Feb 17, 2008

Question about GBA saves by BurningMario at 1:06 PM (1,555 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. BurningMario
    OP

    Newcomer BurningMario Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any way to extract a saved game from a GBA game without Action Replay? Mine is long dead, and I only have DUO now.
     
  2. eldaddio

    Newcomer eldaddio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Right, use cart_save if you have a DLDI-compatible slot-2 device with GBA compatibility, and use Rudolph's GBA backup tool if you have a slot-1 device. If the game uses SRAM for saving, you can also use Eepinator to back it up to a slot-1 device, though must dump it twice for it to work for some reason.
     
  4. eldaddio

    Newcomer eldaddio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've been playing about with various methods in an effort to extract my final fantasy tactics save file from an original cart, but have not yet managed to extract anything that works.

    If it's any help to the OP:

    Method 1 - Try GBALDR, hold R2 whilst loading, this will extract the ROM and .sav file. My FFTA save didn't work though (I'm assuming this could be because it's not an SRAM save).

    Method 2 - EEPINATOR, seemed to work well, but as far as I can gather only takes SRAM, so didn't work for me.

    Method 3 - Use cart_save (download from this site). Requires you to hot-plug between 3-in-1 type device and actual gba cart. Again, I didn't get a working save file from this.
     
  5. eldaddio

    Newcomer eldaddio Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers DanTheMan, Rudolph's backup tool did the trick.
     
  6. BurningMario
    OP

    Newcomer BurningMario Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    How would I use any of these programs? And how would I restore a save?

    Also, is there any way I could possibly save the old AR? It boots to the title screen, then freezes.
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    We may have a problem. All of us are assuming you have some sort of homebrew equipment, when you didn't state whether you did or not. Do you have a Supercard or M3 or R4 or anything like that? Heck, for that matter, do you have a DS or just a GBA?
     
  8. BurningMario
    OP

    Newcomer BurningMario Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    No, I don't do homebrew.
    I do have a DS, as well as both GBA and GBA SP.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Then I'm afraid I don't know how to help you, sorry. I don't have any experience with Action Replay devices, either the save backup tools or the cheating tools.
     
  10. BurningMario
    OP

    Newcomer BurningMario Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Can anyone help?
     

Share This Page